Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars How almost anyone can develop a creative, human-centered mindset and help achieve breakthrough innovations
I have read Tom Kelley's books and am well aware of David Kelley's leadership of IDEO and the Hasso Plattner Institute of Design ("d.school") at Stanford University. Individually, each is among the most influential and highly regarded authorities on creative and innovative thinking. What we have in this volume is a unique and compelling collaboration on information,...
Published 9 months ago by Robert Morris

versus
2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars all in one book
most of the things in this book I have come across before. It's advantage and helpfulness to me is that all these things are now together in one place, and I can rate which ones I need to work on. That last is the reason for my 3 rating. It's a bit hard.....
Published 6 months ago by marilyn matthieson


Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars How almost anyone can develop a creative, human-centered mindset and help achieve breakthrough innovations, 14 Oct 2013
By 
Robert Morris (Dallas, Texas) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
I have read Tom Kelley's books and am well aware of David Kelley's leadership of IDEO and the Hasso Plattner Institute of Design ("d.school") at Stanford University. Individually, each is among the most influential and highly regarded authorities on creative and innovative thinking. What we have in this volume is a unique and compelling collaboration on information, insights, and counsel that can help their reader to "unleash the creative potential within." They insist -- and I agree -- that literally anyone can live a more creative life, at work and elsewhere, in all situations in which they have problems to solve, questions to answer, goals to set, tasks to complete, and relationships to nourish.

The Kelleys challenge all manner of misconceptions, such as the common refrain "I'm just not creative." In fact, they suggest, "As brothers who have worked together for thirty years at the forefront of innovation, we have come to see this set of misconceptions as 'the creativity myth.' It is a myth that far too many people share. This book is about the opposite of that myth. It is about what we call 'creative confidence.' And at its foundation is the belief that we are [begin italics] all [end italics]...Creative confidence is a way of seeing that potential and your place in the world more clearly, unclouded by anxiety and doubt. We hope you'll join us on our quest to embrace creative confidence in our lives. Together, we can all make the world a better place."

Incremental innovation may sometimes be the most effective way to improve one or more aspects of one's life as well as of a company. For example, in 2004, a leadership team led by Jørgen Vig Knudstorp transformed LEGO - "brick by brick" - into one of the world's most innovative as well as most profitable and fastest growing toy companies.

These are among the dozens of business subjects and issues of special interest and value to me, also listed to indicate the scope of the Kelleys' coverage.

o Creativity Now (Pages 7-10)
o Three Key Factors to Balance (23-26)
o Design-Driven Innovation (26-28)
o Nurturing Creative Thinkers, and A Growth State of Mind (32-36)
o The Failure Paradox, and Designing for Courage (44-49)
o Permission to Fail (53-57)
o Drawing Confidence (63-67)
o Cultivate a Creative Spark (78-81)
o Empathize with Your End User (89-92)
o Do Observations in the Field (93-98)
o Reframe Challenges (103-105)
o Cultivate Creative Serendipity (109-111)
o The "Do Something" Mindset: Live in the Active Voice (119-122)
o Experiment to Learn (134-136)
o Find Your Sweet Spot (165-167)
o Strategies to Get Started With (253-260)

Here are three of several reasons why I think this is Tom Kelley's most valuable book...thus far...and why I think his collaboration with David Kelley achieves a level of excellence that neither brother could (probably) have achieved alone. First, like world-class musicians in a jazz band, they are playing the same song (let's say "All Blues" with Miles Davis) but with different instruments and with improvisation that enriches rather than detracts from the pure quality of the group's sound. The Kelleys are masters of carefully nurtured spontaneity.

Also, they are passionate advocates, indeed evangelists about helping as many people as possible to think innovatively about how they can [begin italics] live [end italics] more innovatively. The Kelleys know that developing that mindset will require courage to overcome significant -- albeit self-generated -- fear. That is why the ten strategies they recommend near the conclusion of the book take human nature (for better or worse) into full account. Although heaven knows the disruptive innovations for which IDEO is renowned are exciting, the reality is that most people have convinced themselves that they are incapable of generating them, even when in collaboration with others. They lack courage because they lack confidence.

Finally, the Kelleys are committed to being eager and enthusiastic collaborators with their readers as well as with their students, their colleagues and their clients. To those plagued by self-doubts, struggling with self-imposed limits, they have an emotional intelligence that provides a reassurance, anchored in reality rather than delusional PMA, that people really can believe in what is possible for them. First, they have to imagine it and then summon the courage to believe they can achieve it. Any journey of personal discovery is necessarily perilous. Tom Kelley and David Kelley are ideal companions for that journey.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars not bad, nice overview of design thinking but was expecting more practical application guidance, 3 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Good intro to ideo and reign thinking and an insight into the minds of the brothers invoked, but was hoping for more detail on design thinking. This is primary about general themes, other books will no doubt provide a more I depth apogee view of design thinking.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Creative confidence., 18 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I loved this book, full of great ideas and encouragement. It's not claiming to make you millions or to show you exactly how to start a business, it's simply trying to help give you back a bit of what you may already have.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very interesting reading, 23 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Very useful reading, it makes you think in different way and it opens new, exciting ways of doing thinks. It is definitely worth lots more than what you pay.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Really enjoyed it!, 25 Mar 2014
By 
Paul (City of London, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Fantastic read, simple narrative style, great story telling, not at all preachy! Some really wonderful takeaways - the kind of book I will now dip in and out of for inspiration going forward
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant Insightful Book, 26 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Creative Confidence: Unleashing the Creative Potential Within Us All (Paperback)
This book is a great insight into how creativity is within everyone's reach. But more than that, it suggests that the impact of creativity can become a company philosophy and personally liberating. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars What's not to like?, 6 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Really insightful and practical book from someone who has and continues to do this stuff. Easy to read, and if you follow some of the ideas talked about you will unleash some creative potential. How much? It's up to you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A concrete new starting point to everybody, 28 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Creative Confidence: Unleashing the Creative Potential Within Us All (Paperback)
Amazing common sense theorization!
Pro-Active reading
Share with the maximum!
Really good book.
Loved it!

(don't wait for the movie :D)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Necessary, 25 Dec 2013
By 
A. Hakim (Stockholm, Sweden) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Creative Confidence: Unleashing the Creative Potential Within Us All (Paperback)
This book was highly inter-active.

I found myself reflecting a lot about how I see problems and the opportunities it presents and immediately saw how powerful a different attitude to such processes could be. In addition, Creative Confidence brings tools that illustrates it's central premise of innovation very well, ultimately helping us on in applying the insights in our unique situations.

My wife has seen me reading this book really slowly, and out of curiosity she's asked to read it. I look forward to discussing the approaches in this book and eventually applying the concepts in our family building.

Thank you Tom, David!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars all in one book, 16 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Creative Confidence: Unleashing the Creative Potential Within Us All (Paperback)
most of the things in this book I have come across before. It's advantage and helpfulness to me is that all these things are now together in one place, and I can rate which ones I need to work on. That last is the reason for my 3 rating. It's a bit hard.....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Creative Confidence: Unleashing the Creative Potential Within Us All
£10.49
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews