Customer Reviews


28 Reviews
5 star:
 (18)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Really easy to dip in and out of
I found this entertaining and with each chapter a vignette it was very easy to dip in and out of. There is a good mix of humour and discovery and the author manages to infer the painful situations some of the victims were in with pathos and without dramatising their situation. That shows an incredible respect for the individuals. The writing is friendly and it's almost...
Published 10 months ago by Miss K.L.Davies

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars OK
This was OK but it needed better editing. I know I can be a bit fussy but grammatical errors annoy me when I'm reading. Quite a light read.
Published 3 months ago by Annie


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Really easy to dip in and out of, 2 Oct 2013
By 
Miss K.L.Davies (West Midlands United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
I found this entertaining and with each chapter a vignette it was very easy to dip in and out of. There is a good mix of humour and discovery and the author manages to infer the painful situations some of the victims were in with pathos and without dramatising their situation. That shows an incredible respect for the individuals. The writing is friendly and it's almost like a selection of conversations with a friend over a glass of wine.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Really Enjoyable Read, 4 Nov 2013
By 
Lincs Reader (Lincolnshire, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Confessions of an Undercover Cop (The Confessions Series) (Paperback)
The police have had a lot of criticism recently, I think it's fair to say that a great deal of trust has been lost due to the actions taken by senior police officers that have been highlighted in the media over the past year or so. We have to remember that the majority of serving police officers are there because they want to protect the public, because they want to see justice done. They are everyday people, just like the rest of us - doing a job that is often very unpleasant, often criticised and often played down.

I really enjoyed this book. Ash Cameron tells of her time in the police force with humour and affection. We join her as a new recruit in the 70s and follow her as she goes undercover, and later when she works with the People Protection Unit.

The book is made of up short chapters, each describing an incident that Ash had to deal with. Some of these are laugh-out-loud funny, some of them are desperately sad and a few of them are shocking. Ash Cameron writes really well. The reader feels as though they have travelled alongside her, but without the scrapes and bruises!

Ash Cameron saw and did a lot during her career with the police. She was physically attacked and spat at, she saw and heard things most of us could never imagine having to deal with once, let alone on a daily basis. Despite this, her passion for the job, and her belief in the system shines though.

One of the beauties of this book is that it is told in short, snappy bursts. Each chapter is a story in itself, and the book can be either read straight through, or dipped into every now and again.

Confessions of an Undercover Cop is a book that will appeal to many, and one that I'd recommend - a proper behind-the-scenes look at life in the force.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fascinating glimpses under the cover, 8 Oct 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I very much enjoyed this book which I read straight through, start to finish. The chapters are short which tends to make you think, oh go on, just one more before I turn out the light. Some of the tales are funny, some wry, some poignant, others shocking, still others simply very sad. The prose is beautifully simple and no-nonsense which really suits the subject matter. The confessions don't read like police thriller novels - that's because they're tales from real life. I felt I got a real insight into the life of a plain clothes London cop, and was left with huge respect for a woman who clearly cared very much about her job and the well-being of the people she policed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A compelling memoir, 13 Oct 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Confessions of an Undercover Cop (The Confessions Series) (Paperback)
I stayed up very late last night reading this memoir of one woman's career in the police force, starting in the late 70s. And yes, she does make a joke about Life on Mars.

Told with characteristic humour and the odd touch of self deprecation, there are moments of high comedy but also there is some tragedy. We follow Ash from her time at Hendon and through several different postings - seeing her deal with traffic and pickpockets, prostitution and violence. The most harrowing stories are from her time in child protection.

The memoir has the unmistakable ring of truth. It's a useful reminder too, of what we ask of people like Ash. They see the worst of human behaviour day in, and day out. Sometimes they go through all that only to see the guilty walk away. Ash touches on the politics, and the sexism, from time to time, with a very light hand. She mentions the bad apples, and issues like Hillsborough - but gently reminds us that the majority of police, the majority of the time, deal with our dirty work on a daily basis. And through it all, no matter what she was faced with - spat at, insulted, even held at gunpoint - her empathy and concern for others survived intact. That, for me, is her ultimate achievement and it was worth reading just to have my faith in humanity restored.

My own confession - I know Ash a little via Facebook, and I've been looking forward to reading this memoir for a good while. It lived up to my expectations. A very good read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Interesting insights into the life of a policewoman, 5 Oct 2013
By 
Lacuna (Sydney, Australia) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Confessions of an Undercover Cop (The Confessions Series) (Paperback)
This is a fascinating, anecdotal account of the life of a policewoman from when she was expected to "make the tea for the lads" until more recent, enlightened times. The stories are well told, usually very short (one or two pages), and not always favourable to the author.

If ever they decide to make a new series of Life on Mars, they should dip into this book for some, at times very amusing, material.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I love the fact that you can pick up this book ..., 23 July 2014
By 
Mrs. J. M. Derrick "Ex-QWF editor" (Warwickshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Confessions of an Undercover Cop (The Confessions Series) (Paperback)
Bitesize stories detailing one woman's life as an undercover cop in Central London. I love the fact that you can pick up this book and read one story at a time in a spare moment. The stories are warm, often humorous and sometimes heartbreakingly sad. What do you wear when going undercover at a swingers' party? What do you do if you rip your trousers climbing over a fence while chasing a suspect? How does feel to be a female working in a predominantly male environment? How do you cope with sexism? Ash Cameron pulls no punches. She also lets the reader into a world of secrets and cover-ups. She leaves us guessing the identity of the celebrities up to no good in the sleazier parts of the West End. Very apt with Operation Yew Tree and the like. I get the impression that Ash Cameron was an old-fashioned copper with integrity. It makes a refreshing change in a more cynical age when many view the police force as corrupt and ineffective.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Let Right Be Done!, 27 Jun 2014
I was lucky enough to win a signed copy in a competition - and what an absolute treat! The cover is slightly at odds with the story...it's quite light-hearted...whereas actually this is a read that is deadly serious and incredibly gritty. It is absolutely perfect for dipping in and out of if, like me, your reading time is scarce and you don't want to lose 'the plot'. Ash Cameron tells her story of joining the police as a nave young woman and takes the reader through the tough job of policing and, eventually, going undercover. I defy anybody to whinge about their own day at work after reading this book. From being in the heart of jeering crowds and terrified police horses, to dead vagrants, from drug addicts to notorious villains and hanging around for hours on end to orchestrate the perfect high octane arrest, at times this reads like a movie. Except it's real life. Hats off to Ash Cameron - and all the other brilliant men and women who go to work and literally risk their lives every single day.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Insight in to a Hard Job, 2 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I find these types of books very enjoyable. Ash Cameron really does say it how it is, she writes in a fluid manner that means you can read the book easily. I really enjoyed the section when she worked for the undercover team, she explains perfectly how she and her fellow officers catch the criminals, and how they end up in court. I would highly recommend this book to anybody who like me loves the professional bio's.

Have fun reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great, 5 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This was a great read, I could not put the book down, great humour, excellent writer.
I look forward to more from this author in the future
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars mistitle, 2 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Confessions of an Undercover Cop (The Confessions Series) (Paperback)
not an undercover cop at all more a street crime unit, enjoyable read especially when she moved north and i recognised the force and indeed the author so well done ASH, some clever use of letters for authors name.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Confessions of an Undercover Cop (The Confessions Series)
Confessions of an Undercover Cop (The Confessions Series) by Ash Cameron (Paperback - 26 Sep 2013)
5.59
In stock on August 1, 2014
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews