Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.0 out of 5 stars
95
4.0 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£5.00+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 5 April 2013
This book is amazing I only wish Bernadine Lawrence would write some more books she is amazing! I have made many of her recipes and they are delicious inexpensive and enjoyed by all the family and the money I’m spending on food has gone right down. This book is a must buy!
22 comments| 25 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 August 2012
Small and handy to have in the kitchen this updated edition has a nice layout and style. Great no-nonsense stuff, Does what it says on the tin!
0Comment| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 August 2013
This is just what I needed to budget for my family it is gd do buy the cheapest brand when shopping this was trail & error for me but at least it well worth looking into
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 September 2012
I own a much-loved (and often used) copy of a 1990s edition of Bernadine Lawrence's 'How to Feed Your Family for £5 a Day' so I was interested in seeing how this revamped and modernised version would compare.

Fortunately, I have not been disappointed. This edition features some of the best (and easiest) recipes from earlier editions, including the delicious 'bargain bread' which even the least confident of cooks can make and enjoy. There are also some recipes which appear to have been changed only slightly, with perhaps more widely available ingredients substituted for the original recipes. (For instance, the 'vegetable risotto' has now become a 'red pepper risotto' but the basic recipe is essentially the same.)

There are enough variations and newer recipes to make this edition a worthy investment, even for people who already own older editions. I particularly appreciate the noticeable increase in the number of vegetarian recipes included in this edition. This is not altogether surprising given the increasing cost of meat. Fortunately, the veggie options provided here are tasty, easy to make and cheap.

This is really timely offering, given the ever-increasing cost of basic ingredients and proves that it is still possible to eat well and to enjoy a wide variety of foods and simple recipes, without needing to spend a fortune.
0Comment| 29 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 May 2013
Purchased for my wife who thinks this is an excellent book with loads of good food ideas for family eating at an affordable frice of less that £5 a day.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 August 2013
A very good book with lots of recipe's which are economical and quick to make. I can thoroughly recommend this inexpensive book.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 February 2014
I first read how to feed your family book in early nineties called the benefit book then it was a great book I fed a family of five and paid a mortgage on basic wage thanks to Bernie she is the best cookbook writer for the low wage unskilledcooks thanks Bernie I am still cooking according to Bernie Just buy it for yourself or like me get it for your kids to help them cook for themselves healthy fresh food when they are struggling on grants or not much money
11 comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 February 2013
there is some prep in this book something we don't really do now days, something i do miss at times as everything was from scratch then really worth buying if your on a tight budget and want a decent diet for the family would recommend
22 comments| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 August 2013
Full of useful ideas in helping to feed my family. Delicious recipes. I am presently using it for my children and grand children.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 March 2014
This is a good little book. I bought it on a whim, just to see if it could be useful. Anyone you needs to watch the pennies, then splash out and get a copy of this book as it may be the best book you will have bought
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)