Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Definite for the Scrabble cheats!
We love playing scrabble especially at Christmas and other family gatherings as the game is timeless. However, old cheating habits die hard and so last Christmas I thought to buy the biggest cheat a Scrabble dictionary for her stocking so there could be no more disputes on words! When she opened it I could see a little disappointment, but when the Scrabble board came...
Published on 19 Jan. 2013 by Mrs. R. Treverton-Jones

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Pros & con
contents, ok
could do with a bit of explanations more;
Why just 3 stars? it'a thicker book: "breaking" it open would very soon mean dealing with flying pages, but I really don't like leafing through a half closed book....
Published 13 months ago by caterina


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Definite for the Scrabble cheats!, 19 Jan. 2013
By 
Mrs. R. Treverton-Jones (Bristol UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Collins Scrabble Dictionary: A format edition (Paperback)
We love playing scrabble especially at Christmas and other family gatherings as the game is timeless. However, old cheating habits die hard and so last Christmas I thought to buy the biggest cheat a Scrabble dictionary for her stocking so there could be no more disputes on words! When she opened it I could see a little disappointment, but when the Scrabble board came out, it in fact gave her heaps of pleasure checking on the others so they didn't get away with anything and in fact it actually worked in her favour although I would also recommend not letting one person hang on to the book as there is a tendency to quickly look for other words when you should just be looking up the one! I would add she is 30 and a teacher and still tries to pull peculiar words out of the air to try and fool us!

This is actually a really good and useful dictionary in itself anyway, but the array of 2 letter words and some help on how to get the most out of the game without necessarily creating large words to win, was also invaluable. Highly recommended if only to have less fraught family games in the future! Bargain price too!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 4 stars all round, 18 Oct. 2014
This review is from: Collins Scrabble Dictionary: A format edition (Paperback)
We do like to have a proper Scrabble book, even though sometimes we use an app on my phone to check a word. This book has everything you may need, incl a list of 2 and 3 letter words. It also gives you the word's meaning which is brilliant as we have often wondered what some of the more obscure ones meant. Book was not new but in as new condition, came at a fantastic price and arrived quickly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Useful little book, 26 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Collins Scrabble Dictionary: A format edition (Paperback)
We use this quite a lot when playing scrabble as some words you wonder about and wouldn't find in a normal dictionary.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars scrabble esential, 13 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Collins Scrabble Dictionary: A format edition (Paperback)
A very useful book for scrabble enthusiasts. Amazing how many words are acceptable so no more arguments when playing scrabble
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Superb value for money., 20 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Collins Scrabble Dictionary: A format edition (Paperback)
This was delivered within 24 hrs and has added to our family scrabble games as we're learning all the unusual words that you need to use the last few tiles and to gain extra points.

The word definitions are very limited which keeps the size compact and easy to handle but if the definitions are important then go for a larger scrabble dictionary.

It is kept with the scrabble ready for the next game!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Pros & con, 28 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Collins Scrabble Dictionary: A format edition (Paperback)
contents, ok
could do with a bit of explanations more;
Why just 3 stars? it'a thicker book: "breaking" it open would very soon mean dealing with flying pages, but I really don't like leafing through a half closed book....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great book, 1 Feb. 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Collins Scrabble Dictionary: A format edition (Paperback)
Brought this scrabble book for a gift although I own one similar, this is a great book for the money and also very interesting and useful for all you scrabble fans!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Irreplaceable, 28 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Collins Scrabble Dictionary: A format edition (Paperback)
Great price for a brilliant dictionary. Almost everything is a word it seems! Clear font and susinct definitions, perfect for settling scrabble rows.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars scrabble dictionary, 4 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Collins Scrabble Dictionary: A format edition (Paperback)
A useful tool to try and beat my son at scrabble. We both love the game. We always take the travel version on holiday
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Scrabble dictionary, 19 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Collins Scrabble Dictionary: A format edition (Paperback)
Great little book useful for serious players and students. That's all for now as I can,t think of any more
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Collins Scrabble Dictionary: A format edition
Used & New from: £0.93
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews