Customer Reviews


247 Reviews
5 star:
 (176)
4 star:
 (53)
3 star:
 (13)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Djinn and It
This enjoyable fantasy novel, set in New York City at the end of the Nineteenth Century centres on the immigrant communities settling in to the New World, and especially on two very unusual migrants who have more difficulties than most in fitting in to the American life.

The set up, a Golem (settled in the Jewish community, of course) and a Genie (not living...
Published 23 months ago by Rotgut

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars It had such a slow wind up to the story that it felt pretty much like nothing happened for the first 75% of ...
Im not sure what to say about this book apart from I really struggled to read it. It had such a slow wind up to the story that it felt pretty much like nothing happened for the first 75% of the book and then everything happened at once.
The characters were interesting, I loved the struggle that Chava had with herself not to try and help everyone all the time and...
Published 21 days ago by Lel


‹ Previous | 112 13 1425 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars The story reverts back to how things happened to the two main characters suddenly when you least expect it but a good read when, 1 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A touch confusing at times. The story reverts back to how things happened to the two main characters suddenly when you least expect it
but a good read when you get used to it. Certainly different, a lovely story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Atmospheric, 15 April 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Still reading, but loving it. The atmosphere is amazing. I was drawn into the intriguing and unique story from page one. It was recommended to me and I will recommend it to everyone. Fantastic writer. Thank you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars nice book, 26 Oct. 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
What I liked most about this book that it was not straight conventional story where is easy to predict future events. In this book you will be surprised and typical good always win over evil not always come true
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Absolute stunner, the characters are sensitively written and sympathetic ..., 11 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Absolute stunner, the characters are sensitively written and sympathetic, the sense of time and place is extraordinarily vivid. Stumbled on this by accident in the recommendations list and am loving every page
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Aaannnd..... breathe!!!, 21 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
What an unusual book, yet I loved it! Couldn't wait to get to the end but so sad that it's finished. Will Ahmed return safely to Chava? Is there any kind of future for them? Will the djinn keep the flask safe?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Magical tale set in end-of-the-19th Century New York..., 27 Jun. 2013
By 
Stuart Moses (Epsom, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: The Golem and the Djinni (Hardcover)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
I loved this book. The idea of bringing a Golem and a Djinni to New York in 1899 is inspired. This book introduces you to a wide range of characters, each has their own intriguing story. I wanted to hear them all. I wanted to know how the titular characters would make their way in the New World. The book skips around in time a little, but is written so clearly you'll never lose your way. The sense of place is strong, I loved the descriptions of the elevated trains and the arch in Washington Square Park. I'd recommend this to anyone who likes to mix the magical with the everyday.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars An absolute triumph, 25 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
inhuman humanity, built of characters forced by circumstance to endure, examine and evolve. Wecker builds portraits not only of people, but of times, places and environments. A worthy, gripping read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A beautiful modern folk story, 13 Nov. 2014
By 
A. Weber (Cheshire, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A gripping story of disparate lives that come together seamlessly towards the end. Full of imagination and beautiful writing with strong imagery. Also rich in cultural references. A gem of a story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A great pleasure to read, 28 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
An absorbing tale, extremely well-written. A rare combination- clever and stimulating, but also narrated at a pace which sweeps the reader along in its enthusiasm. A great pleasure to read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars interesting and page turning read, 26 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This was an interesting story with enough intrigue to pull you along, the dichotomy of eternal life, power and love all superbly intertwined in an imaginative story of the human condition.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 112 13 1425 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Golem and the Djinni
The Golem and the Djinni by Helene Wecker (Hardcover - 15 Aug. 2013)
Used & New from: £1.78
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews