Customer Reviews


186 Reviews
5 star:
 (157)
4 star:
 (16)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Superb Presentation Box Set Of The Best Story Ever
This box set, released and distributed as Tolkien intended for the first time, is the best I have seen and owned. This TLOTR Milliennium Edition and the CD of JRR reciting his own writings is a real bonus for any collection. When I first read the advertisement on the Amazon Web Site, I thought the price would be astronomoical, but it is so cheap, every TLOTR fan should...
Published on 31 Mar 2000

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Very disappointed
When i received the book it was not very new at all. The cover was covered in all different kinds of material not belonging there. Fx. an old library cover, half ripped apart. There are also different kinds of library stamps inside the book, some pages are torn out, others are souped in old coffee stains.

Not what i was promised at all!
Published 2 months ago by Søren


‹ Previous | 1 2 319 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The conclusion of a story; the end of an Age, 21 May 2011
As most people know this is one of the more popular fantasy trilogy ever written. It's very adventure and battle oriented, especially the latter in this third book.

As lots of people (but not as many) this novel is where the totality (or almost) of the forces of "good" make their last stand against the Dark Lord, Sauron. At this point the threat of Saruman and his White Hand Army has been destroyed, even if took quite a toll from Rohan's military forces.

The book is divided in two parts. The first features Gandalf, Aragorn, Legolas, Gimli, Pippin and Merry and their preambulations which ultimately lead to Minas Tirith, Gondor. The second part is about Frodo, Sam and their mission of destroying the One Ring, and of course when the fellowship reunites and after they go their separate ways.

Fortunely, the novel doesn't dedicate a lot of time to battles (as the movie does) but it takes its time in other things. Like seemingly unimportant information of the plain of Mordor and its inhabitants, or a more extensive knowledge of the forces of the Men of the West (Gondor and Rohan). This, by its turn, adds more depth to the story.

There's some character development to, more specifically, regarding the hobbits. For example, Merry and Pippin get very mature in their adventures. However, what really keep me turn the pages was Frodo's story, his life is so sad but so full of purpose.

Can't recommend more and if you get around to read it, enjoy.

Till next time,
M.I.T.H. (ManInsideTheHelm)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Note For Readers, 9 Jun 2010
By 
Mr. D. Benton "Demon Damian" (Milton Keynes, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
For those readers interested I thought I would point out, that these books are much easier to read the reissue The Return of the King: Return of the King Vol 3 (Lord of the Rings). This book is larger yes but not much heavier and is easier to hold, while the text is more spread out, rather then close together on the pages. I know this is not much of a review but Im hoping It might help people decide which version to get. I have both version of the Trilogy and I have to say there is not that much differance in the text. And to the collectors out there I would say buy both Trilogy Editions, they are cheaper now and both have a different art style cover. Who would'nt want more of Tolkiens World!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If you are smart you bought all three volumes at once., 4 April 2010
By 
bernie "xyzzy" (Arlington, Texas) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This book picks up where "Fellowship of the Ring (Lord of the Rings, Part I)", left off. The fellowship is dispersed. We are lucky in the fact that J. R. R. Tolkien will completely follow each path from beginning to end. All the wars are covered in detail and the progress of the ring bearer is chronicled. New creatures and old vermin reveal themselves.

As with "Ramayana" by William Buck, we find that every creature has its function and that there is no black and white in this purpose. Frodo alludes to this when he thinks of Gandalf, Aragorn, and Gollum. Even Gandalf tells not to hurt Gollum as he may play a larger role in the story that one could imagine.

Ramayana ~ by William Buck
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars book vs film, 12 Feb 2010
By 
Cjbevan "CJBevan" (Cardiff University, Wales, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
For those unaware of the relationship, this is the third part of the Lord of the Rings in a binding with a large fold out map. It was the binding I read first as a child, borrowing it continually from my local library, and so is the one I am most attched to. Many have seen the film, and may be unaware of quite how much the film left out of the book, so those who have seen the film and enjoyed it might appreciate the extra subtlety and detail provided by the book, as well whole events not even alluded to in the film. It really does tie up all the ends. The great romantic epic of evil overthrown is described fully. Tolkiens poetic narrative stlye is hinted at in the film, but looks at times slightly camp, whereas in the book it seeems much more natural and consistent. Some of the most dramatic moments and the most poignant are filmed, but are hard to really understand alone and out of context. In the book, that context is provided. The conclusion is much more satisfactory and meaningful. A landmark in literature.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant book, 12 Feb 2004
By 
K. Hawes "pkngd" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
The return of the king is a wonderful book and in this perfect audio presentation it's even more superior than the written work and as a collector you won't want to be without it.
A Brilliant Masterpiece
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars book for all, 20 Sep 2003
By 
Return of the King has got to be the best part of 'The Lord of the Rings'. It is an absolute thrill reading it. You can literally hear the thunder roaring in the Pelennor Fields and the gulls in the Havens. Tolkien is muti-focal; not only is he focused on the epic battles, the scenery but on the emotion throughout the entire book, something that the world's population can empathise with greatly. Middle-earth is a universe you will travel to every so often.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not much else I can say..., 17 Mar 2000
By A Customer
The book is a classic, no arguements there. This edition is also excellent, nice to look at, and with the bonus of a CD of Tolkien himself reading pieces from the saga. If not a must for everyone, a must for all fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Eternal and new, 4 Mar 2000
By A Customer
The Lord Of The Rings is, I think, the greatest literary achievement of the century. You have to wonder when you have finished reading it how literature after LOTR would have been without it and what we would not be enjoying today. The world that Tolkien creates comes complete with exciting cultures and fantastic races, a complete system of religion and laws, subtle magic is abound that you more feel while reading than read about it directly. A completely overwhelming achievement. I read it only once, slowly, a little every day over the course of a whole summer - like a reward for living - and when I had read the final page I actually had to think what the heck to do now. I didn't need to read it again, I knew EXACTLY what was in it! It's more of an experience than anything else.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just Couldnt Put This Book down., 13 Jan 2003
By 
Astore Stargazer (Lancashire) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
After reading the fellowship before this, I was eager to start right away and indeed from the first time I picked it up I read nearly 100 pages on the first day. The journey of the fellowship is now split up and now the book divides into 2, to start with you get the story of Aragorn, Gimli and Legolas on the trail of the foul orcs that have kidnapped Merry and Pipin. And then the second half of the book picks up where Frodo and Sam left the fellowship to complete the mission on thier own, and what you get is two stories skillfully knitted together that goes completely hand in hand with the other, thanks to the clever hand of Tolkien.
The Two Towers is better than the first book, as it is here where the war for middle earth truely begins, with the traiterous Saruman creating an army through the tower of orthanc and Sauron massing an army in mordor at his tower of Barad-dur. And with this the perils of middle earth is now well exposed as the story now really kicks on at great speed from the first book and is completely emersing, as you get drawn into it, as again the vision of Tolkien is skillfully narrated once more and leads you on to the third and final part of the trilogy, the return of the king.
Quite simply a must read, even if your not a book worm yourself dont miss out on what is the greatest story ever written, I myself has never been a fan of fiction, as I tend to stay to real life stories and biographies but reading the lord of the rings has renewed my hope in fiction as I now am reading about the elder days of middle earth and I am completely amazed as to how one person could think of his own world with such imagination and yet so flawlessly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Some Adventures Never End, 13 May 2001
By A Customer
And this is one of them. The second chapter in the Lord of the rings series, the two towers is everything that J. R. R. Tolkien readers have come to expect.
The attention to detail of every aspect of Frodos contining adventure is all here. Tolkien paints a beautiful picture of middle earth, right down to each indivudal blade of grass.
If you have read the Hobbit and the Fellowship of the rings, then this is definatly your next book. If you haven't read the Hobbit and fellowship of the ring, then read them and then make this your next book...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 319 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa0434bac)

This product

The Two Towers: The Lord of the Rings, Part 2
The Two Towers: The Lord of the Rings, Part 2 by J. R. R. Tolkien (Paperback - 30 Aug 2012)
£3.85
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews