Customer Reviews


214 Reviews
5 star:
 (175)
4 star:
 (22)
3 star:
 (9)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


34 of 35 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Timeless classics
The effect of these books upon the reader is unique. Certainly the only books I have ever read that draw me back to re-read them again and again. They are more than just literature, they are priceless works of art. The gift of a brilliant writer possessed of an imagination that has no parallel in the history of literature to a world finding itself sadly bereft of tales of...
Published on 17 Nov 2000 by Wayne Robinson

versus
41 of 47 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great Writing, Average Quality Edition
I bought this box set but always felt I wanted the illustrated set, so I bought that as well!

This set is printed on yellowy paper with very small print (too small in my opinion).

The illustrated set has better quality paper (whiter) and more pages (bigger print).

My advice is buy the illustrated set and pay the extra 10 quid. Well worth...
Published on 22 Feb 2012 by J. Ritchie


‹ Previous | 1 2 322 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good but a bit small, 26 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Hobbit and The Lord of the Rings (Paperback)
The text and the paper it is written on is very good, but as I look at these books they are just a bit small. This means that the text size is tiny in the LOTR books to allow them to keep the books as thin as possible. It's a shame, though they are still readable and a good purchase as long as size doesn't matter for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not what was described, 31 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I bought this as a gift for someone and the description was for a boxed set of books and when they arrived they were unboxed. As this was for a gift I was disappointed by this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Hobbit & Lord of the Rings Boxed Set Books, 9 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Beautifully boxed set of the four books in this series, containing Author's notes and various references to other works. It arrived within a couple of days of ordering & I'm already onto the third book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great, 6 Jan 2012
Nice little box set, exactly as described by the seller. However, if buying directly from Amazon, the packaging seemed a little to small and mine arrived with some minor visual damage, but nothing serious.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best, 28 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Extream value for money my wife was over the moon. It arrived on time and was well packed this is a must if you had the original tape recording as it is the same and the box is identical you will not be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Two magical books combined in one magical package., 20 Nov 2000
The Lord Of The Rings and The Hobbit are some of the greatest literal achievements of all time. JRR Tolkien tells the tale of Hobbits and Dwarves, of Elves and Men, of Ents (living trees) and Orcs, of good and evil. He describes a wonderful world, called Middle-Earth, in such majesty it makes you dream of such magical places. The novels feature friendship, adventure, suspense, romance and really drag you into the story. A definite must-read!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Attractive paperback box set of masterpieces, 1 Sep 2014
By 
Timothy Hilton (Leeds, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Hobbit and The Lord of the Rings (Paperback)
These books are already well known as masterpieces, so I won't heap any further praise on Tolkein in this review. The box set is attractively designed with images from the films, and is of good quality. The books are lightweight paperbacks, and they were just the right size - small enough to fit in my coat pocket for reading on the train to work, large enough to read comfortably. The map at the back of each Lord of the Rings book is split into four sections for easier study if you are interested in it, and there is also a smaller copy of the whole map, to make it easier to see how it fits together.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars not enough for a "collector's edition", 1 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The books are pretty enough, I like the cloth covers and especially the fact that we can have the corrected text in a nice readable form now. What I miss, though, is a nice foldout map as there used to be in the other hardcover editions, and a facsimile of those pages from the Book of Mazarbul which were present in the 2004 one volume edition. Thread stitching would have been a nice detail, too, especially for a so-called collector's edition. I think I shall give the box to somebody who does not have the books at all yet.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply amazing, 23 Nov 2001
By 
hawkington (Wirral, England) - See all my reviews
I actually bought this as a present for my mother, unfortunately she didnt get it. As an avid Tolkein fan I had to open it. The graphic pictures make you feel part of the story as though you are actually living out the scenes that tolkein creates. His descriptions of battles and scenes are vividly brought to life by Mr Lee.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 34 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must for everyone!, 10 Jun 2001
By A Customer
A story so engrossing that you won't be able to leave the books until you're axhausted and many 'one last chapter...'.
I read the complete set about 10 times and I'll sure read it again with the movies coming out soon.
Buy this, you won't regret it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 322 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Hobbit and The Lord of the Rings
The Hobbit and The Lord of the Rings by J.R.R Tolkien (Paperback - 22 Nov 2012)
£25.41
Usually dispatched within 10 to 13 days
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews