Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantasy-inspired cooking turns out to be delicious, 18 July 2012
By 
It's barely worth mentioning at this point that George R.R. Martin's Song of Ice and Fire series is full of references to and long descriptions of food. Important scenes frequently revolve around banquets, and even minor meals will often get more than their fair share of explanation. Writers/Cooks Chelsea and Sariann of foodie blog Inn at the Crossroads have taken all that fantasy food as inspiration for Ice and fire-style meals, providing recipes not only for some of the things actually described in the books but also using them as jumping off points to come up with other, fitting dishes.

To me, the best part about the book may be that it's not just a case of "How can we most closely create that dish as described?", but that those fictional meals have been built upon using recipes dug up from all sorts of odd places. The book is filled with quotes from medieval cookbooks, generally in French, German, or old English, that act as the foundations for the meal in question. Many of the recipes have two versions: a "medieval" recipe that tries to stick closely to those older origins, and a "modern" version that's often a bit more familiar. So far I've found I prefer the medieval recipes, which tend to be a bit heavier and heartier.

For a Thrones fan who enjoys cooking, this is more or less the perfect recipe book; but it's also great for anyone who likes big, meaty meals, fit for a Baratheon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars klju, 6 Sep 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Feast of Ice and Fire (Hardcover)
Very god book and quick delivery!!! The book has medieval recipes (which appear to be a lot simpler for people who don't have the random bits of spices etc in their cupboards and which can make a simple looking meal turn out to be quite expensive) as well as the modern version of the meal. Very nice to have the 2 options to pick from for cooking a similar meal. With lovely little extracts from the game of thrones book relating to the recipes and beautiful pictures as well. A recipe book that got used rather than just added to the shelf!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Delicious entertainment, 15 Jun 2013
By 
hjd (Scotland) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
You actually do not have to have read or seen Game of Thrones in order to enjoy this excellent mixture of quasi- and actual historical food. The writers do know their stuff about historical cookery, and although they are American this creates no difficulties at all on this side of the Pond in terms of using the recipes as they also understand European cookery and everything is clearly explained. The clever part of presentation is that you can try either an original historical recipe or a modern version, inspired by Game of Thrones. The recipes have clearly been well tested, because they work and are delicious. This would make an excellent addition to one's cookery bookshelf for anyone with an interest in historical food or anyone who would rather like to plunge into a Game of Thrones (T.V. version) set. The existence of this very entertaining, readable and usable book is probably the only thing that might offer a bit of an excuse for George R.R. Martin's otherwise tedious overdescriptions. Skip through the guff in his books and eat your way through this one instead (there is a recipe for snake as well as lemon cakes, so every taste is catered for!). This is a good piece of work, do try it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I'll have my bacon burned black., 3 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
what a marvelous piece of work this is.
bringing you into work edible world of game of thrones.
I've already made half the recipes from this book and and fully satisfied!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Can't wait to try this!, 7 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Recommended for SOIAF fans and food lovers!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Best gift ever!, 28 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I bought this for my friend for her birthday. She is a massive fan of Game of Thrones and cooking, so when I saw this I thought of her immediately. She absolutely loved it and could tell me where most of the recipes featured in the books and TV show even without the quotes on each one. There are some recipes that are a little obscure (some involve insects), but most look absolutely delicious and I suspect a Game of Throne inspired feast soon!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent book, 4 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Feast of Ice and Fire (Hardcover)
An excellent cook book whether a fan of the series or not. Lots of good recipes and the inclusion of modern and traditional versions of some of the recipes is an excellent addition.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great book, 14 Mar 2013
This review is from: A Feast of Ice and Fire (Hardcover)
Very comprehensive book, a delight for all Game of Thrones fans with dishes from all corners of the seven kingdoms.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Beautifully written by authors who care about good eating, food history and a brilliantly created fictional world., 6 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Feast of Ice and Fire (Hardcover)
That this cook book is a labour of love is evident from the endorsement in the introduction by George Martin to the thorough research into medieval cooking that underpins the recipes. Each recipe has the passage from the novels that inspired it followed by the original historical material for the medieval recipe, which is really interesting to read. You then get two versions for each recipe: one based as closely as possible on the medieval source and one updated for modern tastes. This is a great idea and gives plenty of choice about the kind of dish you want to create. A nice touch are suggestions about how to put together a dinner party with a 'Game of Thrones' theme!
I have cooked quite a few of the dishes now and am impressed that the recipes have been thoroughly road-tested and are achievable, reliable and tasty! The photos of the finished dishes are another great feature both atmospheric and inspiring.
Most of the ingredient quantities are given in American cups with no conversion tables included. However, as a UK cook it was easy to find conversion information on any number of websites so don't let this put you off.
A marvelous book that will introduce you to sophisticated and exotic taste combinations as well as rustic comfort food all with a twist of history and fantasy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Bought as a gift, 19 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Feast of Ice and Fire (Hardcover)
I bought this book as a gift for my fience and he loved it. Am very much looking forward to cooking our first GOT meal! A great one for fans of the book and TV show alike.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

A Feast of Ice and Fire
A Feast of Ice and Fire by Sariann Lehrer (Hardcover - 29 May 2012)
Used & New from: 49.95
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews