Customer Reviews


190 Reviews
5 star:
 (120)
4 star:
 (42)
3 star:
 (19)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


107 of 112 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Error free, and beautiful indeed
I wanted this book from the day I read about it, but waited until the printing errors were sorted out. Amazon haven't really highlighted the publishers note that says this is now on to the third reprint, and is therefore error free. So I now have a copy. And it was worth the 6 month wait.

This really is beautiful. The way some of the figures are presented is...
Published on 21 Sep 2010 by Robin Hilton

versus
110 of 119 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Wait for next edition to buy
Author David McCandless deserves full marks for concept, design, and content of this book. It is indeed a beautiful and endlessly fascinating book that presents all sort of information from the profound to the trivial in a highly accessible way. It is the sort of thing that is ideal to dip into at random and know you are bound to come away with some new bit of knowledge,...
Published on 21 Feb 2010 by J. Dawson


‹ Previous | 1 219 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

107 of 112 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Error free, and beautiful indeed, 21 Sep 2010
By 
Robin Hilton (Hertfordshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I wanted this book from the day I read about it, but waited until the printing errors were sorted out. Amazon haven't really highlighted the publishers note that says this is now on to the third reprint, and is therefore error free. So I now have a copy. And it was worth the 6 month wait.

This really is beautiful. The way some of the figures are presented is brilliantly original, and really fires the imagination for how information could be better presented. And I was surprised at some practical pages as well - eg salad dressing recipes, with quantities represented visually.

This is one of those books that will sit in the book case and be dipped into every now and again for inspiration. Enjoy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


110 of 119 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Wait for next edition to buy, 21 Feb 2010
By 
J. Dawson (Edinburgh, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Author David McCandless deserves full marks for concept, design, and content of this book. It is indeed a beautiful and endlessly fascinating book that presents all sort of information from the profound to the trivial in a highly accessible way. It is the sort of thing that is ideal to dip into at random and know you are bound to come away with some new bit of knowledge, and I have no doubt our copy will end up very well-thumbed indeed.

So why the low marks? Those are for the publishers alone. A substantial number of the graphics here are missing the text that turns them from an abstract image into information. Some graphics seem to disappear off the edge of the page, others have a title but no legend to help decipher the image, graphs may show a legend for only one axis and leave the reader to guess the other. Frustratingly, the author's own website reveals that these errors were noticed in the American edition and he attempted to correct them before the British edition was printed, however the publishers opted to just publish the same book, errors and all.

This should be a stunning book with broad appeal, however in its present state I cannot honestly recommend paying for a copy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great collection of data visualizations, 4 Aug 2010
By 
Dr. Philip D. Roberts (Wallingford, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Information is Beautiful is a great book. The vast array of visualisation techniques is mind blowing, from the simple, yet wonderfully created pie chart to a number of techniques (e.g. semantic polar grids) that I had never encountered before (and I have a PhD in ecological statistics). I would recommend this to anyone interested in data visualisation / infographics who wants inspiration or wants a nice looking book that would not be out of place on any self-confessed geeks coffee table.

The fact that the book is now on its third reprint, shows how immensely popular it has been. This has also allowed for the correction of the original printing errors (publishers fault). If however you do have an early copy you can still download the correct pages direct from David's website "Information is Beautiful". A website that is constructed with the same amount of care and attention that is shown in this text and should be immediately addded to your RSS subscriptions.

Now that this text is under 10 makes this an instant purchase for any intersted party or even as a gift item. Enjoy being immersed in the beautiful display of normally impenetrable data.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Pretty colours and the curse of tiny type, 25 Feb 2010
By 
Robin Benson - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Page 128 of this book is devoted to the different types of graphics used in diagrams, forty are named with a little graphic of each (pie chart; bar chart; word cloud etc and one called 'Dunno what to call it' chart) and I thought it would have been useful to run this page at the front of the book so that readers could try and identify what type of graphic was used on each page.

The editorial is an interesting one and gets away from the Tufte format of reproducing existing material by creating all the graphics for this book and maybe this is one of its weaknesses. I found so many of these graphic pages just too unwieldy and confusing, sort of the opposite of what this type of material is supposed to do: visually present information with clarity and simplicity. Plenty of pages have data that has been crowbarred into something visual that really should have remained just as typed list.

Shame about the missing text that everyone has mentioned. More importantly to me (and a real editorial weakness) is the large amount of unreadable type, either white out of a black page, light coloured panels or just too tiny. Heavy use of 'Batteries Not Included Bold Condensed' and 'Prices Subject To Change Without Notice Roman' do not encourage clarity. It means I quickly turn over the page to the next diagram.

There are some fascinating visual ideas here but because they were not created for anything other than this book they lack the creative rigor that would normally be required if they were to be used in print elsewhere.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


44 of 50 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Psychedelic Cyclopaedia, 24 Feb 2010
By 
Quicksilver (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
That there are printing mistakes in this book is a crying shame. For a book that will rise or fall on the veracity of its data, to have twelve pages with the data missing is more than unfortunate. That this UK addition has the same mistakes as an earlier American edition, seems like commercial suicide. What were Collins thinking? I feel for David McCandless, as this book has clearly been a labour of love.

That said, 'Information is Beautiful' is a brilliant book. If the twelve messed up pages were completely absent, it would still be a brilliant book. So even though you feel like you are being cheated, you're not. The other 244 pages are a feast for the eyes, and are well worth parting you from your cash. The US version is in its second edition, so if you want it to be perfect, maybe you could wait for the same over here? (There is an downloadable errata on 'IiB' website)

February strikes me as an odd date for the release of this book. It's exactly the sort of thing you would expect to see on the shelves in the run up to Christmas. It's Schott's Almanac on acid, made to appeal to the reader's inner geek. McCandless' mission is to take the assault of information that comes with living in the technological age, and represent it in a way that is easy to understand: Visually. He does so with aplomb - there are hundreds of facts in here, all in glorious technicolor.

There are graphs, pie charts and flow charts, fairly ordinary ways of displaying information, but there are also bubble clusters, Coxcombs and the delightfully named 'semantic polar grids', which are like candy for nerds. There is even a page displaying visual ways of displaying information. Subjects range from Creation Myths to Salad Dressings, via The Middle East. It's wonderful!

I must confess that you don't have to cut into me very far before you reach my inner geek (nerdiness is only skin deep), but I love this book. I've been flicking through it for hours much to the annoyance of my wife. This is a fine reference book (though I have no idea about the quality of the data collected), and would make an ideal gift for the geek in your life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful but still contains errors in new 2012 edition!, 24 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Information is Beautiful (New Edition) (Hardcover)
So the information contained in this book is fascinating, educational & ultimately beautifully presented.

However, there still seems to be errors:

1) A portion of the graphics are missing at the seam when they cover two pages. For example, page 166/167 features illegible text where the pages meet. 230/231 is also mis-matched. It's strange because it seems care has been taken to prevent this for some pages and yet not others.

2) On page 219 for 'The Future of Energy' there are text labels missing for the Geothermal & Hydroelectric images.

These errors have been noticed within 10 minutes of reading so I imagine there may be other examples too.

A real shame when the whole purpose of infographics is to present information beautifully and clearly. It taints the brilliance of this book. Would have been 5 stars otherwise.

Fingers crossed a new edition will appear that is completely correct!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 23 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Shallow research and unforgivable printing errors, 9 April 2010
Whilst this book is beautifully laid out and contains some fascinating facts (Finns are the happiest people in the world, it takes 5 litres of water to make 1 litre of bottled water) I was disappointed for several reasons:
The predominant cited source seems to be Wikipedia. This is laziness for a book that celebrates the diversity of information.
Items such as Loevinger's Stages of Development or Maslow's Hierarchy of Needs are mainly unembellished lists, freely available in the same format elsewhere. Why not celebrate the wondrous things that are now being done with mashups instead?
The omission of the text on a number of pages, as reported in other reviews, is inexcusable. The publisher is knowingly selling faulty goods.
I was so looking forward to this book, being a fan of McCandless's work, so it pains me to give it such a poor review.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Should be 5 star, 29 Oct 2013
This review is from: Information is Beautiful (New Edition) (Hardcover)
I've been a big fan of Information is Beautiful since the start. I still am a big fan. I bought this book a few years ago and have just re-opened it since. I was a bit disappointed with it initially.

It is full of great stuff but also full of not so great stuff. This lets it down.

Too many items miss the whole point of data visualisations/infographics - a picture paints a thousand words. A visualisation should be easy to understand, or understand without adding too much text, otherwise just have the text. Too many you would just look and go 'what the...I have no idea what this is trying to represent'

"The one machine" on page 90 is just awful. A table of data would have sufficed here. "Three's a magic number" on page 36 is just nonsense. There is no data to visualise here it is just a drawing, and not very interesting at that.

Data visualisation can have artistic qualities but should not be art itself because that is art.

Definitely buy the book. It is just a shame McCandless didn't take a less is more approach.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A wonderland of fascinating and illuminating information, 14 Oct 2011
I bought this for my brother (late 50's) for his birthday. He is a difficult person to find a present for but this book has proved to be such a big hit with him (and his 4 teenage children)- I really couldn't have found a better gift. It's the kind of book that once you start, it is difficult to restrain yourself from turning the next page - I found it quite a struggle to actually wrap it up! The information is sometimes topical, always fascinating and always presented in a colourful, eye catching way. It is not the kind of book that simply lists facts and statistics - it really brings them to life. You will find yourself saying " Did you know that...?" but refusing to hand the book over to anyone else to look at! A work colleague has already purchased 2 copies on my recommendation for her husband and brother - an all round winner in my opinion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Where the interesting bits from weekend newspaper supplements go, 26 Feb 2010
By 
Perry Duke (York) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
I liked this: it's something like Schott's almanac in pictures, or a collection of the more interesting Guardian wall charts.

Good:

* Striking graphics
* Interesting and eclectic topics - from what tastes complement each other, to causes of death
* Some great ways to present information
* Nice printing and layout

Less good

* Some parts feel like filler, for example:
- seven variants of very similar maps of film profit versus quality (ten pages, 224 - 233)
- essentially the same internet map over pages 86 -91
* Printing errors mean that some pages just don't make sense - so it is flawed (see other reviews for more detail on this)
* The quality and interest of the items is uneven:
- some seem lazy (Google insights, pages 136-139)
- some didn't work for me - the overly busy "rock band" map on page 220/221

Accepting these flaws, this has a rather good ratio of "oh, that's interesting / clever" articles to "seen it before" items. It's something a little different, and a definite hit. Four stars.

If you like this, you might also like The Art of Looking Sideways - one of my all-time favourite books for visual thinkers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 219 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Information is Beautiful (New Edition)
Information is Beautiful (New Edition) by David McCandless (Hardcover - 6 Dec 2012)
13.60
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews