Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Truly fabulous read
I really enjoyed this book. It's rare to find a book on Queen Victoria
that can't double as a doorstop, let alone one which gives you such an
illuminating sense of what her reign was about, and how she as a person
shaped it so dramatically. If you want to know about the Victorians then
this is the book for you.
Published 10 months ago by Emma Ferrier

versus
2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars disappointing
As an admitted Queen Victoria fan, this book left me a bit cold. The author is in complete command of the facts and frequently has an original take on familiar themes, but he doesn't appear to warm to his subject. Mr Dennison is expert -but also a sceptic, and you wonder if he is really in sympathy with Queen Victoria or not.

A couple of times he mentions...
Published 8 months ago by S. Ramsey-Hardy


Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Truly fabulous read, 14 Sep 2013
This review is from: Queen Victoria: A Life of Contradictions (Hardcover)
I really enjoyed this book. It's rare to find a book on Queen Victoria
that can't double as a doorstop, let alone one which gives you such an
illuminating sense of what her reign was about, and how she as a person
shaped it so dramatically. If you want to know about the Victorians then
this is the book for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A MUST for anyone interested in a manageable book on Queen Victoria, 5 Feb 2014
This review is from: Queen Victoria: A Life of Contradictions (Hardcover)
Unlike many historical tomes one of this books most favourable assets is that it is concise and not, therefore, daunting. Matthew Dennison has a very good command of language and I found it easy to read aswell and illuminating. I would highly recommend it to anyone who is interested in Queen Victoria but finds the prospect of a huge 500 pager off-putting! He gets to the character of the woman and the sub-title "A Life of Contradictions" sums it up well. A very good addition to the bookshelves...........
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Beautifully written and insightful, 24 Jun 2014
By 
Mr. David Belton (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This is a beautifully written, perceptive and fascinating account of Queen Victoria. As you read it you feel immersed not just in the historical period but inside the mind of Victoria. Dennison brilliantly relates the conflict that preoccupied the last forty years of her life between the public and the personal and he teases out emotional threads from her early life which help to explain Victoria's extraordinary, tragic, often unwittingly funny and strange world. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If you only read one book...., 13 Sep 2013
This review is from: Queen Victoria: A Life of Contradictions (Hardcover)
If you only read one book on Queen Victoria, this is the one to choose. Beautifully written it will give you a perfect picture of how and why Queen Victoria shaped a century so decisively. There are many books out there on the history and impact of her reign, but few give so clear an understanding of the character of the Queen herself. A character that shaped her rule and so that of her empire and her subjects. I can't recommend it highly enough....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars disappointing, 18 Nov 2013
By 
S. Ramsey-Hardy (italy) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
As an admitted Queen Victoria fan, this book left me a bit cold. The author is in complete command of the facts and frequently has an original take on familiar themes, but he doesn't appear to warm to his subject. Mr Dennison is expert -but also a sceptic, and you wonder if he is really in sympathy with Queen Victoria or not.

A couple of times he mentions Lytton Strachey's "Queen Victoria", a biography of similar length but quite different. Strachey presents Victoria as a fascinating individual, warts and all, and you fall for her. I didn't find the present author conveyed much of the Queen's charm, despite piquant observations. She is more of a noteworthy case, her story suitable for a skilful but objective dissection.

This book reads something like a brilliant dissertation on Queen Victoria's life. It is spiced with engaging turns of phrase, but in the end I was disappointed because it left me untouched by Queen Victoria as a personality. I enjoyed the author's use of an exotic vocabulary, which made me look up some interesting new words !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 8 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Get a Dictionary to read this, 30 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Queen Victoria: A Life of Contradictions (Hardcover)
The actual contents of the story of Queen Victoria was fine but why does Mr Dennison need to use so many obscure words right through the book--had to get a dictionary to find out what half the words meant. If it is meant to be clever and show how good his use of words are, then it backfired as it got boring coming across words no one ever uses. Result is, I will not be buying another Dennison book again.--I will read the Dictionary instead!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Queen Victoria: A Life of Contradictions
Queen Victoria: A Life of Contradictions by Matthew Dennison (Hardcover - 15 Aug 2013)
16.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews