Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars2,939
4.7 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 9 January 2013
An excellent book that pulls you into the world of Middle Earth and is difficult to put down once it gets going.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 January 2013
Really good book no dross just good story all the way through.
I would recommend this to all Tolkien readers
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 January 2013
I love its binding, and of course the book, another fantasy work of Tolkien. In brief :great book, great binding
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 May 2008
"The Hobbit" was published in 1937 for the first time, and it was because of it that "The Lord of the Rings" came into existence. It's funny and entertaining, and it shows Bilbo Baggins' most important adventure of his life in an appealing manner. One should clearly understand that this book was at first intended for Tolkien's own children, and only later was published. One should therefore not expect the powerful and often deadly serious narrative of "LotR". As a trivial example, Sauron is not named in "The Hobbit", but appears under the name "the Necromancer", and is of no importance other than keeping Gandalf away from the party of Dwarves for a while, thus allowing for more breath-taking adventures.

I recommend this book if you are parents of young children (Rayner Unwin, the first reviewer, was 10 when he approved for it and convinced his father to print it), since it is an easy reading, that can develop a taste for Tolkien and deeper novels, such as "LotR" or "The Silmarillion". Also, if you've read "LotR", give "The Hobbit" a try - it's not at all a bad story.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 December 2015
Very happy, arrived very quickly, ordered on the Friday arrived on the Monday, and matches description perfectly
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 September 2015
A proper children's adventure book. Takes you to places in your imagination the we all would like to be magical.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 January 2015
Always a surprise on the next page -a really good story and essential precursor to reading The Lord of the Rings
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 January 2015
One of the best children's book of all time! And you can read it over and over again, no matter how old you are.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 December 2014
I loved this book It was one of the best books I have ever read I can't wait to read The Lord Of The Rings books
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 December 2014
Excellent. Great reading. A book I would enjoy reading again and again. Read when was young enjoyed it then too.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse