Customer Reviews


488 Reviews
5 star:
 (277)
4 star:
 (144)
3 star:
 (47)
2 star:
 (14)
1 star:
 (6)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


99 of 102 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Compelling Story
Tracy Chevalier is one of my favourite authors and she has a way of making history come alive in her novels which have subjects as diverse as Vermeer and fossils. In The Last Runaway she switches her focus to America, in particular 1850s Ohio where the young English Quaker, Honor Bright starts a new life very different to her quiet upbringing in Dorset, England...
Published 22 months ago by Lovely Treez

versus
47 of 49 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not a runaway success
Girl with a Pearl Earring is a hard act to follow and I don't think Tracy Chevalier has ever reached its heights again. I felt the characters came first in that book and the research second. In all her subsequent books, and definitely in this one, it's the other way round. I've read all her novels because I really like the subjects she chooses. I've found them interesting...
Published 17 months ago by Marjorette


‹ Previous | 140 41 4249 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars Interesting, 18 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Last Runaway (Paperback)
Interesting book no highs no lows just jogged along
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best by Chevalier, 26 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Last Runaway (Paperback)
Really enjoyable read! One of the best by Chevalier.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Runaway from this book, 9 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Last Runaway (Kindle Edition)
Pedestrian and predictable. I cannot empathise with any of the rather flat bland characters; I do not care about what is happening to them. Perhaps it might pick up towards the end.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A bit too quilty, 17 Oct. 2013
By 
Moira Mehaffey (Rochester, Kent United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Last Runaway (Kindle Edition)
Reasonably interesting, but strangely unsatisfying. An easy going read but I'm not sure it will linger long in my memory.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars An interesting book, 16 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Last Runaway (Kindle Edition)
It was nice to read about a topic I know little of but it wasn't as gripping as the books I normally pick.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the last runaway, 28 Jun. 2013
By 
S. G. Plested "Sylvie" (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
very good book to read, exciting, you don't want to put it down.
For light reading on holiday or relaxation at home highly recommendable
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars fantastic, 27 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
So many strands to this book, all thought provoking with a peaceful backdrop of Quaker life and quilting which make the savage events all the more prominent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Last runaway, 4 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Last Runaway (Hardcover)
Excellent choice for a book club, or just to emjoy. Could not put it down. Can say no more or I will spoil it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars easy reading, appropriate for a, 14 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Last Runaway (Kindle Edition)
Enjoyable,easy reading, appropriate for a qyilter
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 10 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Last Runaway (Kindle Edition)
As always another good read by Tracy Chevalier.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 140 41 4249 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Last Runaway
The Last Runaway by Tracy Chevalier (Paperback - 3 Jan. 2013)
Used & New from: £0.66
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews