Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn more Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars453
4.6 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 21 November 2013
"Undisputed Truth" is memoir book of one of the most controversial man and athlete in past decades, Mike Tyson. And what is more important to emphasize, a very good memoir book.

Tyson who grew up in one of the meanest and poorest Brooklyn neighborhood Brownsville, he managed to become one of the most famous and ferocious all-time boxers and the youngest heavyweight champion ever.

Tyson who never knew his father and lost his mother when he was teenager, was member of the gang, walking around with the gun in his hand, he dropped out of the school but nevertheless became a successful boxer, married movie star and earned plenty of money.
But no matter how quickly he earned money even faster he spent all went bankrupt, eventually even ending up in prison humiliated before the whole world.

It's incredible to read how he spent money when he had it in abundance, for example buying the entire stock of Rolls Royce cars.
He had problems with alcohol and so it's interesting to learn that during recording of "The Hangover" movie in which he appeared he was also drunk or going through a hangover himself.

Mike Tyson's autobiography is very brave and honest book that speaks frankly about his life from his own mouth, being equally brutal on himself like he was in ring to other boxers. He speaks about those people who once were with him all the time when he was popular, and then turned their backs on him when everything went downhill.

He will also mention his (in)famous promoter Don King about which he doesn't have anything nice to say calling him names for his theft of around 50 million dollars from Tyson due to his naivety.

He also speaks about his ex-wife and his ex-mother-in-law for which he also uses rather harsh words accusing them for his financial crash and manipulation.
He is telling that his ex Robin Givens faked a pregnancy in order to receive lot of money being supposedly three months pregnant when they got married and sometime later she told him that she had miscarried baby even though there weren't any evidence that she was pregnant at all.
Inside, Tyson also tried to give more information on his rape conviction asking reader how is possible to rape someone who come to your hotel room at two A.M....

Overall, "Undisputed Truth" is not the book that speaks about Tyson the known boxer, but the book about Mike Tyson, a man of flesh and blood, honest and intimate story about the private life of a man who has made countless mistakes in life.

And as much he was loved or hated, this is the book that after you read you will have the opportunity to learn the full truth of what had happened in his life, what made him like he was.

It doesn't mean that his life justifies everything he done, but it certainly gives a lot of explanation.
Definitely book that should be read.
11 comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 December 2014
"Undisputed Truth" is memoir book of one of the most controversial man and athlete in past decades, Mike Tyson. And what is more important to emphasize, a very good memoir book.

Tyson who grew up in one of the meanest and poorest Brooklyn neighborhood Brownsville, he managed to become one of the most famous and ferocious all-time boxers and the youngest heavyweight champion ever.

Tyson who never knew his father and lost his mother when he was teenager, was member of the gang, walking around with the gun in his hand, he dropped out of the school but nevertheless became a successful boxer, married movie star and earned plenty of money.
But no matter how quickly he earned money even faster he spent all went bankrupt, eventually even ending up in prison humiliated before the whole world.

It's incredible to read how he spent money when he had it in abundance, for example buying the entire stock of Rolls Royce cars.
He had problems with alcohol and so it's interesting to learn that during recording of "The Hangover" movie in which he appeared he was also drunk or going through a hangover himself.

Mike Tyson's autobiography is very brave and honest book that speaks frankly about his life from his own mouth, being equally brutal on himself like he was in ring to other boxers. He speaks about those people who once were with him all the time when he was popular, and then turned their backs on him when everything went downhill.

He will also mention his (in)famous promoter Don King about which he doesn't have anything nice to say calling him names for his theft of around 50 million dollars from Tyson due to his naivety.

He also speaks about his ex-wife and his ex-mother-in-law for which he also uses rather harsh words accusing them for his financial crash and manipulation.
He is telling that his ex Robin Givens faked a pregnancy in order to receive lot of money being supposedly three months pregnant when they got married and sometime later she told him that she had miscarried baby even though there weren't any evidence that she was pregnant at all.
Inside, Tyson also tried to give more information on his rape conviction asking reader how is possible to rape someone who come to your hotel room at two A.M....

Overall, "Undisputed Truth" is not the book that speaks about Tyson the known boxer, but the book about Mike Tyson, a man of flesh and blood, honest and intimate story about the private life of a man who has made countless mistakes in life.

And as much he was loved or hated, this is the book that after you read you will have the opportunity to learn the full truth of what had happened in his life, what made him like he was.

It doesn't mean that his life justifies everything he done, but it certainly gives a lot of explanation.
Definitely book that should be read.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 January 2014
I bought this book mainly because of my admiration for Mike Tyson; and I must say I have not been let down in the slightest. His journey to becoming the greatest ever heavyweight boxer is telling, and you cannot help but admire him even more. I literally read all 570 odd pages of this book within 72 hours of receiving it, even with all the other commitments I have. Once I got going, I didn't want to put the book down.
Tyson is at large a misunderstood person, so it is interesting to hear more about what he went through, and why he became the man he did.
Reading this book will certainly make you experience a range of different emotions. In this book Tyson made me laugh with some of the content he reveals; he made me happy with his achievements and his success; he made me sad with some of the decisions he made; and he also made me feel sorry for him for some of the things he has had to endure in his life.
Growing up in the tough Brooklyn district in a dysfunctional home, his marriage to Robin Givens, his imprisonment, his bankruptcy after grossing in excess of $300 million, the loss of his daughter Exodus and his drug habit are all explained in graphic detail, so there is no shortage of content and excitement.
This is probably the best autobiography I have read. It is so good, I would pay double the RRP. So at the current price you are getting an absolute bargain.
There is a lot of bad language for those who might see this as a problem.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 February 2015
Was a big fan of Iron Mike, grew up seeing him terrorise opponents as an 18 year old. This book does however show he was really on the edge. Littered with constant profanity, Iron Mike still comes across as a slightly rough individual and his musings about all manner of things and the way he still describes his interactions with various women leaves me feeling a little uneasy. The good thing is Mike has not sanitised his story.
Mike appears to be the product of his childhood and tough adolescence. If his writings here are accepted on face value, he's been as much a victim as a victimiser.
A phenomenally gifted and dedicated athlete (at least dedicated in the early days) Mike's legacy should have been even brighter than it undoubtedly always will be in the world of boxing- if he hadn't lost his mentor Cus so early in his career I can't help but think things may have been different for him.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 January 2015
To be honest, I didn't expect much from this book. I am not into boxing, not much into religion and I didn't think much of Mike Tyson to start with.
All of that has changed.
This book has shown me more about life than any other. From the inspiring quotes from Cus about mental strenght to the rollercoaster of boxing-drinks-drugs-depression. How a life that seems fulfilling is nothing more than an empty shell and how your demons will haunt you. Mike, with his honesty has allowed me to appreciate that I am what I am, no more or less, and that even being born in the ghetto you are in control of your destiny.
That there are good and bad people in the world, and that a lot of people will try to take advantage of you when others only want to help.
For the last few days reading I keep telling my wife: "this is like Mike Tyson" or "you won't believe what happened to him" and she would look at me like looking at a stranger because I was never interested in sports and the only thing I knew about boxing is that they use gloves.
But I am interested in human nature in the face of adversity, and Mike had plenty.
I can only say, if he ever reads this, that I am proud of you Mike, for fighting your demons and for be able to love and to be loved.
Only if you read the book you will understand.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 December 2013
If you are even remotely interested in Mike Tyson then this will prove a most worthwhile read. Far more eloquent than one would inpmagine (as witnessed by his one man shows) yet despite the aid of a ghost writer, most definitely the authentic voice of the formidable former heavyweight boxing champion of the world.

The book is perhaps the most brutally honest biography I have ever read. For this alone it is worth buying.

To seemingly become a fly on the wall to Iron Mike's personal development as a boxer and to gain insight into his life of crime and harsh upbringing in the early days is another reason to consider purchase.

Mid way through the book I was compelled to rewatch some of his best moments on YouTube (maybe one day we will have e-books intermingled with the authors voice as an option and access to visual clips all in one package when we buy our books in a few years time). Iron Mike was truly formidable and the story that unfolds provides insightful insight into what makes a champion and ironically what contributes to his fall.

I was particularly fascinated by the insight given by the strategies and physchological shenanigans of his mentor Cus D'amato. Without his input and the chain of events that led to Mike Tyson's involvement with him there would have been no champion (which gives us food for thought as to all those out there who never did manage to reach the extraordinary potential to which they were capable).

A fascinating read. A jaw dropping read in places. Funny, at times tragic, but to its credit honest and ultimately entertaining.

Mike Tyson has packed more living into his life than most and whether one ultimately liked the man or not, this book captures a most interesting life and fully justifies the rave reviews.

Did he rape or not rape? User or used? Violent perpretrator and victim of his upbringing? Or monster, rapist, animal?

Mike Tyson appears to lay his soul bare and the reader has enough scope in this honest biography to form or strengthen an opinion.

Five stars if you are a boxing fan or a fan of Iron Mike Tyson. Four stars plus if you are coming into this biography with little knowledge of the famous . If you hate the man I would still give it four stars.

People are complex and Mike Tyson especially so. For me, I came away understanding more about the man. I enjoyed his company and marvelled at his formidable boxing legacy but was left wary of his violent potential and capacity for self loathing.

When Tyson shook up the world by becoming the youngest heavyweight champion my friend called him an ' awesome animal' - such was his ferocity.

On reading this biography I feel compelled to conclude my friend summed it up about right...
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 December 2013
Its hard to know where to start with a review for this book. Over the past 25 yrs there have been many so called Mike Tyson biographies I've read a few so thought that I knew the full story but there was a lot in here that took me by suprise. I thinks its fair to say of all of the books on Tyson this is the only one that counts.
There's certainly a lot of content at almost 570 pages this is twice the book that most autobiographies are. During the time I read this my opinion of Tyson went up and down like a rollercoaster, from being shocked, to thinking that this guy is a complete idiot to feeling sorry for him and at the end I'm still not entirely sure.
One point worth mentioning is that Mikes actual boxing career probably accounts for less than half the content of the book.

If you don't want to see any spoilers stop reading now:

Otherwise he's my overview of this book,

We all know the story of Mikes rise to become the youngest ever Heavyweight champ under the guidance of Cus D'Amato, the marriage to Robin Givens, the legal battles over his management and his loss to Buster Douglas then conviction and incarceration for rape. The comeback and loss to Holyfeild and the ear biting incident.

However the real interesting insights that are less known about and covered in this book are the stories of Mikes childhood and just how big a criminal he was and how brutal the environment was.

The complete lack of ability he had with dealing with his finances (which stemmed from his childhood) it really seemed like someone should have given him some help, although trying to tell a young Tyson what to do with his money would have been a thankless task. Some of the frivolourity of his spending even after his second reign as champ (when he should have learned his lesson) is truly mind blowing! Its clear that giving Mike access to money was like giving a alcoholic the keys to your liquor cabinet.

The hassles of women trying to file lawsuits against him after just before and just after his incarceration (it seemed every golddigger in the country saw him as an easy target).

The biggest shocker to me was finding out the true extent of his drug addiction which spiralled after his loss to Lennox Lewis and his actions after his career finally ended. He basically went on a huge drugs binge that lasted for years living off the charity of wealthy fans and indulging in serious amounts of drugs and hookers.

Throughout it all Mike seems to be brutally honest which some of the times makes it difficult for the reader to have and sympathy for him, even admitting in a postscript to the epilogue that he is still battling his cocaine addiction.

In summary even if you have a slight interest in Tyson or just enjoy A list Biographies then you should read this book.
11 comment|19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 December 2015
This book really amazed me. Even though I had certain expectations of this book, I somewhat underestimated the integrity of the heavy weight champion.

Michael Tyson describes quite vividly his worst and best moments in such a visceral way, you cannot help feel the pain and struggle he has endured. His passion and love is laid bare for all to witness, most noticeably with the way he talks of his late mentor Cus D'mato.

This book is inspiring at times, as you would expect from a dedicated champion. It certainly is a bold and audacious read for the majority audience. Filled to the brim with words of wisdom and an insight into the mind of a passionate individual that he seems to be. It does seem to overrun towards the end as he goes into great detail over his battle with addictions. This is not to take away from the importance of the issue but it feels a little bit repetitive and maybe could have been modified for a better reading experience.

What is quite interesting is his perspective on his dual persona. Tyson has so much to say about himself, which indeed is a good thing as he is a astounding person with rare qualities. He probably could have authored two autobiographies. The Real Michael Tyson and Iron Mike.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 December 2013
I for one felt I knew all there was to k ow about tyson having followed his life and career perhaps closer than anyone having met tyson,walked in his new York hangouts etc.guess again.......gratifyingly tyson has an inate ability to disclose new layers and elaborate...what results is a 560 page tour de force a modern day epic of how a foul uncouth bastard from a 70s Brooklyn ghetto with cheating in his blood grew to be the youngest heavyweight champion ever and became a charismatic,learned fellow a literary figure who won a fortune lost it than won it again only to lose it a second time.he mixed with kings,princes,artists,imams,all who seemed besotted with him and of course the women " the two dollar hoes,the lap dancers,the actresses,models,everyday women and groupies he devoured insatiable along with his addiction to drugs.Tyson the dysfunctional derelict the self proclaimed son of a bitch makes a fascinating subject and perhaps the man himself puts best his real legacy.rap grew simultaneously with tysons rise in the mid 80s and he was in truth the first gangster rapper black mogul he did the bitches and bling and private jets and taught a generation like kanye ,pdiddy,Jay z how to do it
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 June 2014
I don't usually write reviews so I will keep this brief. The book is full of surprises and as someone who watched his fights as a kid with my Dad it was great to hear his account. He has lived 100 lives and will bring you along his journey in a captivating way. For those who have no interest in boxing it is a great bio if like me, they are your thing. You will not be disappointed.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)