Customer Reviews


24 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Never thought I'd be so captivated by paper...
Extraordinarily interesting read. My second and favourite Ian Sansom book. References to Paper Mario surprised and delighted me. It almost makes me bad that I'm typing this review online, though...
Great book. Great writer. Extremely entertaining man. Do yourself a favour and procure some papery knowledge! Mammocks.
Published 20 months ago by Brian Wilson

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars A book that is perfectly designed for Kindle.
This is a nicely written and well researched book. There is plenty of unusual and quite interesting detail but I can't say that any of it was so good that it made a lasting impression. It is printed on lovely paper, but is it worth the effort?
Published 17 months ago by J. Haslam


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Never thought I'd be so captivated by paper..., 4 Dec 2012
This review is from: Paper: An Elegy (Hardcover)
Extraordinarily interesting read. My second and favourite Ian Sansom book. References to Paper Mario surprised and delighted me. It almost makes me bad that I'm typing this review online, though...
Great book. Great writer. Extremely entertaining man. Do yourself a favour and procure some papery knowledge! Mammocks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Paper: An Elegy, 18 Feb 2013
By 
Damaskcat (UK) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Paper: An Elegy (Hardcover)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This is a totally fascinating exploration of paper and the ways it is woven into the fabric of our lives in ways we may not even realise. It isn't a chronological history of paper though there are plenty of historical asides in the book. Throughout the book the author's love of paper in all its forms shines through and it seems to have been a labour of love to write it. I found it an interesting and well written book and I came across a great many snippets of information of which I was not previously aware.

Books - both printed and hand written are discussed as is paper money, which has been around a lot longer than you might think. Labels and packaging are explored by way of Charles Dickens and his job in a blacking factory and Nick Drake provides the title for the final chapter `Five Leaves Left'. Origami merits a chapter to itself - anyone remember Robert Harbin and his fascinating children's programmes? Paper's use in art is explored not just as the surface to which paint is applied but also to make three dimensional models.

The book is beautifully produced and designed. It has a comprehensive bibliography for those who would like to see the sources of the information contained in the book and there is an index.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lovely man, lovely book., 20 Dec 2012
By 
dianne vinson - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Paper: An Elegy (Hardcover)
Dr. Sansom is intelligent and has obviously done much research about endless
uses for paper. But he is funny too! The perfect book to read to learn something
or to be entertained. A gift for all teachers of English lit or readers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A fascinating book, 20 Mar 2013
By 
This review is from: Paper: An Elegy (Hardcover)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Paper: An Elegy is an interesting book, examining the ways in which our lives have been dominated by paper and the effect of the increasing 'digitalization' of paper. The book discusses paper in a historical context in an easy-to-read and enjoyable style.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars At last, the value of paper in our lives is recognised, 19 Mar 2013
By 
P. Burford (Herts UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Paper: An Elegy (Hardcover)
As the general manager of Frogmore Paper Mill, the world's oldest mechanised paper mill, I'm delighted that Mr Sansom has tackled paper in such an engaging way. Although we all take paper for granted, its actually a very sophisticated product and it is almost impossible to conceive of modern life without it. Super work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Its more interesting than at first glance, 21 Feb 2013
By 
Smatch (South West) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Paper: An Elegy (Hardcover)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
I work in the creative industry so this book appealed to me straight off. Its always a risk with a book such as this though, that it ends up being awful. But it really surprised me how interesting and sometimes insightful it can be. And I think it has come about at a time when the paper industry is falling faster than it ever has, when a large percentage of media today is digital. This book is a nice reminder to a newer generation of how revolutionary paper was.

First of all the cover is quite nice with its embossed text, its somewhat dated but who cares, it fits! The stock the book is printed on though is standard recycled paper so don't expect any antique laid, even though its a book celebrating paper!

As for the content, forget the vague diagrams and focus on the approachable way Sansom writes what could, in other hands come across laboured and boring. Its a nice book to have lying around, and I've noticed people who see it pick it up, so the simple title and cover works. Its not a revolutionary book by any means but worth a read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Full of wonderful anecdotes and useless information that I find myself dropping ..., 5 Aug 2014
By 
Mr. P. Skeldon (sohar, oman) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Paper: An Elegy (Kindle Edition)
A misleading title as 'elegy' is a song of praise for the dead, and paper is far from dead. The forecasts of the paperless office never came true, and never will. Full of wonderful anecdotes and useless information that I find myself dropping into conversations, such as the tons of leaflets dropped on Vietnam, the tons of toilet paper consumed by the Chinese, Anyone who enjoys reading and writing will love this book, and it is a must for stationery fetishists like me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic book and a perfect gift, 10 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Paper: An Elegy (Hardcover)
This is exactly the sort of book I like. I'd recommend it strongly as an excellent gift for anyone that likes their books made out of paper rather than electrons.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Reflection on a time ending, 16 May 2013
By 
Martin Turner "Martin Turner" (Marlcliff, Warwickshire, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Paper: An Elegy (Hardcover)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Paper is still a massively consumed item, but, as Sansom points out, it is increasingly giving way to electronic media. In this reflection on the history and use of paper, Sansom wanders down memory lane with many insights and often overlooked fact lets.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars An informative, eccentric and hugely entertaining celebration of paper, 21 Mar 2013
This review is from: Paper: An Elegy (Hardcover)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
I rather thought this book was going to be one of those slightly worthy plodding accounts of the history of paper since ancient times. Not a bit of it: it's a gushily enthusiastic and very learned eulogy for all things paper. Not just the books but their covers and wrappings and going into areas like Japanese paper clothes and the further reaches of paper technology.

It is happily eccentric, choosing its focus on myriad different areas. But within each of those areas it is admirably learned with wonderful references to any number of disparate other writings - a real tour de force. Occasionally the author forgets his subject is paper and spends his time instead on the object the paper was used for - but who's to quibble over the odd rivulet from a maniac in full flood.

All of these are very minor gripes, it is, in all a tremendous, eccentric, learned miscellany of all things paper and the author deserves congratulation for the way such a mass of material is brought together and on the whole so successfully
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Paper: An Elegy
Paper: An Elegy by Ian Sansom (Hardcover - 25 Oct 2012)
10.49
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews