Customer Reviews


39 Reviews
5 star:
 (26)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant and well worth the money
I ordered this for my mother for her scrabble club. She is delighted with it. Because its hardback it stays open on the page she wants. The front section has a dictionary with an explanation of the words. The middle section gives useful hints and tips on how to get the best out of your scrabble game and using those akward letters like x and q and the last section just...
Published on 1 Jan. 2013 by FreeSpirit

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Not satisfactory.
Cover of book is upside down, so when you open the front cover you the last page upside down and its the same all the way through. Also the cover is rather bashed on all four corners. We purchased this to give someone as a present and it just looks shabby for what has been listed as a new book.

In the circumstances very disappointing and we intend to return it...
Published 16 months ago by Ian Dickson


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant and well worth the money, 1 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Collins Ultimate Scrabble Dictionary and Word List (Hardcover)
I ordered this for my mother for her scrabble club. She is delighted with it. Because its hardback it stays open on the page she wants. The front section has a dictionary with an explanation of the words. The middle section gives useful hints and tips on how to get the best out of your scrabble game and using those akward letters like x and q and the last section just has a list of words. Great value and almost half the price of my local shop. It's not the smallest book but at least you can see the letters!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Word Perfect...., 6 April 2013
By 
Mrs. C. C. Kelly "CCK" (Felixstowe, Suffolk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Collins Ultimate Scrabble Dictionary and Word List (Hardcover)
Wanting to upgrade the Scrabble Dictionary (paperback edition) I was using, to a Hard Cover, saw this and thought it looked good and the price was excellent compared to other sellers on the high street. When it arrived, very quickly and well packed, I was very surprised as hadn't expected it to be as Ultimate as it is.
I LOVE IT!
It is large, and it is heavy, but it is a pleasure to sit comfortably and explore this Ultimate Scrabble Dictionary & Word List. Just to read, as there is much to discover. I will get many years of enjoyment from this purchase and it won't fall apart with use, as paperbacks can. And I am also glad to have it Just for Fun. I like having this around and it makes me smile! Oh, and finally, my Scrabble games are improving too!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best scrabble book ever ?, 7 Feb. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Collins Ultimate Scrabble Dictionary and Word List (Hardcover)
easy to use, love having the definitions of those odd scrabble words. Although a bit bulky to be a travel book it is great value.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Scrabble, 2 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Collins Ultimate Scrabble Dictionary and Word List (Hardcover)
Quick delivery, good thick book. Settled some Boxing Day scrabble arguments that were going on, if you love scrabble then this is a must to stop the cheaters.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars For Scrabble Nuts everywhere!, 7 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Collins Ultimate Scrabble Dictionary and Word List (Hardcover)
A must for anyone who enjoys a game of Scrabble or word games in general. A bit cumbersome as it comes in hardback only and is a bit of a beast but needs to be in order to be so comprehensive. Great service - arrived promptly. Very happy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Perfect for scrabble lovers, 8 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Collins Ultimate Scrabble Dictionary and Word List (Hardcover)
I bought this as a Christmas present for my dad and he was really pleased with it - he loves playing scrabble with my mum and he is very competitive so this is a great gift for him! With every single possible word that can be made you cannot get any more in depth than this book! It's very big and heavy and looks really cool except that It had a few nicks on the spine which was a shame. I'm sure it will get a lot of use - thank you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars If you like Scrabble this is a must, 28 Nov. 2013
By 
Mr. Capell Helm "mawihtec" (essex, england) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Collins Ultimate Scrabble Dictionary and Word List (Hardcover)
this book does exactly what it sets out to do.. provide a complete wordlist of acceptable scrabble words and gives a short meaning for them.
Also included is the obligitory lists of 2 and 3 letter words which are essential knowledge to the player along with great tips and tricks. There is also some useful little snippets of info as well e.g it tells you the statistically most likely 7 letter word to get from a straight draw...(not telling just buy the book ).
This is not a travel companion book this is for those who like to play at home.
in short if you play scrabble then BUY IT

and i am sooo looking forward to the next time i play and i get to put down the word WAQF on a treble word score
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars DICTIONARY, 28 Feb. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Collins Ultimate Scrabble Dictionary and Word List (Hardcover)
It is most useful to have dictionary and word lists in one volume. taking less room on the table and also find it is good when playing
UPWORDS
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Not satisfactory., 20 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Collins Ultimate Scrabble Dictionary and Word List (Hardcover)
Cover of book is upside down, so when you open the front cover you the last page upside down and its the same all the way through. Also the cover is rather bashed on all four corners. We purchased this to give someone as a present and it just looks shabby for what has been listed as a new book.

In the circumstances very disappointing and we intend to return it and ask for a refund!

Delivery was on time and satisfactory bent on three
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Collins Scrabble Dictionary., 8 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Collins Ultimate Scrabble Dictionary and Word List (Hardcover)
Excellent for my needs. I go to a U.3.A. scrabble group and most have this copy. Very comprehensive and easy to use.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Collins Ultimate Scrabble Dictionary and Word List
Collins Ultimate Scrabble Dictionary and Word List by Collins Dictionaries (Hardcover - 11 Oct. 2012)
Used & New from: £150.00
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews