Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen in Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars31
4.5 out of 5 stars
Format: Hardcover|Change
Price:£12.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 1 December 2012
This is the Tour that every Briton will remember and this book tells that story in images, often the ones away from the public glare Cycling photography can be very so-so but this rises far beyond cliche to convey the atmosphere of the moment. Its strength is that it records the cyclists in their context, social, fan, road, team, personal.

Any criticisms? I'd have liked more in colour.

The photographer, Scott Mitchell, also took some fabulous images of Sky's Giro campaign earlier in 2012 which I wish someone would pull into a volume. The Giro isn't as commercially attractive as a book about the Tour but the images were some of the best I've ever seen of cycling behind-the-scenes.

Mitchell covered Wiggins' less successful damp squib campaign of 2010 in an earlier book and that is worth getting too. It wasn't the great three weeks that 2012 was but it was in its own way the foundation of the later triumph.

Forget the horde of me-too Wiggins books. This one has more style. Chapeau.
0Comment|13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 January 2013
This book is an excellent read from behind the scenes of Team Sky at the Tour, Great photos and very interesting info on tactics through the race day by day.
I previously read My Tour by Bradley Wiggins and i would say these two books compliment each other.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 December 2012
Bought this for my boyfriend for Christmas who is a huge road bike and MTB enthusiast. We watched every single day of the Tour de France and this book relives it in the finer detail.
The photography is impressive and moving and the wording is easy enough to read - it really does give you a sense of behind the scenes with Team Sky.
It has a lovely hardback cover an at it's bargain price it really is a wonderful Christmas gift, I'm sure he'll love it and keep it a reminder of such a fantastic year of sport for many years to come.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 March 2013
Pretty dissapointing - not much content - some nice pictures, but the format of the book doesnt make the most of them. Wiggins TdF bio is a better bet.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 April 2013
Good little read with some insight into what goes on in a tour team. Got some tips on "the little details that make the difference"
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 July 2013
I was expecting something with more detail, and perhaps more explanation of tactics, strategies etc. Certainly the descriptions of each stage were a lot shorter and less exciting than I had hoped for.
Although it was an interesting read, it did not bring back the memories of the excitement of last years race.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 March 2013
Brilliant photo's tell the storyof this fantastic achievement by Sir Brad! Great value for money too!!
I hope I can buy the DVD series from Sky soon!!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 January 2013
A super book with lots of behind the scenes information and pictures giving another perspective on the Tour de France
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 February 2015
The spoilt brat Wiggins comes over as being a nice guy, its not until your read other books that you realise his true character, after his win in the Tour which he would not of won without Frome, he held a ball for the team, but did not invite Chris.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 March 2016
I have to start out by admitting that I love Team Sky. This book is a wonderful 'coffee table' souvenir of their first Tour de France victory.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)