Customer Reviews


195 Reviews
5 star:
 (169)
4 star:
 (14)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


28 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Day the Crayons Quit
One day, Duncan went to take out his crayons and he found a stack of letters with his name on them. They have been written by his crayons and each page has a letter, plus a picture drawn by the appropriate coloured crayon. Beige is tired of being called "light brown" and only used for wheat, grey is tired of colouring in such large creatures as elephants and...
Published 16 months ago by S Riaz

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not sure what age group this is intended for
Not sure what age this is intended for. I bought because of the rave reviews and because if the lovely, appealing young pictures. When we got the book, I thought the idea was good and the format of letters from crayons clever but if I am honest I was a bit disappointed because it was too old for my daughter (almost 4). The letters were too long to hold her attention and...
Published 3 months ago by pjae27


‹ Previous | 1 220 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

28 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Day the Crayons Quit, 12 Jan. 2014
By 
S Riaz "S Riaz" (England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 10 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
One day, Duncan went to take out his crayons and he found a stack of letters with his name on them. They have been written by his crayons and each page has a letter, plus a picture drawn by the appropriate coloured crayon. Beige is tired of being called "light brown" and only used for wheat, grey is tired of colouring in such large creatures as elephants and humpback whales and black is tired of only being used for the outline of things.... What can Duncan do to create harmony in the crayon box?

I think the humour in this book means that it will appeal to a slightly older picture book audience - I have found it ideal to read aloud to a Reception class and it would be enjoyed by any child from approx 4 - 8. In that way, it reminds me of Man on the Moon for a sense of ironic humour which will be enjoyed by children of a slightly older age then the usual picture book target audience. Great to read aloud and may well become a classic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Different, 19 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Day The Crayons Quit (Hardcover)
Bought for my granddaughter, aged 5. She loved the title and the illustrations and it has a happy ending!
A very original tale.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful book that both my kids love., 8 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Gorgeous! This is lovely imaginative writing with illustrations that perfectly accompany it. Oliver Jeffers...can't go wrong. We all love it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant!!!!!, 23 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Day The Crayons Quit (Hardcover)
This book is a treasure for children and adults alike, its funny and well thought out The best childrens book I have bought for my granddaughter in a while. Both her mother and grandmother enjoy reading it in funny voices and making each other laugh.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautifully written and illustrated with a serious message for young readers to learn, 5 Dec. 2013
This review is from: The Day The Crayons Quit (Hardcover)
The Day the Crayons Quit" by Drew Daywalt with illustrations made by Oliver Jeffers is children book with interesting premise of rebellion among children's crayons because they are constantly being used for the same things.

When Duncan opened his box of crayons he found out that not only crayons no longer want to do what he has always used them for, but they also argue with each other unable to agree which of them is more appropriate for something that Duncan wants to draw.
So now Duncan must urgently do something to resolve this conflict among the crayons in order to again do what he loves to do - draw and paint with his crayons...

"The Day the Crayons Quit" is one the most innovative and humorous picture book I read for a long time. The situation in which this small boy Duncan found himself all of his crayons quit, writing each a letter to him expressing their reasons for dissatisfaction, was very funny although a message that the book carries is much more serious.

It's not good that we expect from the people to always do the same things because it will necessarily lead to their dissatisfaction; they should be given the opportunity to show their other interests and knowledge, given a chance to do something else, and for what they did well we should show them that their hard work and knowledge is appreciated.

For these reasons, this book is great for younger children who are starting to learn the relationships between people, a need to show respect for others and self-respect.

The above-mentioned together with the fact that this is beautifully written and illustrated book, that will laugh your kids and you countless times, makes it one of the best children books in recent years.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book, 25 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Day The Crayons Quit (Hardcover)
A really original story with fantastic illustrations. I bought this for my nephew who is 6 and he is really enjoying it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ideal to inspire young children to explore colour!, 11 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Day The Crayons Quit (Hardcover)
I saw this book at Tate Modern but couldn't afford it so was pleased to see it at a better price on Amazon. Fun story to share with children & get them thinking about colour & creativity. I work at a Primary School & would recommend it as a basis for a class activity.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Funny and Entertaining, 22 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Day The Crayons Quit (Hardcover)
I bought this book for my 7 year old granddaughter. It's funny and brilliantly illustrated and adults will
enjoy reading it to children. Highly recommended
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brill, 15 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Day The Crayons Quit (Hardcover)
Kids loved and inspired by this story, illustrations added extra humour. Highly recommended read for the whole family at great value.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the one book you should read with your kids this year, 12 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Excellent book,so funny for both children &adults. Loved it.. Have recommended it to friends who have bought it and loved it too..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 220 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Day The Crayons Quit
The Day The Crayons Quit by Drew Daywalt (Hardcover - 1 Aug. 2013)
£12.73
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews