Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not 50 shades
Brilliant! This book is pornographic in places but it does not try to be erotic like the dire fifty shades. Three days in the life of the female character where she reveals her life to her psychotherapist eight years after a horrific accident. Funny , shocking warts and all realism.
Published 13 months ago by darwin

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars three therapy sessions, three days of life, and a set of free associations
Over three days in her life, Elizabeth Kiehl attends three therapy sessions - she has been in therapy for 8 years, following a traumatic accident to close family members on the day set for her wedding - lives three days of her life (the main events are a visit with her husband, to a brothel, a sexual encounter with her husband, and an attack of worms affecting herself,...
Published 13 months ago by William Jordan


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not 50 shades, 30 May 2013
This review is from: Wrecked (Kindle Edition)
Brilliant! This book is pornographic in places but it does not try to be erotic like the dire fifty shades. Three days in the life of the female character where she reveals her life to her psychotherapist eight years after a horrific accident. Funny , shocking warts and all realism.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars three therapy sessions, three days of life, and a set of free associations, 20 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wrecked (Hardcover)
Over three days in her life, Elizabeth Kiehl attends three therapy sessions - she has been in therapy for 8 years, following a traumatic accident to close family members on the day set for her wedding - lives three days of her life (the main events are a visit with her husband, to a brothel, a sexual encounter with her husband, and an attack of worms affecting herself, her daughter, her estranged former boyfriend and possibly her husband). And she free associates about the accident, about her early life (we never quite get to the bottom of her early relationship with her mother), and about the present (she and her husband particularly look after the environment and worry about their relationships - which she self-destructively attacks).

I did not find that this book outstayed its welcome. But equally it's quite hard to pin down what makes it so (comparatively) readable - it is not a page-turner and is not strongly plotted. Turning to the people, Elizabeth and her husband - and everyone they know - has serious problems in life, but are not portrayed in a deeply sympathetic way - probably the key to that is we do not get to understand them through and through. Perhaps this holds the interest simply because it offers is a very unusual take on life, as Elizabeth struggles to understand herself and the world she lives in.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars fantastic, 18 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wrecked (Paperback)
such a funny booked i am really enjoying this read i still prefer wetlands by this author but this is still very good :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Unfinished business, 14 April 2014
This review is from: Wrecked (Paperback)
Some strong points in the book, but left me feeling cheated when it finished, prattling away about brothel experiences and the character's plans to sleep with other men beside her husband but not resolving the main conflict -- the reason for her hatred toward her parents after the accident, when she clearly loved them before. We never get a good explanation for her sudden change of feelings, especially for her mother. The mother gets to survive the accident badly injured, and her daughter just hates her guts, even though she wished for nothing more but her mother staying alive. Have I missed something? Not sure at all what the writer was trying to communicate here. Did she just hate her parents in lieu of herself, so she could live with herself at all? The sex scenes are okay, but their explicit nature makes the book stray into the pornographic genre -- a bit strange given its primary ambition to deal with the pretty serious issue of a deep psychological trauma.

Having gone through trauma twice myself at a young age, I didn't find much of the reaction of the main character very believable... like the need to laugh while leaving one beloved mother's hospital room after she barely survived an accident with horrendous consequences. Seriously? Trying so hard to keep a sad face in front of your burned mother a day after the accident? I could not sympathise with the character and found her quite horibble -- which wouldn't normally be a problem, as there are many fascinating villains in literature, but there was no decent explanation for her horribleness. She was just an inconsistent mess, paranoid, cruel, repenting, hateful, caring, dependent, irrational. Hard to know whether it was a result of the accident or if she had been like this before... bad things can change people but I don't suppose to such an extent. I wonder if the writer was just hoping for shock value instead of a genuine personality study.

Too many unfinished topics here -- besides the main one, her relationship to her best friend (we never get to meet her), her relationship to her stepson (we never learned how she managed to make things work between them after subjecting him to years of abuse), the way she dealt with the disintegration of her relationship with her fiancee. Too many words spent on description of genitalia and too few on the stuff that really mattered. I'd say, a good draft, now go and write the book. Or rather, two books: Wrecked, and Fifty Shades of Purple.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A feminine touch, 29 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wrecked (Kindle Edition)
Starts with a bang. As a male, I was absorbed and could not put it down. Must get my wife to read it, but she probably would not identify with it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Boring, 21 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wrecked (Kindle Edition)
Just absolutely awful!!!!!Very seldom do I buy a book and give up half way through but thisbook is not worth the paper it was written on.Its boring,repetitive,dreary and just the biggest load of nonsense.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Reviewed in magazine, 2 Jun 2013
By 
A. P. Mansfield (Arnside, Cumbria United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wrecked (Kindle Edition)
Read this as it was reviewed in amazing but dull and boring. I would not recommend as a good read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Wrecked
Wrecked by Charlotte Roche (Hardcover - 25 April 2013)
10.50
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews