Customer Reviews


31 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (10)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Repeats, repeats, repeats
I have now read all four books in the Star Carrier series, this one being the 4th. Great read, good characterisation and written with good pace.

Only 4 stars though. Why? Well, I suspect that if you take out all the repeat narrative that the four books would condense to three. Ian Douglas seems to think that his readers have a memory retention span of of just...
Published 19 months ago by Abedo

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Just a short story
This is a short story, padded out with background material and a dreadful amount of repetition. By the time I had read through the padding I had lost my immersion.

Though set in the far future, it's loaded with today's stereotypes, anti just about everyone outside the USA, and topped off with a dash of US patriotism for good measure. It really should have had a...
Published 15 months ago by Amazon Customer


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Worth waiting for, 8 May 2013
By 
Mr. M. Regan "THE man in black" (Cumbria) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I had read the first three books in this series and thought that it was finished although open for more. So book 4 came as a pleasant suprise and I would classify it as the start of a new related series as opposed to a 4th (its 19 years or so in the future). Ian Douglas has again managed to blend warfare and political infighting into a page turning enjoyable read, we have new characters to get to know and some old favourites that have moved up the chain of commmand. THis is a great read and I am only sorry that I finished it in a couple of days, now the long wait for the next one. If you have read the rest then you have to get this one, if you haven't then buy all four and enjoy a good dose of sci-fi space opera.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Too many rehashes and conceptual descriptions detract from the story, 19 Nov 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I started off enjoying this series, but with each new book, there were too many rehashes and descriptive texts of concepts etc, defeating the continuity of the story
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Could be even better, 28 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Too much repetition
If you haven't read the previous novels too bad.
Don't bore me with the same details.
Otherwise could have been great!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars More of the same but some new twists too, 27 May 2013
By 
Dr. James OCallaghan (Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The last three of these were good action, nice pacing and interesting ideas. This carries on in that direction; in fact there's a bit more action but character development is somewhat reduced as a result. The larger story arc is pushed forward but not as much as I'd like. If I was going to give one criticism, it does feel like some of the plot is being a bit recycled. Although it could be viewed as a natural progression but the new character introduced seems like a bit of a clone of a previous one (sorry for being cryptic I'm trying not to give any of the story away)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 3 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
another action pack book in the series
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Continued, and to be continued, 20 May 2013
By 
Teemacs (Switzerland) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
How long will Mr. Douglas keep this series going? Until humanity reaches the God-like singularity state? Clearly there's more to come.

This continues the tale of the previous three "Star Carrier" books, with both of the main characters of the previous books elevated to higher positions, and now again with a threat from the races defeated (not terribly convincingly) in the third book. Again, good ol' humanity manages to come up with ideas that beat the technologically much superior aliens, even as the uneasy Confederation governing Earth (or most of it) falls apart.

One thing Mr. Douglas does do well is come up with interesting aliens, with very different physiologies and ways of thinking and envisaging things. This time, the confrontation between earthlings and aliens is more convincingly handled.

In general, hardly great literature, but a fun read, and I look forward to further instalments.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The story unfolds further ..., 22 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Well, by now, you're a bit of an Ian Douglas enthusiast, and it's fair to say he's continued the work magnificently. All the old friends are there and we see whiffs and hints of more interest in the characters. It's a fine read, I'm glad to recommend it and I'll certainly be keeping an eye open for anything new from Ian. This story is great either under a dull lamp in a bitter winter at 1am, or in the blazing sunshine next to a beach. (Yes, out of scientific investigation both were tried). It's a good read whatever your circumstances. I truly recommend this and all of Mr Douglas' work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic future adventure in space. Wish I could be there!, 18 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great book, but takes a bit of getting into. You need to read the series in order to really make sense of it. Having said that it is a gripping read that is difficult at times to put down. I am thoroughly enjoying the series, and find myself looking for the next book as I come towards the end of the book I am reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 24 Nov 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Deep Space (Star Carrier, Book 4) (Paperback)
Excellent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Star Carrier series., 8 May 2013
By 
N. F. Tate "Norshi" (West Sussex. UK.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
As with the previous books in the whole of this series, this one is just as good. Easy to pick up from the previous books and runs on in true Ian Douglas fashion.
Thank you Ian, for a good book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Deep Space (Star Carrier, Book 4)
Deep Space (Star Carrier, Book 4) by Ian Douglas (Paperback - 1 Aug 2013)
£8.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews