Customer Reviews


17 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hold on to your lunch, people! This is a ride you don't want to miss.
Carnage...check. Blood and gore...check. Fabulous storyline...check. Witty dialogue...check.
Stark returns in the fifth Sandman Slim book and he's once again on the warpath the save the world. Even though every book is about saving the world it's amazing how the author is able to come up with so many new and unimaginable ways that makes this series so gripping...
Published 19 months ago by BookBunny

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars Series is deteriorating...
This is the first book in the Sandman Slim series that I haven't rated at least 3 stars. The first couple of books I loved, the last book, I felt betrayed to original character more than I cared for but still rated at least 3 stars. This book, I just got frustrated with. Firstly, I have given up trying to keep track of peripheral characters, they don't add much and the...
Published 17 months ago by Diana Fleming


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hold on to your lunch, people! This is a ride you don't want to miss., 6 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Carnage...check. Blood and gore...check. Fabulous storyline...check. Witty dialogue...check.
Stark returns in the fifth Sandman Slim book and he's once again on the warpath the save the world. Even though every book is about saving the world it's amazing how the author is able to come up with so many new and unimaginable ways that makes this series so gripping. Stark is in a race to find the Qomrama Om Ya before the Angra use it to obliterate the universe. To do so, Stark and his friends have to enter Kill City, a condemned mall in Santa Monica that houses many dead and undead creatures with unbelievable hazards in search of a crazy ghost that's been guarding the Qomrama Om Ya. Stark once again gets captured and tortured and those scenes are not for anyone with a weak stomach. Stark isn't Stark if he can't escape and he once again squares off to that crazy angel Aelita. He gets to meat another God in the process and its in that part of the book where you go, "oh yeah, that's so obvious", but you get so absorbed with the storyline that there's no time to spend time thinking whodunit or whoisit. I especially like the scene where Samael (the original Lucifer), Stark (the previous Lucifer) and Mr Munnin (a God splinter and the current Lucifer) sit down for drinks. It's so ludicrous but it just fits perfectly in the series.
This is a cracking read, fast paced and a great improvement on the previous two books. I can't wait to read the next one in the series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Once again. Fantastic., 5 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Another fantasy thriller from Kadrey, the scene is set perfectly and characters feel like you know them in person. Here's to Sandman Slim never running out of monsters to kill!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Sandman SLim Rocks, 3 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I came to this series late but have them al, have read them all and am looking forward to the next installment. Richard Kadrey has an easy writing style that brings you into the world of Sandman Slim effortlessly, and really you are waiting for him to hit people, shoot things and generally cause mayhem. Brilliant stuff.

The Devil's gladiatorial plaything, then an escapee, he is a killer that you root for from book one.

I won't give anything away about the book, just buy it you will not be disappointed ...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars yet another great read, 31 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Sandman Slim rides again, on a hog that's not road legal outside of hell. The dialogue is sharp with a rumbling wit that throws out one liners like old faithfully on steroids.

Read the books on order, they are well worth the time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars book 5 rocks, 17 Sept. 2013
this story keeps evolving and the characters are becoming fully and more developed.
munnin, samael and Carlos are a delight when they sporadically appear. the narrative is taut and paced well - kill city was a great little area and the ending was class
so much scope here for interest and ideas, mr kadrey is mining in a fine place for his stories
may the wait for the next sandman slim be short . )
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Series is deteriorating..., 11 Sept. 2013
By 
Diana Fleming - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is the first book in the Sandman Slim series that I haven't rated at least 3 stars. The first couple of books I loved, the last book, I felt betrayed to original character more than I cared for but still rated at least 3 stars. This book, I just got frustrated with. Firstly, I have given up trying to keep track of peripheral characters, they don't add much and the main character is clearly the focus. Secondly, Sandman Slim seemed to rely more on luck than any particular talent this time around. Frankly, he didn't seem particularly impressive, interesting, or bad ass, and I lost interest in him. Didn't like the book, gave up reading it about halfway through an overly lengthy torture scene. A pity, I loved the first few books in the series. Won't be buying the next one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars good book, 8 Sept. 2013
Richard Kadrey dose it again. Sandman Slim kicks butt and gets kick, stabed and shot. Trying to do the right thing. Absolutely fantastic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Good but not great, 14 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Might just be me but this felt a little like contractual filler. Maybe after five books about Sandman Slim the well is beginning to run a touch dry or just becoming too familiar. After all he's been to Hell and back (several times) in the series. How do you top that? Still worth reading though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Classic and inventive, 4 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I loved this one. I was getting a bit worried about repetition but this takes the Angr Om Ya story on and has some wonderful scenes. My favourites are the steps in Kill City though the Sub Rosa torturer comes a close second.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 23 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Outstanding pulp grindhouse nihilistic greatness. Buy it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Kill City Blues (Sandman Slim 5)
Kill City Blues (Sandman Slim 5) by Richard Kadrey (Hardcover - 1 Aug. 2013)
£12.99
Not in stock; order now and we'll deliver when available
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews