Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars great writing in poor quality paperback
Thought id buy this for myself as i have read a fair ammount of Rackhams work, so was going to treat myself after finishing a tricky bit of work. I ,of course, was engaged by the writing but the quality of the printing and any photo / diagram reproduction is budget at best and shocking at worst. I know people who buy this will not just be looking at the pictures and there...
Published on 13 Feb. 2013 by Ratney105

versus
5 of 8 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Poor Copy
I had the good fortune of reading an earlier edition. This edition has a cardboard cover, very cheap, and in no way hardback. All the photos are at the back of the book, making the rest of the book very text dense. Poor quality paper and absurdly poor photos. I would have returned item if i had not returned from a trip after 30 day period.
Published on 20 Sept. 2012 by Nicholas Boyd Crutchley


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars great writing in poor quality paperback, 13 Feb. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Woodlands (Paperback)
Thought id buy this for myself as i have read a fair ammount of Rackhams work, so was going to treat myself after finishing a tricky bit of work. I ,of course, was engaged by the writing but the quality of the printing and any photo / diagram reproduction is budget at best and shocking at worst. I know people who buy this will not just be looking at the pictures and there are arguements that its for a specialist not generalist but still, come on. I have many specialist books that are beautifully finished and presented.
But its still worth it to read his narrative on the landscape , on a budget
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful, but beware., 24 Sept. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Woodlands (Paperback)
This is a wonderful book in all respects. Informative and the prose style is a joy to read. If you have read Rackhams History of the Countryside (if not, you should) then you will know what to expect. My only niggle is that the book is listed as hardcover on Amazon, but was actually delivered as paperback. Mustn't grumble at this price though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very informative, very well written!, 28 Mar. 2013
This review is from: Woodlands (Paperback)
Its seems unfair for this book to be given an average of three stars, mainly due to its physical condition. Yes, ok, the photos are all black and white and not on gloss plates, but its not a major issue. Another reviewer mentioned large blocks of text, yes, it looks it at first glance, but its actually flows very well and doesn't daunt you while you read it. I think its straddling the ground between academic type books on similar subjects which are generally within the £60-£100 bracket and the lighter glossy cover natural history books, and what you think of the book probably depends on what you wanted from the book originally.

I dont care that the pictures are grainy or the spine is soft, its very well written, you learn very much from the book as you read it, and importantly, it makes you think. It takes an in-depth but extensive look at woodlands and woodland history in the UK and abroad, and although its over 500 pages long, it certainly is not boring or slow to read.

It certainly helps if you know a bit about trees prior to reading the book, not academically, but in a practical way, i.e., you know what all the common trees look like and a little bit about where they grow, but you dont have to have a degree to read it.

Just enjoy it and let yourself learn from it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rackham, a name to know, 28 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Woodlands (Paperback)
Whilst studying woodlands for my university course, this book was recommended by a very highly respected lecturer and he was right to do so. Very indepth and thick book about our woodlands, lots of information to include in our coursework, an important reference to know. Couldn't be a better authority on woodlands and a great addition to my bookshelf.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Established title, 29 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Woodlands (Paperback)
Not my field of interest but bought as a gift. The receipient of this book found it informative, knowledgeable and useful for his studies and was quite satisfied with its contents.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another excellent book by our leading historian of the British countryside, 11 Dec. 2014
By 
D. LAMBERT (Kent, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Woodlands (Paperback)
Another excellent book by our leading historian of the British countryside. Its fairly modest price reflects the rather low standard of production.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Relevant to my course, 10 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Woodlands (Paperback)
A good insight into woodlands well worth reading with plenty of information of how we should be looking after them
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 23 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Woodlands (Paperback)
Excellent informative book - quality of image reproduction does let it down a little but not a major problem.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Get your teeth into trees, 25 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Woodlands (Paperback)
Previously had from library and decided that this is a `must have` book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 8 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Poor Copy, 20 Sept. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Woodlands (Paperback)
I had the good fortune of reading an earlier edition. This edition has a cardboard cover, very cheap, and in no way hardback. All the photos are at the back of the book, making the rest of the book very text dense. Poor quality paper and absurdly poor photos. I would have returned item if i had not returned from a trip after 30 day period.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Woodlands
Woodlands by Oliver Rackham (Paperback - 16 Aug. 2012)
£13.48
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews