Customer Reviews


152 Reviews
5 star:
 (80)
4 star:
 (29)
3 star:
 (20)
2 star:
 (9)
1 star:
 (14)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


34 of 35 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gripping and emotional xxx
Serena is the daughter of a famous war photographer, and has chosen the same career path as him. After he dies, Serena wishes to write her fathers story, resulting in her contacting his best friend Harry. But Harry has a request of his own - for Serena to take care of Zachary - her former flame who has just returned from Afghanistan. As Serena and Zachary become closer -...
Published on 5 Mar. 2013 by Megan ReadingInTheSunshine

versus
9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Gentle read
As a teenager I wasn't much of a reader and this continued well into my 20's and early 30's so there are very few books at this time that I bothered to read. What i did stumble upon was Barbara Taylor Bradford's Woman of Substance and I adored it. I was hooked and then in turn enjoyed over the years many of this Authors saga's.

When Secrets from the Past...
Published 22 months ago by Lougrahamii


‹ Previous | 1 216 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

34 of 35 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gripping and emotional xxx, 5 Mar. 2013
By 
Megan ReadingInTheSunshine (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Secrets from the Past (Hardcover)
Serena is the daughter of a famous war photographer, and has chosen the same career path as him. After he dies, Serena wishes to write her fathers story, resulting in her contacting his best friend Harry. But Harry has a request of his own - for Serena to take care of Zachary - her former flame who has just returned from Afghanistan. As Serena and Zachary become closer - they discover a set of unpublished photographs from Venice, and what is in the set will turn Serena's world upside down...

I loved this! Barbara Taylor Bradford has again created a compelling story which is extremely difficult to put down. I was quickly drawn in by the plot line and was fully engrossed in the book, which I finished in two days. I was even staying up late in bed trying to read more chapters because I was desperate to know what was going to happen next.

The characters were wonderfully drawn, Barbara makes every character come to life - they almost jumped out from the pages and whilst reading I felt as though I knew them. Serena in particular was a strong character, and I thoroughly enjoyed my time with her as she set out on her quest to discover the truth. I became very emotionally involved with Serena during the story, and I was willing her on throughout and hoping that she would discover and find out everything that she wanted to know.

The story is very captivating - as I said I couldn't put the book down because I always wanted to know what was going to happen next, and Barbara Taylor Bradford always had me guessing! As well as this, it is a truly emotional book with some very moving scenes in, as the characters uncover secrets and explore love.

Secrets From The Past is a gripping and emotional story that loyal fans will enjoy devouring and new readers will be hooked by! Another fantastic release from Barbara Taylor Bradford.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Gentle read, 13 Jun. 2013
By 
This review is from: Secrets from the Past (Hardcover)
As a teenager I wasn't much of a reader and this continued well into my 20's and early 30's so there are very few books at this time that I bothered to read. What i did stumble upon was Barbara Taylor Bradford's Woman of Substance and I adored it. I was hooked and then in turn enjoyed over the years many of this Authors saga's.

When Secrets from the Past arrived at my door I was rather excited and couldn't wait to start it. Unfortunately, this book just didn't hold my attention. As you would expect from the author, the book is extremely well written and obviously well researched, but i just couldn't warm to the characters and just wasn't bothered if things turned out good or bad. I felt the storyline was a bit bland and obvious.

My recommendation if you have never read a book by this author is to Start with either the Emma Harte Saga's or The Ravenscar Trilogy as they really show how brilliant this Author can be. having said that, i am certain that many will have loved this book, it just wasn't for me this time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars new book, 14 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Secrets from the Past (Hardcover)
enjoyed reading this book although it didnt feel like a barbara taylor bradford novel lacked some of her excitement but pleases none the less
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Hard going, 9 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I was very disappointed by the plot that I felt was going nowhere and found I had to make myself finish it. Disappointed as I have read many of her previous novels.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars FAMILY SECRETS HIDDEN IN VENICE, 3 Mar. 2013
By 
Mrs. C. Swarfield - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Secrets from the Past (Hardcover)
Barbara Taylor Bradford wrote her first novel A Woman Of Substance more than 34 years
ago and has sold more than 32 million copies worldwide.Secrets Of The Past is her 28th
novel and is as fresh and sympathetic with a tightly plotted narrative equal to her
first novel.

This tale keeps you hooked and gripped from the start and you are focused on page after
page to find out what happens next.

Three recently orphaned sisters - daughters of a world famous beautiful actress who is
a cross between Marilyn Monroe and Grace Kelly and a celebrated war photographer have
gathered together with their nearest and dearest at Jardin des Fleurs, their parents
idyllic home in the South of France to remember happier times when they were all together.

Twins Cara and Jessica are working out how they feel about heir fledgling relationships
whilst Serena who is the youngest and a war photographer the same as her dad is in the
process of re-falling in love with her ex Zac.

Zac though is himself extremely traumatised after spending so long on the front line
documenting the horrors from all around the globe.

Serena comes across a photograph of a mysterious woman which was taken by her father
somewhere in Venice, seeming eerily familiar Serena is forced to question everything
she has ever held dear and examine her own identity and begins to question her place
within the family.

This is a compulsive and very emotional read about what binds us to the people we love and I
devoured it gripped from start to finish - and proves once again that Barbara Taylor
Bradford is a wonderful teller of tales.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderfull, 3 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
in true Barbara style. couldn't stop reading. enjoyed it to the very end. can't wait to read Cavendon hall. excellent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Rather Disappointing., 10 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Not one of her best. The characterisations are not so good as her other books, you don't feel for the people and the solutions are too simplistic. There is also quite a lot of repetition in the text. I kept thinking,"I've read this already three pages ago".

Rather disappointing, but I would still give it three stars as it's subject is different and the book has has a modern topic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Good in parts, 31 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
on the whole I didn't enjoy this book. Several times I nearly abandoned reading it and only continued because I always read a book right through. Once or twice it gripped my interest, but sadly not enough. BTB has tried to write a "modern" novel, with up-to-date news and events. Sadly I feel she has not succeeded. Really Definitely not one of her better books. Really can't recommend this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Same basic story just different charater from the rest of her book -, 7 Jun. 2013
By 
E. Guyver - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Secrets from the Past (Hardcover)
It is a very weak story and as so many novels now it is about a wealthy family that can afford anything they want to buy It w she was so obvious that she had a different mother from the beginning of the story - only brought the book for my Mother who likes simple stories now she is in her 90's. I have to read them so I can talk to her about them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars A lightweight read, 19 July 2014
By 
G (BLANDFORD FORUM, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
It was an ok read - nowhere as good as her sagas which I always loved . I couldn't empathise with any of the characters at all and Zak was a waste of space. A very lightweight book, good for if you just want some light reading, say on a beach or recovering from illness but certainly not the usual Barbara Taylor Bradford you would expect
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 216 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Secrets from the Past
Secrets from the Past by Barbara Taylor Bradford (Audio CD - 28 Feb. 2013)
Used & New from: £8.63
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews