Customer Reviews


19 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


26 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent achievement by London College of Communication graduate
This is a beautifully illustrated book, by Valentina D'Efilippo, that pushes the infographic discipline to its next step. Valentina is a graduate of the London College of Communication (Postgraduate Diploma Design for Visual Communication) where the design of infographics is becoming a speciality. It is refreshing to see this subject area developing a much needed sense of...
Published 17 months ago by Tony Pritchard

versus
4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars good... but no cigar
If you're used to dealing with graphics, if you care about attention to detail, if you expect an objective, factual representation of the subject matt then you will probably be disappointed with this book. Graphically interesting but spoilt by some untidy work (where's the quality control?) and some lazy bias - bordering on propaganda - evident if you check with other...
Published 10 months ago by jimmythekrik


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

26 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent achievement by London College of Communication graduate, 23 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Infographic History of the World (Hardcover)
This is a beautifully illustrated book, by Valentina D'Efilippo, that pushes the infographic discipline to its next step. Valentina is a graduate of the London College of Communication (Postgraduate Diploma Design for Visual Communication) where the design of infographics is becoming a speciality. It is refreshing to see this subject area developing a much needed sense of humour. This is also largely due to the excellent accompanying writing and editorial by James Ball. Together James and Valentina present a vast array of complex information in a contemporary and accessible manner. This book can be appreciated by specialist and generalist alike.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great content, great design., 1 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Infographic History of the World (Hardcover)
This is a great book, and I was absorbed by each turn of the page and happily spent several minutes studying each spread. The content is witty and erudite, the facts are accurate (and well referenced) and the design is excellent. The authors have avoided the trap that so often befalls these type of books by taking the centre fold into consideration so that all of the infographic is visible. The fact that the feel of the paper evolves as the content does is a really clever idea, and adds a tactile dimension to the experience. I would highly recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic book, 20 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Infographic History of the World (Hardcover)
This book is fascinating. It brings to life the history of the world with an amazing range of creative and stimulating graphic displays - whether its the history of ancient empires or the impact of the credit crunch compared to other financial crises. Its a wonderful way to satisfy intellectual curiosity - could be a tool for teaching kids or something intriguing for the coffee table!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful & Interesting Infographics - excellent book design!, 23 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Infographic History of the World (Hardcover)
If I were a professional reviewer, I would call this book a TRIUMPH.
And I think it will remain on the coffee table. Because it's beautiful...and relevant.

It covers a lots of ground in technological/military/political and natural history.
And somehow makes sense out of the size/age of the universe - and goes on to reveal interesting perspective on hot topics like environmental impacts, gun ownership, and the evolution of the music industry.

Infographics are fashionable these days. But, this not just a collection of interesting facts and appealing visualizations.
There's logical narration with enough (not too much) clever copy to guide and entertain readers.

Plus, the book itself evolves! From pre-history to modern day...the colour palette, typeface, and even the paper on which it's printed all change - beginning chapters look antiquated, later spreads in bright colours!

Highly recommended - and a easy win for gifting occasions.
Two thumbs way up!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Interesting book, great graphics and interesting text, 10 Feb 2014
By 
Ms. A. S. Rutterford "ASW" (Yorkshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Infographic History of the World (Hardcover)
I bought this as a gift for my husband who likes infographics as well as interesting facts, ideas and information. So, this proved to be a hit! It's also nicely presented and designed, a hardcover (although soft would be ok too) and it's one of those books you can dip in and out of. But, it's not superficial at all covering religion, literature, art, space, science, you name it! The texts are intelligent and well written, and covers such a huge area that it would appeal to almost anyone. However, it was the infographics that caught my eye first and this is a well designed book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars good... but no cigar, 19 Feb 2014
This review is from: The Infographic History of the World (Hardcover)
If you're used to dealing with graphics, if you care about attention to detail, if you expect an objective, factual representation of the subject matt then you will probably be disappointed with this book. Graphically interesting but spoilt by some untidy work (where's the quality control?) and some lazy bias - bordering on propaganda - evident if you check with other sources. Enjoyable at times but needs a big dose of salt, and the occasional blind eye - suitably graphic and appropriately mixed metaphors. So no cigar, but some guilty pleasure, and it does come with a health warning.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply wonderful., 21 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Infographic History of the World (Hardcover)
If you love statistics, numbers and figures, if you love history and you're a person curious about the world, this is the book for you. Absolutely fantastic, I'm totally satisfied with it. Simple and fun to read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very interesting and beautifully design book, 6 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Infographic History of the World (Hardcover)
Very interesting and beautifully design book. It is full of interesting information. Best at exploring randomly and guided by the very creative infographic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great, 25 Oct 2013
By 
A.L. (North Wales) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Infographic History of the World (Hardcover)
Bought as a gift, my brother in law was very impressed with this book. "Even better than he was hoping"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars My thoughts and some criticisms., 25 Nov 2013
This review is from: The Infographic History of the World (Hardcover)
This book is great. It brings out some really eye-opening stats and presents them well. So many of these lovely facts were simply unknown to me, so I'm very happy I bought the book. I'd recommend this book for anyone.
I did find a few mistakes:
p76. Doesn't mention the invention/discovery of the mathematical concept zero - 0 - by the Indian Aryabhata.
p88. Talks about the Christian Crusades, but there's no mention of the Muslim wars/invasions, which were much more numerous and long-lasting.
p102. The Middle East slave trade (18m deaths) would appear to be wildly under-reported. [...]. According to [...], the total death toll was probably in the order of 140m, and continues to this day (didn't end in the 19th century.)
p136. Nowhere is iatrogenic death mentioned on this page, but it is calculated to be the third leading cause of death in the US (and therefore, probably also the rest of the West. [...]
p215. The graphs are not explained! We've got five different colours, but nothing to explain what each colour represents.
I also noticed on one page - but I can't for the life of me find it - that a trillion was incorrectly explained to be 1000 million, not 1000 billion.
Niggling criticisms apart, this is a superb book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Infographic History of the World
The Infographic History of the World by James Ball (Hardcover - 20 Jun 2013)
£16.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews