Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Beeching Report
Very interesting. Beeching knew what his political masters wanted- cost cutting- and he tried to produce it; that he chucked the baby out with the bathwater wasn't entirely his fault. Also necessary to remember that 21st century concerns like environmental impact, carbon footprint, social utility and peak oil- all of which favour rail over road- weren't on anyone's...
Published 21 months ago by Michael

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not as good as the version without the maps
I have already reviewed the paperback version that didn't include the maps (Part 1 The Report) and gave it 4 stars.Now that I've seen the maps in the hardback version for myself the scale is so miniscule as to be pointless in including them and so I'm reducing the stars to 3. Let's hope they were in a significantly larger format in the original submission laid before...
Published 9 months ago by penpusher


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Beeching Report, 28 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Reshaping of British Railways (Hardcover)
Very interesting. Beeching knew what his political masters wanted- cost cutting- and he tried to produce it; that he chucked the baby out with the bathwater wasn't entirely his fault. Also necessary to remember that 21st century concerns like environmental impact, carbon footprint, social utility and peak oil- all of which favour rail over road- weren't on anyone's agenda in 1963. Beeching deserves a more nuanced appraisal fifty year on.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Railways, 3 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Reshaping of British Railways (Hardcover)
I'm pleased with it overall. I spent a large part of my teen-age years as a steam train "anorak"; and found the whole business very upsetting!
The report is not an easy read and much of it, in retrospect, doesn't seem to be very sensible. However, it is historically important and I'm glad that I bought it.
The map section is not easy to follow, as I assume there has been a considerable reduction in the reproduction process. I might not have bought it at the price necessary to make the maps easily readable!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Railman, 26 May 2013
By 
cairns (Haddington) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Reshaping of British Railways (Hardcover)
I have rated it for it's social and historic reference, not for it's content. Unfortunately reducing it in size has done it no favours, the maps do not come out well. Beeching only got the job because he said what Marples, the then Transport Minister wanted to hear. Marples was very much the eminence gris behind the plan, and how a roadmaker got to be in that position is beyond belief. He was supposed to relinquish his shares in Marples Ridgway to his wife,(how passing them to his wife can be called relinquishing is beyond most people). There is no evidence that he ever did this. All round a shifty self centred politician who eventually had to hastily leave Britain because he hadn't paid tax for about 30 years. Therefore the plan was flawed from the beginning. The BTC directly running the Railways was the cause of most of the problem, dodgy off the drawing board diesels, huge white elephant marshalling yards and the continuance of building further steam loco's, some of which were in the same power range as many pre- nationalised types, that is what brought the Railway down. With them out of the way then things should have got better. Unfortunately they didn't. Within the report there is no sense of trying to improve, but only destroy. The main premises for axeing were, loss-making, duplicate routes and alternative methods of transport on offer. This adequately summed up the entire London area, but very few services there were scheduled to be axed and even fewer actually were. There are even examples of electrifying a few lines! Obviously Social costs were taken into consideration in London, but nowhere else, until the very able and competent Barbara Castle became Transport Minister. The Labour administration, who did little to argue against closures were supposed to stop them when they got into office. They didn't. In fact they closed the Waverley Route. Harold Wilson was a shifty not to be trusted Prime Minister, and a parallel there should be drawn with Tony Blair, a similar character who did nothing to fight Privatisation, and although, pledging to do something about it when in office, didn't. Only the imminent possibility of the entire network crashing caused him to act in the case of Railtrack. Nothing changes in politics. A good source of what goes on in the corridors of power, and a great example of opportunities lost.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Reliving the nightmare, 30 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Reshaping of British Railways (Hardcover)
Good to have a copy of this in my collection. I did not purchase this when it orginally came out, so it fills a gap in my railway library.

Though it is fairly dry for reading, it allows a reader to study all aspects of the report. One minus though is the maps, which for the reprint could have done with being enlarged.
David Easton
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Does what it says on the cover., 13 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Reshaping of British Railways (Hardcover)
This facsimile of the original report is not easy reading. The map section suffers from reduction in size and is difficult to intepret, especially to someone like me with less than perfect vision. Arm youself with a magnifying glass. However it should be on every railway historian's bookshelf.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Must Publication for Railway Historians, 10 Aug 2014
By 
Mike Jacobs (Brugnens, Gers, France) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Reshaping of British Railways (Hardcover)
This is a must publication for anyone interested in the destruction of much of Britain's railway system in the sixties and seventies. The report does not make for very easy reading, and in the light of subsequent history some of its findings seem to be a little loose, and sometimes suspect. The maps are fine, but sometimes difficult to read because of their size (were they larger in the original report?). Definitely recommended as an historical reference.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Beeching Report, 6 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Reshaping of British Railways (Hardcover)
Excellent reproduction. Only downside is that the maps (which were originally A4 size) loose detail by the reduction in size.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars history, 22 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Reshaping of British Railways (Hardcover)
this again is a great book, it trys to tell you why lines had to close but looking back I still disliked the man
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Iconic piece of history, 28 Mar 2013
This review is from: The Reshaping of British Railways (Hardcover)
Much like Bradshaw's Railway Guide last year, I was eager to purchase this, having just seen it on the BBC. I had no idea how significant this single document was to the current state of our rail network we find ourselves lumbered with in the 21st century. The report has been produced in a lovely hardback format, excellent for dipping into and I have already looked up hat happened to my own local railway station, which closed years before I was born! Fascinating stuff!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good to read the real report, 18 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Reshaping of British Railways (Hardcover)
So nice to be able to read the report rather than others opinions of it after so many years, there's much to be gleaned form this if you're interested in the subject. I would have preferred to have paid a couple of quid more and have the maps fold out to a more legible size though. Neither my eyes, or the print/paper quality are up to the cartography definition required.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Reshaping of British Railways
The Reshaping of British Railways by British Railway Board (Hardcover - 31 Jan 2013)
£7.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews