Customer Reviews


58 Reviews
5 star:
 (34)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (6)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bernadine Lawrence your amazing!
This book is amazing I only wish Bernadine Lawrence would write some more books she is amazing! I have made many of her recipes and they are delicious inexpensive and enjoyed by all the family and the money I’m spending on food has gone right down. This book is a must buy!
Published 15 months ago by Julie Lapworth

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars OK but 5 per day?
Some quite nice recipes but not sure if the pricing are correct for the ingredients. Like most recipes I will use the ideas and adapt to suit my family tastes.
Published 7 months ago by Janet McCall


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bernadine Lawrence your amazing!, 5 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: How to Feed Your Family for 5 a Day (Paperback)
This book is amazing I only wish Bernadine Lawrence would write some more books she is amazing! I have made many of her recipes and they are delicious inexpensive and enjoyed by all the family and the money I’m spending on food has gone right down. This book is a must buy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A good starting point for a tight budget, 7 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: How to Feed Your Family for 5 a Day (Paperback)
A good starting point for a tight budget. The prices have risen a bit since 2012 but basics are still sound.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 5 star, 12 Aug 2012
This review is from: How to Feed Your Family for 5 a Day (Paperback)
Small and handy to have in the kitchen this updated edition has a nice layout and style. Great no-nonsense stuff, Does what it says on the tin!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Worth it, 16 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: How to Feed Your Family for 5 a Day (Paperback)
This is just what I needed to budget for my family it is gd do buy the cheapest brand when shopping this was trail & error for me but at least it well worth looking into
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A BOOK EVERYONE WHO HAS A FAMILY NEEDS!!, 9 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: How to Feed Your Family for 5 a Day (Paperback)
Purchased for my wife who thinks this is an excellent book with loads of good food ideas for family eating at an affordable frice of less that 5 a day.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 19 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: How to Feed Your Family for 5 a Day (Paperback)
A very good book with lots of recipe's which are economical and quick to make. I can thoroughly recommend this inexpensive book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Oh dear, I wished I found this book when my children were young., 12 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: How to Feed Your Family for 5 a Day (Paperback)
Full of useful ideas in helping to feed my family. Delicious recipes. I am presently using it for my children and grand children.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book., 21 Nov 2013
This review is from: How to Feed Your Family for 5 a Day (Paperback)
Every home cook should have a copy of this book! Thete are some great tasty recipes to help make the weekly shop go further, that are veryr adaptable for those weeks when you have a little extra to spend. It has made me rethink lots of my cooking habbits and stop relying on ready made products such as ready to roll pastry and instead buy ibgredients to make it myself
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Fantastic Modern Edition of a Cookery Classic!, 6 Sep 2012
This review is from: How to Feed Your Family for 5 a Day (Paperback)
I own a much-loved (and often used) copy of a 1990s edition of Bernadine Lawrence's 'How to Feed Your Family for 5 a Day' so I was interested in seeing how this revamped and modernised version would compare.

Fortunately, I have not been disappointed. This edition features some of the best (and easiest) recipes from earlier editions, including the delicious 'bargain bread' which even the least confident of cooks can make and enjoy. There are also some recipes which appear to have been changed only slightly, with perhaps more widely available ingredients substituted for the original recipes. (For instance, the 'vegetable risotto' has now become a 'red pepper risotto' but the basic recipe is essentially the same.)

There are enough variations and newer recipes to make this edition a worthy investment, even for people who already own older editions. I particularly appreciate the noticeable increase in the number of vegetarian recipes included in this edition. This is not altogether surprising given the increasing cost of meat. Fortunately, the veggie options provided here are tasty, easy to make and cheap.

This is really timely offering, given the ever-increasing cost of basic ingredients and proves that it is still possible to eat well and to enjoy a wide variety of foods and simple recipes, without needing to spend a fortune.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars How to feed your family for 5 a day, 20 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book is like being in the kitchen with your mum, well my mum and I am 70yrs of age and it is as relevant now as it was in the 50s. Brad
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

How to Feed Your Family for 5 a Day
How to Feed Your Family for £5 a Day by Bernadine Lawrence (Paperback - 2 Aug 2012)
5.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews