Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars28
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: Hardcover|Change
Price:£13.60+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 23 July 2013
This is a beautifully illustrated book, by Valentina D'Efilippo, that pushes the infographic discipline to its next step. Valentina is a graduate of the London College of Communication (Postgraduate Diploma Design for Visual Communication) where the design of infographics is becoming a speciality. It is refreshing to see this subject area developing a much needed sense of humour. This is also largely due to the excellent accompanying writing and editorial by James Ball. Together James and Valentina present a vast array of complex information in a contemporary and accessible manner. This book can be appreciated by specialist and generalist alike.
0Comment|28 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 July 2013
This is a great book, and I was absorbed by each turn of the page and happily spent several minutes studying each spread. The content is witty and erudite, the facts are accurate (and well referenced) and the design is excellent. The authors have avoided the trap that so often befalls these type of books by taking the centre fold into consideration so that all of the infographic is visible. The fact that the feel of the paper evolves as the content does is a really clever idea, and adds a tactile dimension to the experience. I would highly recommend it.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 February 2014
I bought this as a gift for my husband who likes infographics as well as interesting facts, ideas and information. So, this proved to be a hit! It's also nicely presented and designed, a hardcover (although soft would be ok too) and it's one of those books you can dip in and out of. But, it's not superficial at all covering religion, literature, art, space, science, you name it! The texts are intelligent and well written, and covers such a huge area that it would appeal to almost anyone. However, it was the infographics that caught my eye first and this is a well designed book.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 June 2013
This book is fascinating. It brings to life the history of the world with an amazing range of creative and stimulating graphic displays - whether its the history of ancient empires or the impact of the credit crunch compared to other financial crises. Its a wonderful way to satisfy intellectual curiosity - could be a tool for teaching kids or something intriguing for the coffee table!
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 November 2013
This book is great. It brings out some really eye-opening stats and presents them well. So many of these lovely facts were simply unknown to me, so I'm very happy I bought the book. I'd recommend this book for anyone.
I did find a few mistakes:
p76. Doesn't mention the invention/discovery of the mathematical concept zero - 0 - by the Indian Aryabhata.
p88. Talks about the Christian Crusades, but there's no mention of the Muslim wars/invasions, which were much more numerous and long-lasting.
p102. The Middle East slave trade (18m deaths) would appear to be wildly under-reported. [...]. According to [...], the total death toll was probably in the order of 140m, and continues to this day (didn't end in the 19th century.)
p136. Nowhere is iatrogenic death mentioned on this page, but it is calculated to be the third leading cause of death in the US (and therefore, probably also the rest of the West. [...]
p215. The graphs are not explained! We've got five different colours, but nothing to explain what each colour represents.
I also noticed on one page - but I can't for the life of me find it - that a trillion was incorrectly explained to be 1000 million, not 1000 billion.
Niggling criticisms apart, this is a superb book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 January 2015
Judging by my initial flick through it seems great. But the page sizes are too small to be jam packed with this much info, which means the typeface is extremely small, I'd estimate 8-9 pitch. I can normally read without reading glasses, which I keep for tiny fonts, but I can't read a word of this book without them. If your eyes are young that's not an issue, but if you hate struggling with text, you may want to factor this into your purchase.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 January 2014
If you love statistics, numbers and figures, if you love history and you're a person curious about the world, this is the book for you. Absolutely fantastic, I'm totally satisfied with it. Simple and fun to read.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 September 2014
Very interesting and beautifully design book. It is full of interesting information. Best at exploring randomly and guided by the very creative infographic.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 October 2013
Bought as a gift, my brother in law was very impressed with this book. "Even better than he was hoping"
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 July 2014
Quirky and informative
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)