Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful book
I bought this book along with the Fellowship of the Ring and Return of the King Special Editions. The pattern on the spines of the three books match up to form an image of the White Tree of Gondor - it certainly looks good on the bookshelf!

This book is presented in a purple/red coloured cloth bound hardcover that looks both attractive and durable. Inside, the...
Published 11 months ago by Plank

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Tedious
I mean, I have to admit, I did not enjoy this as thoroughly as I did the first part. This book seemed to drag and it got to a point at the end where I was thinking to myself, what could possibly be left for the third book?!

We start where we left off in the first book with the fellowship having been separated, and we are then informed in detail what each group...
Published 4 months ago by S. Shamma


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful book, 27 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Two Towers (Lord of the Rings 2 Collectors) (Hardcover)
I bought this book along with the Fellowship of the Ring and Return of the King Special Editions. The pattern on the spines of the three books match up to form an image of the White Tree of Gondor - it certainly looks good on the bookshelf!

This book is presented in a purple/red coloured cloth bound hardcover that looks both attractive and durable. Inside, the first thing you come across is a beautiful map of Middle Earth in black and white (and red) before the story continues. I won't say anything about the story itself as we all know about it and there are in depth reviews floating around on the web (both critical and applauding!). This review is for this particular edition of the book, and I think it is fantastic.

It's worth noting that this "special edition" is available as part of a box set with the other two books in the trilogy, along with a version of the Hobbit.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Two Towers: JRR Tolkien - The Middle of the Middle Earth saga, 10 Jan 2014
By 
Victor (Hull, England) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Two Towers (Lord of the Rings 2 Collectors) (Hardcover)
First published in 1954 TheTwo Towers is the second part of the epic saga, and Tolkien's masterpiece, The Lord Of The Rings. It has been a firm favourite of mine since I first read it over 25 years ago, and every time I return to the trilogy I find something new in this multilayered and deep piece of literature. I have worked my through it again recently, and with much temerity have decided to post a review of this stand out classic of classics.

In this second part of the trilogy, the tale becomes quite complex and breaks off into several strands. We are treated to Sam and Frodo's journey towards Mordor, The advenutures of Earagorn, Legolas and Gimli as they search for Merry and Pippin, and the adventures of the two missing Hobbits themselves. Along the way we meet the riders of Rohan, the men of Minas Tirith, Ents, Saruman and many other characters. There are tales of courage, bravery, treachery, wizadry, epic battles and lonely quests. This is a book that has it all.

I find when reading this that it not just the plot that I love, but the completeness of Tolkien's world. He has developed a whole history, mythology, geography and etymology for it, all incredibly detailed. The book does not describe these in detail, but has frequent sideways references to them. This is what sets it apart from other fantasies, the feeling of a complete reality in which the adventures are taking place, a rich and textured world. This adds a depth to the books which few others can match.

In all this is a great read in it's own right, and sets everything up nicely for the third installment. It has a lot of high advenure, and Tolkien's rich multilayered tale telling. It's a classic of it's time, and has to get 5 stars.  
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The continuation of Tolkien's saga, 19 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Two Towers (Lord of the Rings 2 Collectors) (Hardcover)
The Two Towers is the middle of Tolkien's epic saga, The Lord of the Rings. Widely considered as a classic, this trilogy begins in the rolling fields of the shire and takes us through a journey of enormous proportions till at last we reach our destination in Mordor. The character development as we go through this saga is second to none as we watch our heroes Frodo, Sam, Merry, Pippin, Gandalf, Aragorn, Legolas, Gimli and Boromir all do great deeds,to enable the fellowship to complete it's quest.

In this version of the book, it has a wonderful cover design which draws on the story itself and cleverly depicts the battle of Helm's Deep, a key battle in the story. As this is part of a set, it also has a sleeve design which when placed together with the other books in this set forms one of the most prominent images from the three books, the white tree of Gondor. A well crafted cover, with maps featuring inside the sleeves, I would recommend this version of The Lord of the Rings: The Two Towers to any one who wishes to own their own version of this masterpiece.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The skirt cost more but I got the best of the bargain, 4 Aug 2014
By 
Arthur Harris "A.E.H" (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Two Towers (Lord of the Rings 2 Collectors) (Hardcover)
I made a deal with my wife, she bought me these, I bought her a skirt. The skirt cost more but I got the best of the bargain: the books are prettier than the skirt. They look stunning on the shelf. No point of revewing the story, everything that can be said has been said. But if you want it in an edition that feels and looks good and will last your lifetime, buy this set.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A |Finr Copy of a Fine Book, 27 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Two Towers (Lord of the Rings 2 Collectors) (Hardcover)
I'm not going to repeat myself, I love this edition of the book for its quality. See my review of The Return of the King for more detail.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The alliance of the two towers, 23 Feb 2014
By 
E. A Solinas "ea_solinas" (MD USA) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Two Towers (Lord of the Rings 2 Collectors) (Hardcover)
The second volume of Tolkien's epic trilogy never even wavers. If anything, it seems steadier and more controlled than "Fellowship of the Ring," as several characters become more central and the plot focus widens to envelop all of Middle Earth. It suffers from a bit of sequelitis in places, but the overall book is just as enthralling as the first.

Aragorn finds that Merry and Pippin have been abducted rather than killed -- for what reason, no one knows. Frodo and Sam have left on their own. So Aragorn, Legolas and Gimli race to find the orcs and retrieve the hobbits, but are stopped by the fierce Riders of Rohan, and then by an old and dear friend: Gandalf, who has been resurrected in the new form of a White wizard. Elsewhere, Merry and Pippin must use all of their wits to escape the orcs, and then find a strange band of allies that no one could have hoped for.

Meanwhile, Frodo and Sam head into Mordor -- with an eerily familiar figure, Gollum, following them. Frodo subjugates Gollum, forcing him to swear on "the precious" that he won't harm him. In return, Gollum promises to guide the two hobbits through Mordor, straight to Mount Doom. But the Ring is weighing more heavily than ever on Frodo, and is starting to reassert its old sway on Gollum...

One of the most noticeable changes in this book is the shift of focus. "Fellowship" was Frodo-centric, since the narration revolved around him, as did all the events and thoughts. But with the breaking of the Fellowship, the narration falls into three categories: Frodo and Sam; Merry and Pippin; Aragorn, Legolas and Gimli. This triple style allows individuals to shine more brightly, when they are called on to do more than hike with Frodo.

Tolkien also presented a wider view of Middle-Earth in general. While the slow slog through Mordor doesn't really tell or show readers much -- aside from what a hellhole Sauron is the middle of -- it's shocking to see the the effects of the orcs, Saruman and Sauron on places such as Gondor and Rohan.

Changes can be seen in Frodo even in this book, and which become more pronounced in the third book of the trilogy, "Return of the King." He becomes sadder and more introspective, and the Ring's growing hold on him can be glimpsed at times. Aragorn is also changing. He is no longer merely the rugged outcast Ranger, but displays the hints of a future great king, if he can only get to his throne.
Merry and Pippin also change: these two innocent young hobbits have to suddenly Sam is more promiment in this book, as Frodo's friend and personal pillar of strength.

But where Tolkien really outdid himself is Gollum. Gollum returns, in a substantially different state. Oh, he's still addled and addicted to the Ring, but he displays a dual love/loathing for the Ring, a weird affection for Frodo (who, from his point of view, is probably the only person who has been kind to him), and displays a Ring-induced multiple-personality syndrome. Very rarely can bad guys elicit the sort of loathing and pity from the reader that Gollum does.

One noticeable aspect of this book is friendship. When the Fellowship sets out from Rivendell, virtually everyone is a stranger, with the exception of the hobbits. However, in this book we get our view of how much Sam loves Frodo and wants to help him. Sam is fully aware of how much Frodo needs emotional support, and he's quite willing to be a pillar of strength for his friend. We see Gimli and Legolas's affection for Merry and Pippin; and Legolas's willingness to kill Eomer if Eomer hurts Gimli shows how far this Elf and Dwarf have come.

This book is substantially darker than "Fellowship." Frodo is starting to stumble under the weight of the Ring, and other characters die or are seriously hurt. The scene where Pippin's mind is trapped by Sauron is a very disturbing one, as is a violent and saddening scene late in the book. But there is also some wry humor: Gandalf's joke as he hears Saruman throttling Grima Wormtongue, Legolas's snippy comments about pipeweed as Gimli and the hobbits smoke up a storm, and Sam's debate with Gollum about whether they should cook the rabbits.

Tolkien's second Lord of the Rings novel is a thrilling fantasy adventure, exploring more of his invented world than "Fellowship of the Ring" did. A truly enthralling experience.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Tedious, 11 Aug 2014
By 
S. Shamma "Suad" (Abu Dhabi, UAE) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Two Towers (Lord of the Rings 2 Collectors) (Hardcover)
I mean, I have to admit, I did not enjoy this as thoroughly as I did the first part. This book seemed to drag and it got to a point at the end where I was thinking to myself, what could possibly be left for the third book?!

We start where we left off in the first book with the fellowship having been separated, and we are then informed in detail what each group has been up to in the time that they were separated. You've got Aragorn, Legolas and Gimli, who are unaware if any of the other members have survived the attack of the Orcs and decide to look for clues that lead them to the hobbits. During that time, they run into Gandalf, who has risen from the dead as Gandalf the White, and they travel to Edoras and free King Theoden from the influence of Wormtongue. They then ride together, alongside King Theoden's army, to defeat Sauron's army.

Their journey takes them to reunite with Merry and Pippin who had escaped into Fangorn Forest and met Treebeard. I think this must have been the most excruciating part for me. Treebeard takes forever to recount his story and the history of his people, and just like the creature himself, his story is conveyed in a dull, tedious, monotonous way that it took me a while to get through that section.

On the other hand, Frodo and Sam meet Gollum who has been following them for a while, and they capture him and force him to take them to Mordor, where Frodo can finally destroy the ring. However, finding the gate heavily guarded, they need to take an alternative route to get inside. However, Gollum eventually betrays them and leads them into the spider's trap where Frodo is felled by her sting. Sam assuming Frodo is gone, turns to leave on his own, only to overhear the orcs who found Frodo's body say that he's still alive.

A great ending to an otherwise tedious book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 21 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Two Towers (Lord of the Rings 2 Collectors) (Hardcover)
Good book excellent value.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Slightly damaged, 18 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Two Towers (Lord of the Rings 2 Collectors) (Hardcover)
This isnt a 3 stars because of the book, its because when it came it had slight damage to the spine, still a wonderful set of books and look very pretty too
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 18 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Two Towers (Lord of the Rings 2 Collectors) (Hardcover)
My son in law was more than delighted with his gift. Well presented
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Two Towers (Lord of the Rings 2 Collectors)
The Two Towers (Lord of the Rings 2 Collectors) by J. R. R. Tolkien (Hardcover - 24 Oct 2013)
£11.89
Not in stock; order now and we'll deliver when available
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews