Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.9 out of 5 stars
48
4.9 out of 5 stars
5 star
42
4 star
6
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: Hardcover|Change
Price:£19.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 14 March 2014
I could stare at this book for hours, incredible art work! I own all three of the Lord of the Rings concept art books, and the first Hobbit book also. I love to see how Tolkien's masterpiece has been realised on screen, from the Alan Lee and John Howe conceptual sketches to the digital representations. A magnificent amount of work went into these films!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 September 2015
I bought this as a present for my younger brother, but before you hold that against me let me just say I'm a huge fan of all Tolkeins works and the movies. This was my way of passing on that passion to him and he loved it (And so did I in the month leading up to his birthday). Worth the read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 April 2014
This volume is a joy to own. As soon as it is opened the quality of the artwork and the penetration of the text take you aback with their brilliance. Ostensibly a coffee table book, this can also be read as a narrative with its logical procession of the characters that appear through out the film.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 February 2014
This and it's companion books are superb. Well produced and filled with high quality artwork, designs and images. There are also insightful comments from crew and cast. In particular Alan Lee and John Howe. This book is a mine of information and inspiration to anyone whether a Tolkien fan or simply anyone who seeks inspiration for there own creative ends.
There is only one small let down. It is a personal one, but the fold out print inside the back cover of that insufferable 'luvvie' Stephen Fry will, in my copy, remain folded up.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 December 2013
This was bought as a present for a hobbit mad friend, he loved the book, well made, with a really good quality cover and amazing pictures inside. The detail and information is a must for any hobbit fan. Will be getting the other two books in this set for my friend.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 November 2014
Fantastic book full of some great artwork, the only reason i could not give it five stars because the book was a bit damaged when it came through, but apart from that everything inside was good.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 February 2014
this is the third book of the serie and so far the best! while the other two followed more the realization of the dwarfen characters this one is specifically about elves and orcs. Recommended!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 January 2014
Still with breathtaking stills, sketches, models and cool backstage information from the cast and crew. Still full of things that didn't make the final cut. Still Worth every penny.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 January 2014
its epic, the drawings / concept art is amazing, and its nice to learn more about the thaoughts behind it all, from the ones who participated in creating this great universe.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 January 2014
bought with amazon xmas gift voucher after xmas and my son 10 years old loves it there is so much detail and info about the film and the illustrations are fabulous
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse