Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars27
4.4 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 10 October 2013
Arguably the best single-volume EN-DE, DE-EN dictionary from a British publisher. Collins' very clear typographical design is IMO now ahead of Oxford University Press in this field. The Open University Set Book symbol on the front is in this case a reliable indicator of quality. It's very good value and has the advantage of being corpus-based, making it very up-to-date on current usage.

A professional translator would, of course, also use a German-published equivalent volume to balance out possible publisher cultural bias in compilation (as an occasional translator I also use the Langenscheidt equivalent offering.) Nevertheless, this is a world-class single-volume bilingual dictionary that can be used with confidence by language professionals.
22 comments|20 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 August 2013
This is an up to date and very comprehensive dictionary suitable for use on A level and undergraduate courses. Very pleasantly presented. An excellent investment.
0Comment|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 November 2014
Bought for my daughter who is doing German A level. It's a brilliant book . Her teacher recommended that she have it, highly recommended , great book. Delivery was excellent.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 July 2014
Beautiful book, has lots of extra helpful information on German usage, also handy business German section too. Would highly recommend.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 February 2015
I have always liked Collins dictionaries. The only problem I have with the German Dictionary, 8th Edition, is the thinness of the paper. I find it quite difficult to turn the pages. The thin paper causes the pages to stick together, annoying when you have dry fingers.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 December 2013
This for me is the definitive English German dictionary and I soon found it essential for learning the language because of the deficiencies of the lower level dictionaries. It is not as good or as easy to use as the Spanish equivalent from Collins which is superb, but it is the best available at the price from Amazon!
11 comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 November 2014
Extremely useful for university students studying German. It was recommended by my lecturers. Definitely worth it!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 August 2015
Easy to find what you are looking for. It is well laid out and logical. Which as a dictionary is key. I really dislike the new trend for electronic dictionaries. I get all the wow points but NOTHING substitutes holding a new language in your hands in a dictionary. That may well make me a dinosaur but hey!

Collins are the very best and this one helps immeasurably with my OU german course.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 October 2014
Big (in a good way), complete, and easy to use. The splash of colour helps to make things even clearer.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 October 2014
My daughter hasn't complained and it was the one her A level teacher recommended so all's good
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse