Customer Reviews


1,224 Reviews
5 star:
 (1,003)
4 star:
 (94)
3 star:
 (54)
2 star:
 (35)
1 star:
 (38)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


38 of 39 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great edition!
JRR Tolkien's book "The Lord of the Rings" needs no introduction. It's a timeless classic that should at least be given a try by absolutley everyone! That said, this edition is just great! I was quite surprised when I first saw this edition with my own eyes. The books are large, pages are thick, the covers and the illustrations are a feast to look at and the...
Published on 18 Mar 2002

versus
219 of 235 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The Lord of the Rings: 50th Anniversary Deluxe Edition
We all know that the The Lord of the Rings is a work of genius, so this review covers this particular published version (The Lord of the Rings: 50th Anniversary Deluxe Edition). First off this book is expensive and in format it is only a little larger than the paperback version. Also apart from the three pages from the book of Mazurbul there are no illustrations. First...
Published on 23 April 2005 by J Meehan


Most Helpful First | Newest First

36 of 38 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Listening Perfection, 6 Dec 2001
Perhaps, like me, you're not an avid reader of the fantasy genre. However, anyone who respects good writing should have read Lord of the Rings. LOTR is a contemporary classic and deserves respect as a great novel. So, as other reviewers have said, this audio drama cannot replace the book; it does, however, supplement the book wonderfully and bring Middle-Earth to life.
I don't envy the actors in the forthcoming films the prospect of trying to follow this production. Iam Holm steals the show, William Nighy (such an under-rated actor) adds wonderful comic relief, the late Robert Stephens gives a powerful performance which I can only compare to Burton's best and Michael Hordern and Peter Woodthorpe ARE Gandalf and Gollum.
Think of the price in terms of CDs - the cost of 3 or 4 CDs for 13 hours of outstanding entertainment - a bargain. I bought this years ago and have never regretted it for a moment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars brings the books to life without dulling the imagination, 17 Nov 2002
By 
Mr. A. C. Gilbert "thegilb" (Chatel sur Rolle, Switzerland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Now that The Lord of the Rings has been brought to the big screen, will Tolkien fans' imaginations ever be the same again? How can the imaginary world each individual creates survive the advent of digitised images, scenery, faces? And how to get a feel for LOTR if you've never read the book and want to see the films?
Start with this excellent, timeless dramatisation. The production is pure, minimalist, the voices hit the button. The story is the main beneficiary, the sections are split intelligently so that the rhythm never wanes. The courage of The Fellowship stands out, and the actors manage to convey the emotion and the struggles they undertake.
So, this is an excellent complement for Tolkien maniacs, and a fantastic way to acquaint onesself with the story if you want to know LOTR before going to the cinema.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Out of this 'middle-earth', 19 May 2004
By 
Ash - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Ignoring the really corny title for this review, this is an outstanding buy. It is a lot of money, particularly when you're a debt-ridden student but what better to spend you last 50 of your student loan. This set is superb. I only read the Lord of the Rings a few years ago and got completely hooked. I therefore wanted to buy myself a copy of the classic books so I could read them when I wanted, rather then waiting weeks for the library copy to be returned, particularly when the person has clearly stolen or lost it seeing as it was nearly 9 months overdue. Anyway, I wanted a copy of the books and was amazed by the sheer variety of potential versions. I decided to buy this one on the basis of a couple of the reviews and some help I got from one of the reviewers via e-mail.

This set is exquisite. The set is fairly heavy and being a hard-back it is large, not to mention the cost, but it comes in a slipcase which is both hardy and beautifully decorated. The books themselves each have a removable dust-jacket which is illustrated with a relevant picture according to the book. The books are in a clear print which allows quick and easy reading. There are also some brilliant illustrations by Alan Lee - one of the artists used by Jackson in designing the film sets etc. The pictures are therefore fairly recognisable as the images match those from the films but in a water-colour (I think) painting form.

I have also bought the sinfgle book version and the set of the one book version with the hobbit, but I would recommend this version first as it is the best out of the selection of Lee illustrated hard-backs.

I would, however, also recommend you to purchase a smaller paper-back version if you want to read on the move. These books are big and would be very clumsy if you want to read them with the ease of a paperback. Whilst you don't need a desk, these books aren't exactly active reader friendly so either don't buy them as your one-and-only copy or buy them but also get a smaller version. This set is perfect of a bookshelf and casual reading, although mine haven't been read since I got the paperbacks, simply because I don't want to damage them. I know how very sad that is but they really are that good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THE Book and THE Guide, 16 Sep 2007
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a beautiful boxset, with the cover designs of the incorporated three volumes of the novel repeated on the outer sides of the box. The paperback editions of the aforementioned three volumes are the latest editions (2005) and therefore contain the presently definitive text.
What can I write about The Lord of the Rings that has not already been written? It is, I believe, a magnificent novel which will appeal to many different types of reader, whether they be fans of fantasy / science-fiction / adventure or not. The only people I would not recommend this book to are those who do not enjoy reading at all. Assuming that you still partake to any extent in this sadly dwindling pastime, I suggest that although the novel can be somewhat challenging in the sheer number of locations and characters it presents, this should mean no great difficulty for adult readers. Younger readers may find it heavy-going (as I did at age 14), but as Tolkien himself pointed out, one cannot expand one's vocabulary by reading a book aimed at one's own age-group, but rather, by reading a book aimed above it. I did not myself know that Tolkien said this before reading so in the accompanying 'The Lord of the Rings: A Reader's Companion'.
Which brings me nicely to the aptly described "definitive annotated guide". This volume is indeed a 'companion' of the highest order. It not only contains comprehensive notes on the text, but also includes the 'Nomenclature' and time-schemes penned by Tolkien as an aid to himself and others, as well as a list of the differences between the original and more recent editions (errors present from the beginning as well as those due to ill-managed reprints and revisions throughout the book's history, and the emendments made to correct these).
Never in my not-inconsiderable experience of my favourite novel have I found any guide so utterly useful and interesting.
I have but one minor gripe, being this: I assumed that the page numbers heading each of the notes in the Reader's Companion would refer to the pages of the edition it accompanies in this package. This is, however, not the case. This is no great problem, though, as the authors of the Companion had the foresight to also precede each note with the first line of the paragraph to which it belongs. Since the notes are also divided into the appropriate chapters of the relevant Books and Volumes, this does not even begin to tarnish the fifth star I have awarded this excellent set. I heartily recommend this to any reader, old or new, but most especially to those who either do not already possess the definitive text of the novel, or have yet to sample the delights of Hammond and Scull's guide to its intricacies.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantasy starts here, 5 April 2003
By A Customer
Tolkien's Middle-earth has changed the face of modern fantasy, and launched thousands upon thousands of budding authors on a new career in a relatively new genre. I first read "The Hobbit" during childhood, and I thought it was good; an enjoyable story for someone looking for wizards and orcs in 'go-on-a-quest' book. Then I picked up "The Lord of the Rings" and was blown away. There are so many twists, and a great depth to each of the characters, even the evil ones. The nature of evil, and how fine the line is between good and evil is one of the main themes in this book, and I constantly found myself questioning each character as they went on a physical, and mental journey. Add to that that the many of the characters are not heroes in the usual stereotypes, especially the hobbits. Sméagol, or Gollum, is one such case where the plot twists and turns around a character. Sometimes you hate him because he seems evil, other times you feel sympathy for him. The plot is, as I said, full of twists and dramatic turns, as Middle-earth unites to destroy the One Ring. There is a depth to the plot, a background of detailed history before the events in this book. "The Hobbit" was good because it had these things, but on a more simplified scale. This book takes what was good about "The Hobbit", trebles it, and puts some added detail in for good measure. "The Lord of the Rings" remains one of my favourite books of all time, and opened the door to the fantasy genre for me. I have yet to find one in the genre near the level Tolkien reached. Brilliantly told, with rich characters and intriguing plot makes "The Lord of the Rings" one of the best books ever written.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


46 of 49 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A production so precious-s-s-s-s-s-s!!!, 7 Dec 2002
I recently borrowed the 14 cd boxed collectors edition of the radio series and was blown away.
A fantastic adaptation by BBC Radio 4 with John Le Mesurier as Bilbo, Ian Holm as Frodo (now Bilbo in the films!) but the real star is Peter Woodthorpe as Gollum, he perfectly captures his split personality and the voice he provides is a joy to behold.(He also did the voice of Gollum in Ralph Bakshi's incomplete animated film version of the story, but seems to take it to a whole new level in this adaptation).
I bought this new 12 cd set and it differs from the previous edition - the story has been re-edited so that each book of the trilogy continues unbroken without the radio programme's original intro and ending, it is no longer split into neat 1-hour long episodes, thus enabling it to fit onto just 12 cds.
The removal of these breaks means that the story flows better, although you may feel compelled to put the next cd in to continue the story as a result!!!
In addition to this re-editing Ian Holm has recorded new epilogues and prologues.
The final cd contains music from the series, and the music is very good indeed.
If you like The Lord Of The Rings and don't yet own the radio series then i can recommend this completely.
If you enjoyed the Fellowship film and would like to know the ending of the trilogy before Christmas 2003(and doubt you could read the epic book in that timeframe!) then this set is ideal.
Believe me, as soon as Gollum appears on the first CD you'll know you've made the right decision!
At 13+ hours long this is excellent value for money, too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


128 of 137 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely essential., 15 Dec 2002
By A Customer
This radio dramatisation is remarkable and has now been re-edited onto 12cds with a running time of 13 hours 15 minutes
including the final disc which is Stephen Oliver's complete musical score (and now includes a demo of John Le Mesurier singing Bilbo's Last Song).
I can't say that i'm too keen on some of the singing which is contained in this production but the music otherwise is excellent, the story adaptation is great, and the casting is superb.
Peter Woodthorpe in particular is excellent as the snarling, stammering, schizoid Gollum.
Ian Holm who plays Bilbo in Peter Jackson's films is Frodo in this production and John Le Mesurier plays Bilbo.
There are four cds for each volume of the book, although the fourth cd of Return Of The King is the aforementioned musical score cd.
This edition differs from the radio transmission as there isn't the introduction and credits for each episode, it has been re-edited so that each of the three volumes of the book is continuous with newly recorded prologues and epilogues by Ian Holm.
This explains how they managed to squeeze it all onto 12cds; previously this was available as a 14cd set, with each of 13 1-hour episodes on a seperate cd and a final cd of the music.
The sleevenotes also say that it has been rearranged so that it better matches the chronology of the book.
Anyway, if you love the Lord Of The Rings you'll love this too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


219 of 235 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The Lord of the Rings: 50th Anniversary Deluxe Edition, 23 April 2005
By 
J Meehan (Bidford on Avon, Warwickshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
We all know that the The Lord of the Rings is a work of genius, so this review covers this particular published version (The Lord of the Rings: 50th Anniversary Deluxe Edition). First off this book is expensive and in format it is only a little larger than the paperback version. Also apart from the three pages from the book of Mazurbul there are no illustrations. First impressions will probably leave most people wondering where their money went. So what do you get for the money?
Well, clearly the publishers have spent some time thinking about how to add both quality and usability. There are two fold out maps printed in black and red. Not spectacular and in size these cover no more space than if they were printed across two pages. However, because they are fold out they are easier to read and if left "folded out" can be referred to whilst reading text on other pages.
The slip cover works well and is has a sturdy feel. The paper has a quality (non glossy) feel and is much whiter than other versions (especially the paperback) I have seen. Combined with a very crisp font this makes the book easy to read, something I struggle with in some of the cheaper published versions. Somehow when the book is closed after use the pages easily compress back to their original size making the slip case easy to use without the case being oversized.
It would have been easy for the publishers to have fallen into the trap of printing this book in the larger format of some Lord of the Rings books. However, the Lord of the Rings is a long story and these larger formats are very difficult to read due to the weight of the books. This book can actually be used!
Overall the book has an understated feel of quality which will grow on you. However there is no getting away from the premium price. If you are looking for something to give a more immediate impression there are cheaper versions, printed on glossier paper, in larger format and with more illustrations.
This makes this a book for the dedicated Lord of the Rings collector, if you just want a book for everyday use or to read for the first time I would suggest one of the mid-price versions.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Buy it now and cherish it forever!, 4 Feb 2002
By 
Amazon Customer (Southampton, Engalnd) - See all my reviews
Right first off the film is based upon Lord of the Rings, it is not Lord of the Rings. The film was as good as it could be when you consider that any longer than 3hrs and alot of people would leave the cinema and a lot of the book would be dull and plodding on the screen. But that aside the book is great. The first time you read it you'll go slowly through the first book, quicker through the second and (as I'm doing right now for the 100th time) race through the third. You'll like the last book better than the first on your first trip throuhg middle earth because there's more going on and more epic battles but when you read it again and again you'll begin to enjoy the feeling of comfort in the shire and the thrill when that danger is shattered and miss it and long to return to your comfortable fire in your nice hobbit hole. And all the feasts and friendly homes you come across will only remind you. And one other thing remember when it was written, those were the days where gay meant happy and therefore Sam's tenderness towards Frodo comes from love and from a bond forged in danger not something sexual as one reviewer has interpreted it as. Listen to me go on, basicly buy 2 copies of this book you'll need a second when the first falls apart after you've read it a 100 times.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars pure brilliance, 4 Mar 2002
By A Customer
when reading LOTR one enjoys the vastness of vocabulary of one of the worlds finest writers.
his use of description will outstound you and he has in great detail constructed a superb mythical world which should be studied by all.
In several reviews I have formally read they state how Tolkien did not explain the history of middle earth in great enough detail.
I would like to say that this is due to the publisher, they refused to publish LOTR in conjunction with the precursor "The simarillion"
This book contains explanations and the history of goings on in middle earth.
To conclude I extremely enjoyed this trilogy and it should be read by everyone at least once.
As the telegraph stated"The world is divided in to 2 kinds of people, those who have read LOTR and those who are going to"
Pure Brilliance
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Lord of the Rings (7 book) Slipcase
The Lord of the Rings (7 book) Slipcase by J.R.R. Tolkien (Paperback - 30 Aug 2012)
16.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews