Customer Reviews


297 Reviews
5 star:
 (268)
4 star:
 (23)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply Beautiful.
This was the first book that I have read by Cathy Glass, but not the first of this genre. Cathy Glass has a way of portraying her compassion for her childeren in a way which I haven't seen before. Her level of understanting a child's needs and therefore attending to such needs is deep and touching. Another Forgotten Child helped me better understand my own children and be...
Published on 2 Oct. 2012 by S.A. Winterburn

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Lovely
It was a good book which I got through in a few days , along side the emotional ride cathy books put you through.
Published 4 months ago by Ruth


‹ Previous | 1 230 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply Beautiful., 2 Oct. 2012
This review is from: Another Forgotten Child (Paperback)
This was the first book that I have read by Cathy Glass, but not the first of this genre. Cathy Glass has a way of portraying her compassion for her childeren in a way which I haven't seen before. Her level of understanting a child's needs and therefore attending to such needs is deep and touching. Another Forgotten Child helped me better understand my own children and be able to tune into them better as their parent and guardian.

Cathy's vast experience as a foster carer is evident and abundant, something which I feel ought to be taught more widely throughout the UK to parents of all circumstances.

Whether you are a foster carer, adoptive or parent to your own biological children or have suffered neglect in your own life, this book will teach you the value of unconditional love and acceptance.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cathy's done it again!!!, 9 Sept. 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Another Forgotten Child (Paperback)
Another brilliant book from Cathy Glass received this on thursday evening earlier than expected, had read it by friday morning, have now handed it on to my mum who has just started reading Cathy Glass books, As with all of Cathy's books they are so real you can feel as if you are there, as a person who has experience of this world they are so true to the reality of cases we get and the joy and frustration that comes out of it. Well done Cathy keep them coming!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An Agonizing Account of Neglect and Abuse, 13 Sept. 2012
By 
ACB(swansea) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Cathy Glass has written a harrowing story of 8 year old Aimee who is placed in the foster care of Cathy. Her history is one of abject horror. Accused by her mother, Susan, of being aggressive, violent and uncontrollable both to adults and animals. She can no longer control her. The scenario worsens with the state of the accomodation Aimee inhabits, her filthy condition, bed-wetting and refusal to go to school. Aimee lives mostly with her mother. Both parents are or have been IV drug abusers or dealers and have served prison sentences. Despite being on the at risk register at birth she has been 'forgotten' ie. slipped through the net. Her 5 half-brothers and sisters all ended up in care.

Cathy and her grown-up family take Aimee into their home despite the obvious and potential problems. She arrives unkempt, neglected, abusive and resentful with a head full of lice. Slowly Cathy begins to use her experience to try and improve Aimee's condition whilst gradually finding there is a lot more hidden in her background, especially regarding her aggressive manipulative mother,Susan. The truth will oust This is another Cathy Glass special, if traumatic novel. No spoilers other than to say it is a page-turner, difficult to put down and very readable.

As with her other books it is highly recommended and makes the reader feel fortunate, bringing home the plight of hapless children who may benefit from help that Cathy Glass and others offer and provide.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Reflects the sad truth of abuse and the difficult yet rewarding job of saving a child, 2 Jan. 2013
This review is from: Another Forgotten Child (Paperback)
Another Forgotten Child-Written by Cathy Glass.

It begins telling the story of Aimee, an 8 year old girl put on the 'at risk' register at birth but left with her mother up until the age of 8. Her mother Susan had her old children taken into care years ago but Aimee was born and left with her; Susan, a drug addict who strives to appease her dealer fails to care for Aimee which results in a physically, sexually, emotionally abused and neglected child subjected to horrifying experiences which terrify her and opens her up to a world of sexual awareness and violence. Aimee is described as being violent to people and animals and Susan denies any knowledge or responsibility for the situation.

Aimee subsequently goes to live with Cathy Glass and her 3 grown up children; the book follows Cathy's ways of challenging Aimee's defiant behaviours and inappropriate sexual comments whilst giving her nurture and boundaries. Caring for Aimee is not simple or straight forward and having to adhere to a strict contact agreement creates many difficult and dangerous situations both for Cathy and further damaging Aimee.

A twist to the story comes when an unexpected forever family is found for Aimee (I won't spoil the plot) and Cathy supports the move, Susan changes her tune and Aimee responds positively.

It's a story that reflects the horror that many children go through unnoticed for significant periods of time-I work as a Therapeutic Parent in a Residential home which cares for children who have experienced the worst sexual abuse and neglect (only 1 in 200 abused children require the type of care we provide as it's specific to recovering them from the cycle of abuse when no other care will possibly help them) and as a result I consider myself resistant to becoming emotionally involved in cases of abuse as I've supported some of the worst cases in the UK, however, when I reached the last 2 pages of Aimee's story when she was moving into her forever family home I was reduced to tears.....the realisation that there is hope for these children who've been treated in ways nobody deserved and it is thanks to people like Cathy and her family who believe there is light at the end of the tunnel. That regardless of how challenging a child's behaviour is they are worthy of love and nice things and can be recovered. It's a touching story and I highly recommend it-wider acceptance and awareness of child abuse will enable more children to be saved.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars another great book by Cathy Glass, 6 Dec. 2013
This review is from: Another Forgotten Child (Paperback)
This is a book about a Little girl who is aged 8 called Aimee, who should have come into care at birth but was left at home with mum, she had been on the child protection register since she was born, her half siblings where all ready in care, Amiee had so many different social workers, she had come from her mum house covered in bruise and a bag full of what looked like rags.
Amiee mum was on drugs and would take Amiee with her and leave who with any one, Amiee was abused be a lots of her mums so called friends, which she start to tell Cathy about.
Amiee use tell her mum on the phone and at contact things that had happen to her at Cathy's place some of it was making her eat fruit and Veg, washing and that her clothes where wrong or dirty, Amiee mum had a go at Cathy every time Cathy picked up Amiee from contact,
Cathy's family came under attack when Amiee told her mum that she had kissed Cathy's son on the lips, so Cathy had to tell them what had happened,
I loved the way That Cathy asked Amiee every night if she wanted a hug and would say I will tell you when. that had me in tears when she gave Cathy her first hugs.
All foster carers know that contacts are very hard with some families and that your own child is at risk with the child that in care. plus moving the child on to forever family is very hard, for all the foster carer family as you do get to know the child but you are pleased what you have done and helped the child move on to a happy life
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Giving Up Is Not An Option..., 16 Sept. 2012
By 
M. Brownbill (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Another Forgotten Child (Paperback)
As with all of Cathy's books, I read this in a day and found it to be awe inspiring. I felt a deep sense of connection to Aimee throughout the book as her story unfolded and I wished I could have cuddled her myself.

I felt that there was a lot of anger in this book; I'm sure it was intentional and I admire Cathy for telling things how they are but also for not giving up completely. We need people like Cathy to continue making sure other children aren't forgotten in the way that Aimee was.

Personally, I learned a lot about myself through reading this book. I find that with all of Cathy's books, I begin to understand a little bit more about why I behave the way that I do.

For anybody who has been in care; I'd recommend reading this book or any of the others that have been written by Cathy because I find it helps to deal with the past. For those who haven't; it's a shocking eye opener of how the world can be for some children and adults.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Social Services Eye-Opener, 30 Nov. 2012
By 
Chris in Hampshire "Mrs C" (Hampshire, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Another Forgotten Child (Paperback)
This is another brilliant book from foster carer Cathy Glass, who in my opinion never writes a bad or boring book. Each true story she write of a child she has fostered makes absorbing reading at the same time as being an eye openener into the abuse and neglect that some children suffer and how on occasion they slip through the social services net and are noton the radar.

The little girl whose story this book is about had been badly abused and proved very difficult to handle. In addition Cathy also had to put up with the birth mother who set out to be as difficult as possible.

Cathy workerd her magic and in time with her kindness and strength and that of her own children, this little foster girl made brilliant progress and was found a forever family.

Every Cathy Glass book is a real page-turner and this one is no exception. I thoroughly recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars My dicovery of Cathy Glass, 4 July 2013
This review is from: Another Forgotten Child (Paperback)
I have only recently discovered Cathy Glass as an author, her books so eye-opening and addictive. She writes with such detail. Another Forgotten Child was an emotional read and shared the accounts of Aimees abusive and neglectful life she had with her mother before coming to care and going to Cathy. It is unbelievable how she was left like that for so long even though her 5 siblings had been taken into care years before. During the story we read how agressive and manipulative Aimees mother is even making up lies about Adrian Cathys son. Despite this Cathy never retaliates and keeps focused in what she needs to do which is provide a loving and safe enviroment for Aimee for time she is with her. At the end it is a happy on with Aimee going to live with her olde brother his wife and daughter. This a great read and I highlyrecommend this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Another good book, 21 Sept. 2012
By 
Sheila Camp "Sheila" (Durham) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Another Forgotten Child (Paperback)
You know when you read a Cathy Glass book that it's going to please and this certainly didn't disappoint.

Cathy introduces us to Aimee, an 8 year old, who has never had a bath in all her 8 years and when she comes to Cathy, her hair is riddled with head lice. Use your imagination when you read this part of the book and you can just see Cathy's expression.

Meeting Susan, Aimee's mum, leaves me thinking it's her who needs the help, not Aimee.

Susan makes trouble for Cathy, who then feels the need to think about whether she should be fostering Aimee at all. You can really feel Cathy's anger.

As always, a true story well written.

These books bring to light the problems that Social Services have to encounter and you can see how "things get overlooked" and this shouldn't be.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars hold on tight for this emotional rollercoaster!, 20 Sept. 2012
By 
Mrs. L. Logan (Kinross, Tayside United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Another Forgotten Child (Paperback)
i am totally addicted to cathy glass' books. Now that i.ve read them all, it.s a real treat when a new story's published. This latest book is one of cathy's very best. Her writing style has matured and this compelling tale is very well told. I love the way she describes the details of her own home and own children so warmly that you really feel as if you are entering cathy's world whilst you read. Although her books deal with difficult subject matter, you just know that cathy is so capable and deals with the most difficult situations so expertly that everything is going to come to a very satisfactory conclusion. When i first discovered cathy's books, i used to read the epilogue first, just to make sure the child was ok! I didn't need to this time. I feel i know cathy and trust her implicitly. Highly recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 230 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Another Forgotten Child
Another Forgotten Child by Cathy Glass (Paperback - 13 Sept. 2012)
£6.39
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews