Customer Reviews


454 Reviews
5 star:
 (355)
4 star:
 (54)
3 star:
 (18)
2 star:
 (20)
1 star:
 (7)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


49 of 54 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars It captures your imagination
This was my first Feist book, and what an excellent read it turned out to be. The characters were introduced at timely intervals, so they didn't overlap. The plot of the book was never lost , but in the middle you cover such a lot of ground it becomes hard to follow. It all comes together in the end with quite a bang. The characters develop realistically, and the...
Published on 11 Jun 1999

versus
8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Overrated
Magician is not a terrible book. However, I'm perplexed at the acclaim it has received elsewhere. It's a plodding tale which aims to be an epic in the style of Lord of the Rings.

The stories of the two main characters, Pug and Tomas, were fairly interesting but I found the supporting characters very dull. If I came to a chapter focussing on Arutha, Martin or...
Published 15 months ago by BornToRun


‹ Previous | 1 2 346 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars A good read if you like sword and sorcery., 7 Jan 2010
A good story, well written. A cross between Lord of the Rings, and Harry Potter (but MUCH better written than Harry Potter, which, let's face it, is dire in terms of plot and prose). This particular edition has some 15,000 words put back in that the original edition had edited out, and frankly is a bit over-long in places (it gets bogged down in some of the lovey-dovey bits, I'll bet they were cut out in the original), but you can skim those. Overall however, most enjoyable and I will read the sequel. Oh and delivery and value for money excellent, from the seller in the USA - why can't we get good books as cheaply and quickly from within the UK, it's ridiculous.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Magical Story Telling, 29 Aug 2014
Magician is a fairly standard fantasy novel using some of the genres most overplayed cliches in terms of characters, and in some parts plot lines... So why the five star rating?

The thing is, Feist just really, really knows how to tell a story. He pulls you in right from the outset and keeps the pace fast throughout, while masterfully weaving in the backgrounds and depth of the world so that you really do care about the characters and what happens to them.

This is not a ground breaking evolution in the genre, but it is an exceptionally well crafted story created by a master of the art of story telling.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars An amazing start to one of the best science fiction series, 22 Oct 1998
By A Customer
Both the original and re-release are fantastic. (Re-release written as in hindsight he obviously felt their was room for improvement.) This book begins the long tale of Midkemia and it's many inhabitants. It focus' on Pug, who is to become the most important man in this worlds history. His development into the world of magic and how this leads him through a rift in the fabric of space and time, where he learns powers beyond his belief. It's a huge novel complete with new ideas, concepts that literally keep you chained to the book, and force you to rush out and buy every other book in the series
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mindblowing start to an epic saga., 7 Sep 1999
By A Customer
This is the first book in what is to become a complete saga based around the mythical worlds of Midkemia and Kelewan.
This edition is a re-release, with several important plot details added back in. In my opinion, this is the better version of the book. What was missing from the first edition (which I also own) was replaced. Thus the reader gets a more emotional read.
The story itself is set, as are most fanasy books, around the coming of age of two young boys (Pug and Tomas). Unsuprisingly, both are to become great heros in the trilogy. However, unlike many other writers, Feist is able to generate a certain charm and mystery which captivates the reader.
By keeping the story firmly concentrated around a few key players, Feist engages and captures the readers imagination. The tension is kept at an acceptable pace, at times making it impossible to put the book down!
Although the book itself is almost 1000 pages long, it takes very little time to actually read. At the end of the book I could remember feeling that I had to know what came next, and that I wished Raymond Feist would write FASTER. Even now, when I re-read the book (as I have done many times before) I am compelled to start the next book immediately.
If anyone has not yet read Feist, this is a tragidy for only the reader can lose. Be prepared for Feist to take over your life. You will eagerly await the next book. You will find yourself re-reading books for years to come.
Let us all hope that the author has many more books in him.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars couldnt put it down, 20 Nov 2009
By 
This book is fantastic, I love fantasy and adventure but for me this book (and the rest of the riftwar saga) was completely captivating. From the start I identified with the characters and page after page couldnt wait to find out what was going to happen to them. Once you read this then you have to finish the saga, and im sure you will.
If your loking for a fantasy adventure that draws you in and not wanting to put the book down then thisw is for you but beware you may need some time set aside to read it because nothing else will get done once you start.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars You thought Tolkien had no competition?, 27 Dec 1999
By A Customer
Magician wasn`t only the best book I`ve ever read,but one of the best things that happened to me.This book you don`t read,you experience it!Join the two boyhood friends ,Pug and Tomas in their adventures as they are seperated from each other and sent into different fates to become powerful beings and have a great influence in protecting their homeland against the mighty invading Tsurannuani forces who entered their world through a magical rift. You wont put it down until you`ve read the whole riftwar saga,guaranteed!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great work of high fantasy!, 23 Sep 2003
By 
Kurt A. Johnson (Marseilles, IL USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Magician (Hardcover)
This book, originally published in two parts (Magician: Apprentice and Magician: Master), tells the story of a war between worlds. Midkemia is a world of elves and dwarves, knights and castles, dragons and hedge wizards, which suddenly finds itself invadered by a human empire from another world, an oriental world whose vast empire has power beyond Midkemia's imagination. This is also the story of a group of young people on Midkemia, who grow up during the war, and develop beyond anything they might have imagined.
This is a great work of high fantasy, perhaps the greatest since the Lord of the Rings. Author Raymond Feist succeeds in this story in bringing to fascinating life not one, but two worlds. I loved the world of Midkemia with its forgotten history of potent magic, and the world of Kelewan with its oriental flavor. Overall, I found this to be a fascinating and highly entertaining read. If you are interested in fantasy literature, then I must say that you have to read this book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars My thoughts about Raymond E. Feist's book 'Magician', 24 Mar 2000
By A Customer
Magician is an incredible story set in a medi-evil like world, where an orphan boy: Pug becomes an apprentice to a magician named Kulgan. After saving daughter of a Lord in a royal court Pug is raised high in the kingdom. When an mysterious alien force slowly starts to appear the kingdom is faced with a full scale invasion. I found this book absolutely incredible, and there are so few fantasy books about these days that can fully captivate the attention like this book has. A truly magnificent story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Huge tale...great read, 7 Aug 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This huge epic has obvious comparisons with both Game of Thrones & Tolkein's world. Like these sagas the world is richly woven and there are many characters, all intricately linked at done point. I struggled reading this at home between, work, school runs, life etc but a weeks holiday in the sun have me ample time to get my teeth into it and I'm glad I persevered! The second half is by far the better. I will read the next installment but may well wait and read something more lightweight in between!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Ten years on and still the best book i've ever read, 15 Feb 2001
By A Customer
I first read the Magician ten years ago and it still manages to capture my imagination and take me to the place that only FIEST can.When i first read the Magician, the adventure tales of Pug and Thomas captured me in such a way that to my disappointment it was finished in three days.This is the one book that i always recommend as a MUST read and if your anything like me, it will take you on to read the rest of FIEST'S sagas they are truly compelling.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 346 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Magician (Voyager Classics)
Magician (Voyager Classics) by Raymond E. Feist (Hardcover - 28 Mar 2013)
£15.19
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews