Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Glorious purchase for bike-loving map-o-philes
There are several competing volumes issued this June aiming to celebrate what will be the Tour's hundredth outing (it started in 1903 but there've been breaks for minor interruptions such as world war). This one I particularly liked, because it is focused on the maps of the actual routes, which makes for the most beautiful, inviting book - and one full of unexpected...
Published 13 months ago by emma who reads a lot

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Asking for more :-)
I was hoping for more detailed maps and more pictures from the stages.... Also, it would have made sense in releasing this book after the 2013 race has been completed...
Published 11 months ago by Mikael


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Glorious purchase for bike-loving map-o-philes, 17 Jun 2013
By 
emma who reads a lot (London) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mapping Le Tour de France (Hardcover)
There are several competing volumes issued this June aiming to celebrate what will be the Tour's hundredth outing (it started in 1903 but there've been breaks for minor interruptions such as world war). This one I particularly liked, because it is focused on the maps of the actual routes, which makes for the most beautiful, inviting book - and one full of unexpected info.

Ellis Bacon is a longtime cycling journalist who now lives in Copenhagen (he translated Riis into English). His passion for Europe and particularly France -he's also fluent in French- shines through in the text, beginning with his entertaining introduction detailing how he developed his enthusiasm for that great country and its geographically ambitious bicycle race.

The book divides into three main sections. Firstly, a map of every Tour de France and its route. Each Tour has a double page spread, one page of text and one map, facing. The maps are lovely. For eg: the pre-1914 Tours are in black and white, becoming colour when the race restarted in 1919, all making you think about the ebb and flow of European history over the top of this wonderful, diverting competition. The text is really well-written, with lots and lots of details and also some wonderful evocative photos - well-chosen, and not too many, so that the story isn't drowned out by images. There are also quite a few tasty double page photo spreads, such as that glorious pic of Jean Robic leading Coppi going up Alpe D'Huez: the pictures in the book seem especially well-chosen.

The second part is a 2013 section with a complete double page spread for each stage of this year's Tour, with a bit of history of famous attacks, crashes etc for each (apart from Corsica, which sees its TDF debut this June!).

And lastly, there's a shorter section on "The Tour's Most Memorable Places": taking in obvious bits like the Galibier, and less obvious ones like Dublin.

One of the biggest questions for these commemorative volumes is: what to do about Lance? Does he get written out completely? or left in, somewhat tarnishing the story? And where does that leave all the other 'sieve-bums' like Jacques Anquetil (he said that of himself, by the way)?. Bacon chooses an elegant solution, in that Lance is left out of the graphics about who's won the race the most times, but remains on record as having won stages (albeit with asterisks) and is very much part of the narrative as the years wind by. It seems too strange to write Armstrong out, given that there are other riders whose drug status we're still not sure about.

All in all this book is a really five star production. I thought the focus on the maps would be a bit of a waste of a whole page, but in fact it makes you think about how far the cyclists travel, how different each Tour is to the next, and it reminds you exactly how important the glorious backdrop of France becomes to this wonderful race. Bacon's text sums up each year with great concision and verve, too. Leaves the reader very excited about the race to come!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Really great book., 11 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mapping Le Tour de France (Hardcover)
I have purchased this for my partner for Christmas, and as a lover of cycling, I know he will love this book.
The maps are great, and the images are also very lovely. It gives you a feel of the Tour.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars lovely book, 15 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mapping Le Tour de France (Hardcover)
Lovely book. Great present for anyone interested in cycling but really anyone would enjoy looking though this book.Really good book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Christmas prezzy for the old man!, 6 Feb 2014
By 
D. Heappey (UK Derbyshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mapping Le Tour de France (Hardcover)
Bought for my husband who is an avid cyclist and loves to watch the Tour de France obsessively when it is on he has had his nose in it most of the time and is very quiet which must mean he likes it, I love it because he is quiet while he is reading it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A xmas pressie, 28 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mapping Le Tour de France (Hardcover)
I bought this for my brother who is a very keen cyclist (has done various legs of the Tour & La Mormotte) so knows his stuff.

he said this a very descriptive, very interesting read, going back through the ages of the Tour.

a great present for anyone ho loves cycling as much as my brother!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars At last!, 14 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mapping Le Tour de France (Hardcover)
I'd been looking for something similar for years with a view to planning my own Tour de France. I want to combine all the great stages and make a continuous loop. This gives the basic maps and history and was a very simple but good read. My planning now starts!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars present for cycling son, 8 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mapping Le Tour de France (Hardcover)
I thoroughly enjoyed this myself despite being a grandmother never into cycling. It is sumptuously produced and a page turner- lots of relief maps and photos besides interesting insights.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fascinating book, 10 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mapping Le Tour de France (Hardcover)
This was a gift for my husband who is a cycling fan. We have other photo books of the TDF but this is a little more, the stage maps being particularly interesting. A great book to own and peek into every so often.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Mapping le Tour, 14 Oct 2013
This review is from: Mapping Le Tour de France (Hardcover)
Mapping le Tour is a sumptuous unofficial history of the Tour de France and is an excellent buy for anyone looking to further their knowledge of the Tour (routes, riders, statistics and scandals) in the run up to the 100th race. In addition to detailed maps of every Tour route, there are photographs of competitors (have to agree about the apparent impracticality of cycling outfits in 1903), locations and memorable incidents as well as commentary and facts and figures about each race.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars gift for my dad, 15 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mapping Le Tour de France (Hardcover)
Gift for my dad who is a huge fan of the tdf. Says its great so can recommend to other fans of the race out there.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Mapping Le Tour de France
Mapping Le Tour de France by Ellis Bacon (Hardcover - 23 May 2013)
17.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews