Customer Reviews


216 Reviews
5 star:
 (140)
4 star:
 (47)
3 star:
 (19)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


114 of 119 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Error free, and beautiful indeed
I wanted this book from the day I read about it, but waited until the printing errors were sorted out. Amazon haven't really highlighted the publishers note that says this is now on to the third reprint, and is therefore error free. So I now have a copy. And it was worth the 6 month wait.

This really is beautiful. The way some of the figures are presented is...
Published on 21 Sept. 2010 by Robin Hilton

versus
10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Pretty colours and the curse of tiny type
Page 128 of this book is devoted to the different types of graphics used in diagrams, forty are named with a little graphic of each (pie chart; bar chart; word cloud etc and one called 'Dunno what to call it' chart) and I thought it would have been useful to run this page at the front of the book so that readers could try and identify what type of graphic was used on each...
Published on 25 Feb. 2010 by Robin Benson


‹ Previous | 1 222 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Pretty colours and the curse of tiny type, 25 Feb. 2010
By 
Robin Benson - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Page 128 of this book is devoted to the different types of graphics used in diagrams, forty are named with a little graphic of each (pie chart; bar chart; word cloud etc and one called 'Dunno what to call it' chart) and I thought it would have been useful to run this page at the front of the book so that readers could try and identify what type of graphic was used on each page.

The editorial is an interesting one and gets away from the Tufte format of reproducing existing material by creating all the graphics for this book and maybe this is one of its weaknesses. I found so many of these graphic pages just too unwieldy and confusing, sort of the opposite of what this type of material is supposed to do: visually present information with clarity and simplicity. Plenty of pages have data that has been crowbarred into something visual that really should have remained just as typed list.

Shame about the missing text that everyone has mentioned. More importantly to me (and a real editorial weakness) is the large amount of unreadable type, either white out of a black page, light coloured panels or just too tiny. Heavy use of 'Batteries Not Included Bold Condensed' and 'Prices Subject To Change Without Notice Roman' do not encourage clarity. It means I quickly turn over the page to the next diagram.

There are some fascinating visual ideas here but because they were not created for anything other than this book they lack the creative rigor that would normally be required if they were to be used in print elsewhere.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


114 of 119 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Error free, and beautiful indeed, 21 Sept. 2010
By 
Robin Hilton (Hertfordshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I wanted this book from the day I read about it, but waited until the printing errors were sorted out. Amazon haven't really highlighted the publishers note that says this is now on to the third reprint, and is therefore error free. So I now have a copy. And it was worth the 6 month wait.

This really is beautiful. The way some of the figures are presented is brilliantly original, and really fires the imagination for how information could be better presented. And I was surprised at some practical pages as well - eg salad dressing recipes, with quantities represented visually.

This is one of those books that will sit in the book case and be dipped into every now and again for inspiration. Enjoy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


118 of 128 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Wait for next edition to buy, 21 Feb. 2010
By 
J. Dawson (Edinburgh, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Author David McCandless deserves full marks for concept, design, and content of this book. It is indeed a beautiful and endlessly fascinating book that presents all sort of information from the profound to the trivial in a highly accessible way. It is the sort of thing that is ideal to dip into at random and know you are bound to come away with some new bit of knowledge, and I have no doubt our copy will end up very well-thumbed indeed.

So why the low marks? Those are for the publishers alone. A substantial number of the graphics here are missing the text that turns them from an abstract image into information. Some graphics seem to disappear off the edge of the page, others have a title but no legend to help decipher the image, graphs may show a legend for only one axis and leave the reader to guess the other. Frustratingly, the author's own website reveals that these errors were noticed in the American edition and he attempted to correct them before the British edition was printed, however the publishers opted to just publish the same book, errors and all.

This should be a stunning book with broad appeal, however in its present state I cannot honestly recommend paying for a copy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Very Nearly A Great Book, 24 Feb. 2010
By 
Mr. N. T. Baxter "Neil" (Cambridge, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This is a great idea for book, especially for us stat-buffs. There are loads of diagrams, graphical representations and charts - many in original and colourful formats - presenting data from a huge range of subjects.

The author, David McCandless, has, on the whole, done a great job compiling and devising this book, but there are a few problems which undermine it:

1) As others have mentioned, some - quite a few- diagrams are missing captions and labels, rendering them meaningless (e.g. country names missing from a diagram showing relative %age of athiests by country)

2) Some of the data is collected from less than 24 carat sources (eg. small commercial websites). This doesn't mean the information is less 'fun', but it is less representative.

3) Sometimes the more unusual charts need a bit of time in interpretation. We could do with a brief explanation of how to read them sometimes.

Despite these limitations this is a fun book to dip in and out of, and looks very nice (although I would prefer a high gloss paper to the matt that the publisher chose). I'd probably recommend the second print run - there are too many mistakes in this one - just hope the publishers haven't produced too many already!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful but still contains errors in new 2012 edition!, 24 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Information is Beautiful (New Edition) (Hardcover)
So the information contained in this book is fascinating, educational & ultimately beautifully presented.

However, there still seems to be errors:

1) A portion of the graphics are missing at the seam when they cover two pages. For example, page 166/167 features illegible text where the pages meet. 230/231 is also mis-matched. It's strange because it seems care has been taken to prevent this for some pages and yet not others.

2) On page 219 for 'The Future of Energy' there are text labels missing for the Geothermal & Hydroelectric images.

These errors have been noticed within 10 minutes of reading so I imagine there may be other examples too.

A real shame when the whole purpose of infographics is to present information beautifully and clearly. It taints the brilliance of this book. Would have been 5 stars otherwise.

Fingers crossed a new edition will appear that is completely correct!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Where the interesting bits from weekend newspaper supplements go, 26 Feb. 2010
By 
Many Beans (York) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
I liked this: it's something like Schott's almanac in pictures, or a collection of the more interesting Guardian wall charts.

Good:

* Striking graphics
* Interesting and eclectic topics - from what tastes complement each other, to causes of death
* Some great ways to present information
* Nice printing and layout

Less good

* Some parts feel like filler, for example:
- seven variants of very similar maps of film profit versus quality (ten pages, 224 - 233)
- essentially the same internet map over pages 86 -91
* Printing errors mean that some pages just don't make sense - so it is flawed (see other reviews for more detail on this)
* The quality and interest of the items is uneven:
- some seem lazy (Google insights, pages 136-139)
- some didn't work for me - the overly busy "rock band" map on page 220/221

Accepting these flaws, this has a rather good ratio of "oh, that's interesting / clever" articles to "seen it before" items. It's something a little different, and a definite hit. Four stars.

If you like this, you might also like The Art of Looking Sideways - one of my all-time favourite books for visual thinkers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Should be 5 star, 29 Oct. 2013
This review is from: Information is Beautiful (New Edition) (Hardcover)
I've been a big fan of Information is Beautiful since the start. I still am a big fan. I bought this book a few years ago and have just re-opened it since. I was a bit disappointed with it initially.

It is full of great stuff but also full of not so great stuff. This lets it down.

Too many items miss the whole point of data visualisations/infographics - a picture paints a thousand words. A visualisation should be easy to understand, or understand without adding too much text, otherwise just have the text. Too many you would just look and go 'what the...I have no idea what this is trying to represent'

"The one machine" on page 90 is just awful. A table of data would have sufficed here. "Three's a magic number" on page 36 is just nonsense. There is no data to visualise here it is just a drawing, and not very interesting at that.

Data visualisation can have artistic qualities but should not be art itself because that is art.

Definitely buy the book. It is just a shame McCandless didn't take a less is more approach.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


45 of 51 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Psychedelic Cyclopaedia, 24 Feb. 2010
By 
Quicksilver (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
That there are printing mistakes in this book is a crying shame. For a book that will rise or fall on the veracity of its data, to have twelve pages with the data missing is more than unfortunate. That this UK addition has the same mistakes as an earlier American edition, seems like commercial suicide. What were Collins thinking? I feel for David McCandless, as this book has clearly been a labour of love.

That said, 'Information is Beautiful' is a brilliant book. If the twelve messed up pages were completely absent, it would still be a brilliant book. So even though you feel like you are being cheated, you're not. The other 244 pages are a feast for the eyes, and are well worth parting you from your cash. The US version is in its second edition, so if you want it to be perfect, maybe you could wait for the same over here? (There is an downloadable errata on 'IiB' website)

February strikes me as an odd date for the release of this book. It's exactly the sort of thing you would expect to see on the shelves in the run up to Christmas. It's Schott's Almanac on acid, made to appeal to the reader's inner geek. McCandless' mission is to take the assault of information that comes with living in the technological age, and represent it in a way that is easy to understand: Visually. He does so with aplomb - there are hundreds of facts in here, all in glorious technicolor.

There are graphs, pie charts and flow charts, fairly ordinary ways of displaying information, but there are also bubble clusters, Coxcombs and the delightfully named 'semantic polar grids', which are like candy for nerds. There is even a page displaying visual ways of displaying information. Subjects range from Creation Myths to Salad Dressings, via The Middle East. It's wonderful!

I must confess that you don't have to cut into me very far before you reach my inner geek (nerdiness is only skin deep), but I love this book. I've been flicking through it for hours much to the annoyance of my wife. This is a fine reference book (though I have no idea about the quality of the data collected), and would make an ideal gift for the geek in your life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A wonderland of fascinating and illuminating information, 14 Oct. 2011
I bought this for my brother (late 50's) for his birthday. He is a difficult person to find a present for but this book has proved to be such a big hit with him (and his 4 teenage children)- I really couldn't have found a better gift. It's the kind of book that once you start, it is difficult to restrain yourself from turning the next page - I found it quite a struggle to actually wrap it up! The information is sometimes topical, always fascinating and always presented in a colourful, eye catching way. It is not the kind of book that simply lists facts and statistics - it really brings them to life. You will find yourself saying " Did you know that...?" but refusing to hand the book over to anyone else to look at! A work colleague has already purchased 2 copies on my recommendation for her husband and brother - an all round winner in my opinion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars McCandless is Beautiful - Knowledge is Power, 17 July 2011
Information is Beautiful by David McCandless.

I think this will go down as one of the great, if not the greatest, coffee-table book of my generation. Information is beautiful is dedicated to the Internet and, indeed, almost every page seems to reflect a quintessentially contemporary concern or interest. The book's overarching theme seems to be that information is important because it empowers one to change the world for the better. Aimed partly at Guardian readers with similar interests and views as McCandless, the info-graphics on climate change, politics and theology will no doubt provoke a response from right-leaning readers who might not agree with the language or even the data employed by McCandless and they will no doubt cite Twain's 'There are lies, damned lies and statistics' cliché.

There are also a few errors or typos in places, for example, Judas Priest and Deep Purple are described in the Rock genre-ology as both Rock and Metal, although this may be true it seems to be a typo. And sometimes the info-graphics can be accused of over-simplifying or misconstruing information. For example, in evolutionary biology the concept of punctuated equilibrium is often portrayed by the media as antithetical or problematic for Darwinian evolution and indeed the info-graphic on this subject may be interpreted as implying as much. But, having read Richard Dawkins' 'The Blind Watchmaker', I know this is not in fact the case.

I expect that any book of info-graphics, no matter how well researched and designed, could be accused of over-simplifying complex issues which often require detailed and patient reading as well as a nuanced interpretation rather than a brief, facile and aesthetically pleasing glance. But one does not thumb through a book of info-graphics looking for comprehensive essays on complex issues. The power and usefulness of the info-graphic is its ability to present information in a dramatic and effective way.

I think there are three possible responses a reader can have to any info-graphic. Sometimes the information is already known and accepted in advance as being true by the reader and merely bolsters pre-existing beliefs or opinions, as will be the case with most Guardian readers and the climate change info-graphics. Sometimes the information in a diagram is unknown to the reader and, depending on the simplicity or complexity of the subject, the info-graphic can either form a new belief instantly or inspire one to research the topic further before doing so. For example, after finding the info-graphic on Amazonian deforestation I went on-line to see if it were true and, sadly, based on what I could find, it seems to be true and so I have formed a new opinion on this subject. Thirdly, an info-graphic may contradict a pre-existing belief. When this happens one can either deny the information altogether, dispute the reliability of the data or its interpretation or research the topic further and then, based on what one finds, either confirm or disconfirm one's prior beliefs.

My favourite info-graphics were the Rock and Dance music Genre-ologies. I have always been aware of House and Drum 'n' Bass music for example but never really appreciated what they were or where they came from. When I learned, however, that D'n'B was influenced by Dub Reggae (which I already love) it made a connexion and so now I'm listening to Goldie's seminal D'n'B album Timeless which I really like. This, I guess, is the power of the info-graphic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 222 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Information is Beautiful (New Edition)
Information is Beautiful (New Edition) by David McCandless (Hardcover - 6 Dec. 2012)
£17.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews