Customer Reviews


83 Reviews
5 star:
 (56)
4 star:
 (18)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fascinating subject
This is a social history of what has seemed to be a forgotten part of WW2 history - the young (in most cases) and unsophisticated girls from dreary war torn Great Britain who met and fell in love with that most glamorous of creatures - a Yank.

This book takes the story of 4 young women and follows them through courtship, marriage, motherhood and beyond, all...
Published 15 months ago by Imelda

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Fascinating read
Another book club book – this one chosen by my own mother. GI Brides was chosen as a Biography, she didn’t want us to read about a celebrity and so looked for a book about some ordinary people.

GI Brides tells the story of four girls who met and married American GI’s during World War II and details their lives and journeys to the US and how...
Published 7 months ago by fennerstuk


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fascinating subject, 2 Sep 2013
By 
Imelda "Imelda" (a village in Berkshire) - See all my reviews
This review is from: GI Brides: The wartime girls who crossed the Atlantic for love (Paperback)
This is a social history of what has seemed to be a forgotten part of WW2 history - the young (in most cases) and unsophisticated girls from dreary war torn Great Britain who met and fell in love with that most glamorous of creatures - a Yank.

This book takes the story of 4 young women and follows them through courtship, marriage, motherhood and beyond, all trying to cope with life in a new country with husbands they hardly knew and who in fact, were completely different back in civilian life.

It's written in a colloquial style which will be familiar to readers of the authors' other book The Sugar Girls so it is easy to read and zips along at pace.

All in all a good summer read and one that might induce you to find out more about these brave women - some of whom still meet up in clubs for War Brides all over the USA
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Heartwarming piece of history, 9 Sep 2013
This review is from: GI Brides: The wartime girls who crossed the Atlantic for love (Paperback)
As I was blown away by the writers' first book 'The Sugar Girls' I knew that 'G.I Brides' would be on the same level. And I was not wrong. The stories of the four women are not only heartwarming, but engrossing. It shows two sides of a love story, and the problems that lay ahead for the British brides as they crossed the Altantic for the men they fell in love with. By the end I felt like I knew the women individually, due to the books compelling portrait of them. An excellent read, and highly recommended to anyone who enjoys a true wartime story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Fascinating read, 11 May 2014
Another book club book – this one chosen by my own mother. GI Brides was chosen as a Biography, she didn’t want us to read about a celebrity and so looked for a book about some ordinary people.

GI Brides tells the story of four girls who met and married American GI’s during World War II and details their lives and journeys to the US and how they were able to adapt to living over there and how they were accepted into the various communities and families.

Before starting this book I was expecting some happy stories about how they met the loves of their lives and how wonderful everything was – naive I know, but that was what I expected. What I read was very different. Out of the four girls only one of them ended up with a happy marriage with their GI. The others ended up with a womaniser, a drunk who beat his wife and a gambler.

It was interesting to see how these men seemed like completely different people while they were in the UK and how they reverted back to their true characters once they were back on home soil. These girls did not have an easy time of it. There were issues with their in-laws and being accepted into the family, being separated from their own families and being in a strange land with different customs.

They had to fight for everything they had and sometimes were pushed to the limit before admitting that they had to make a change to improve their relationships/lives. For me, I think being separated from my family would have been the biggest strain. This was at a time where you couldn’t just pick up the phone and call if you felt homesick, no Skype and travel between the US and the UK wasn’t easy or cheap. These girls left everything behind to follow their husbands and it was a shame that, for these four girls, it wasn’t the fairytale they were looking for.

It’s worth noting that out of the tens of thousands of young girls these 4 stories seem to be the exception. It was noted at the end of the book that they had a very low divorce rate compared with other couples and the majority were very happy. I’m not sure if I could have done what they did and stuck with it for as long as they did. It was a very fascinating insight into what went on during a very difficult time for both countries.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars GI brides, 13 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I enjoyed the whole book I could not put it down to me all the detail was good and enjoyable
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great read, 13 Sep 2013
This review is from: GI Brides: The wartime girls who crossed the Atlantic for love (Paperback)
Having enjoyed their previous book, The Sugar Girls, I knew I would like this book. I like the way it is told through the experiences of four women who all had such different experiences. A really easy read and a great introduction to the subject.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An interesting account of a GI Bride, 27 May 2014
By 
Lauralee Jacks (Fayetteville, TN) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: GI Brides: The wartime girls who crossed the Atlantic for love (Paperback)
During WWII when American GIs arrived in Britain, young English girls were happy to find that they had more dates that they could wish for. The American GIs had charm, charisma, and gentlemanly behavior that even some girls, who disliked them at first, eventually were won over. In fact when VE Day came, there were 70,000 women who became GI brides. GI Brides tells the story of four young brides who left behind their parents and homeland, to cross the Atlantic for love.

The novel chronicles the lives of Sylvia, Margaret, Rae, and Gwendolyn. The chapters switch back and forth from person to person. The beginning tells of their courtship with an American GI. These GIs not only won the hearts of these girls, but also their families. They seemed like their ideal dream guy that these girls were instantly infatuated and were in total bliss. When the GIs proposed to them, they accepted them. They were willing to make sacrifices to be with them because they loved them. But crossing the Atlantic was only part of the story. One of them actually found happiness in her husband. The other three found that there husbands were not whom they thought they were. These three husbands who seemed to be perfect gentlemen turned out to have a dark side to them.

I found that each of the four women were very strong and admirable. They were like any young girl who looked for love and hoped for a happy marriage. Yet when they went to the U.S. to be with their husbands, they found that they would have to adapt to a new culture, and to their new husbands. They struggled and coped with their marriages. During their trials, they struggled to find their happiness and eventually they found it.

Overall, this novel is about family, love, sacrifices, choices, and hope. The message of the book is that even though you are going through tough trials, you will eventually come out of it and find happiness. This book is an interesting look WWII war brides. Margaret is Nuala Calvi’s grandmother so it is a personal and emotional account. I recommend this book to anyone who is interested in WWII memoirs. GI Brides is a thought-provoking novel that tells us true and compelling personal accounts of these four women. Even though this novel shows us the cost of the choices these women made to be with their husbands they barely knew, it reminds us that where there is darkness, there is hope and light.
(Note: This book was given to me by the author in exchange for an honest review.)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars wartime girls, 13 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
could not put this book down brilliantly written loved every bit of it could immagine being one of those girls
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, 11 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
What a great book, true story's of British woman following there husbands to USA after ww2 , highly recommended to readers who enjoy war time stories
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Readable, enjoyable, interesting subject, 10 Sep 2013
By 
Linda King (Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: GI Brides: The wartime girls who crossed the Atlantic for love (Paperback)
This is a very readable book from these two authors and tells the stories of several girls living in the London and Southampton area who met married American servicemen stationed in England during the Second World War. It's a romantic story we are all familiar with but of course the reality is different and the course of true love does not always run smoothly. It is fascinating to hear the voices of the women describing their lives with all the ups and downs they experienced when they first arrived in the US as GI brides and later in life. A story well worth telling.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant read, 10 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Privileged to read the stories of these women and what they went through. Couldn't put the book down. It was so interesting reading about an era my own grandmother lived through and one which she said was the happiest time of her life even though there was a war on. This is a must read and remarkable and sometimes heart wrenching account of what happened after hostilities ended. Really brilliant read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

GI Brides: The wartime girls who crossed the Atlantic for love
£6.39
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews