Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


330 of 343 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Song of Ice and Fire
Like most I know, I discovered this series when the HBO television adaption aired on Sky in 2011 and was instantly gripped. Since then I have read all of the books back-to-back and wow... they are AMAZING!

I am NOT a typical fantasy fan... in fact the idea of goblins and wizards going off on some good vs evil quest of grand proportions does NOTHING for me. But...
Published on 21 April 2012 by Dude88

versus
56 of 59 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Book fantastic - This Kindle Edition very disappointing - Poorly collated
Amazon - WHAT HAVE YOU DONE!!!

The individual purchases of ASOIAF have X-Ray enabled - Of all the books ion Kindle this is a series of books that ABSOLUTELY needs X-Ray to keep track of all the very many characters and locations in these books.

But because you purchase 5 books in one order - nope no Xray an incredible disappointment.

Also...
Published 12 months ago by Mike Horton


‹ Previous | 1 2145 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

330 of 343 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Song of Ice and Fire, 21 April 2012
By 
Dude88 (South Wales) - See all my reviews
Like most I know, I discovered this series when the HBO television adaption aired on Sky in 2011 and was instantly gripped. Since then I have read all of the books back-to-back and wow... they are AMAZING!

I am NOT a typical fantasy fan... in fact the idea of goblins and wizards going off on some good vs evil quest of grand proportions does NOTHING for me. But this is no typical fantasy novel. The story spans several view-points from across the fictional lands of Westeros and beyond. It is a story where no characters are safe from harm (or death) at any time. Each of the character-arcs are expertly woven and plot developments continually keep you in the dark whilst simultaneously steadily moving toward what can be some really devastating conclusions.

What I love about these books is that every character serves their own purpose, has their own private agendas and are all capable of good and bad to one extent or another... they do what they must to survive, and through their actions I found myself able to relate to and bond with these fictional people, who I have loved, loathed, pitied and despised. These novels are extremely character-centric which means the reader really does become emotionally involved with its characters, and believe me I did!

As with a lot of other fantasy series' ASOIAF is set during a medival time-frame, a time defined by murder, chivalry, classes and war... a lot of war. However unlike other fantasy series' magic and mythical monsters do not play a major role, but instead is allowed to steadily build and spread from the beginning, with beings such as the mystical Others, skin changers, wights, dragons and more. This gives the series more of a realistic grounding, and is perfectly researched by Martin.

The bottom line is that I found this series truly addictive. It was difficult to put down at times and I really cannot recommend it enough. Give it a go... you will not regret it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


56 of 59 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Book fantastic - This Kindle Edition very disappointing - Poorly collated, 18 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Amazon - WHAT HAVE YOU DONE!!!

The individual purchases of ASOIAF have X-Ray enabled - Of all the books ion Kindle this is a series of books that ABSOLUTELY needs X-Ray to keep track of all the very many characters and locations in these books.

But because you purchase 5 books in one order - nope no Xray an incredible disappointment.

Also the Books all come out as One book with a few thousand pages and NOT as 5 distinct books, or even in Kindle terms 10 Kindle books.

Bizarre and bemusing that they dropped the ball here, this of all books would really benefit from an e-book functionality and Amazon blew it.

Great book, sucky implementation - just plain lazy Amazon - you get a D- here - must do better.

******* BETTER SOLUTION found
Buy all seven Kindle books, yes seven - Book 3 and Book 5 are sold as two Kindle Books each, go figure - ALL 7 can be purchased for £13.58 over HALF price and you get all the books as individual books AND you get XRAY - So for half price you get a much better ebook - go figure Amazon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


238 of 254 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Song of Ice and Fire, 7 Volumes, Spoiler Free!, 29 Aug. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Song of Ice and Fire, 7 Volumes (Paperback)
For all Game of Thrones or Song of Ice and Fire fans this is the set to get. First of all great service from Amazon, it came a day earlier then expected, which was fantastic. The story, itself, is brilliant; there are a tone of great characters that develop superbly in a gigantic, fantasy medieval world called Westeros, ( a very authentic map of Westeros is actually included in this set if you buy it in papaerback and it's easily nice enough to be framed if you're a massive fan) the story lines are very exciting and there is always a good fear for the characters as Martin doesn't mind killing them.

However if you are new to the series I'd recommend you pick up the first in the series, A Game of Thrones, or watch some of the TV show before buying this to see if the series is definitely to your taste. A lot of people complained that there is too much sex, swearing, detail and that their favorite characters were killed off. If you don't like any of that in the your fiction then I wouldn't suggest the series to you. If, however, you love that sort of stuff in your fiction, like me, then I urge you to go read A Game of Thrones right now or try and catch the TV show.

The books themselves are a lot better quality then the previous paperbacks. Before I bought this set I already owned all of the books but they were very used, small fat things with tiny print and the hardback of the fifth title was very, very heavy and after a while a nuisance to hold, if you have kindle those issues are not a problem but a lot of people have been annoyed with the kindle edition so I wouldn't recommend that unless the kindle edition is significantly cheaper. These paperbacks are taller, slimmer and the print is easier on the eye then older editions.

Also the fact that the newest book in the saga, A Dance with Dragons, is split into two parts; Dreams and Dust and After the Feast is an advantage for the majority of Ice and Fire fans that didn't like A Feast for Crows and A Dance with Dragons as much as the first three. The latest two books in the series were not as well liked because Martin put half the characters in the fourth book and the other half in the fifth book and they both carried on directly after the third book in the series. The advantage about the fifth book being split is that you can read book 4 and 5 part 1 together so you won't go to long without half the characters and come Part 2 After the Feast all the characters are back together in the same book again.

Lastly some readers were irritated at the the box, mines okay, but it's just okay, nothing special. Many faults were that some boxes had split and a few customers experienced difficulty putting the books back into the box, honestly I wouldn't worry about it too much because Martin plans to release at least two more books in this series so the box isn't vital. On the whole, though, this set is outstanding, I would definitely recommend this box set to you if you're a fan of the books and/or the TV show unless you can get them cheaper separately and aren't worried about the map. Thank you for reading my review, hope it was helpful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


185 of 206 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Amazing Books - Poor Kindle version, 7 Jun. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
These novels are amazing, I cannot recommend them enough. Well thought out and detailed characters, with compelling story arcs, the pace is not rushed nor overly long. If you like the TV series, these books are much more vivid and detailed.

The only drawbacks are with the kindle version which is expensive and of poor quality.

As well as being expensive (under the agency model used by Amazon to allow publishers to set prices, which is currently under investigation as to being anti competitve) the Kindle version is poorly structured (all books are in a single file and the left/right navigation jumps to the start of each book rather than each chapter) and there are typographical errors.

Often you are left wondering what a word like "ndes" means when in context it should have clearly been "rides". I had hoped this was an isolated instance but have counted at least three in the first third of the second book. (I purchased the five book kindle version after reading the first in paperback)

If we are paying a premium price for a product that costs virtually nothing to distribute, they could at least ensure that the quality was the same as their printed material.

Love the books (so far), love my Kindle, disappointed with this Kindle version.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The ultimate page-turner!, 25 Aug. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Song of Ice and Fire, 7 Volumes (Paperback)
I absolutely adore this series and so far every single book has had me hooked until the end.
The books are exciting and witty, and Mr Martin's tendency to kill off main characters means that you never know who is safe. Each character has his or her own definitive personality which makes it easy to switch between narratives and follow the intricate web of plot lines.
Concerning the plot lines, George R.R. Martin manages to keep track of all of his many characters so well, and the huge spread of narratives all across the Seven Kingdoms and beyond gives the reader an almost eagle-eye view of the events of the novel.
Excellently written and easily read: a must-read series for any fantasy fans.

The actual product - the box set - is also an excellent present, and the Amazon price makes it cheaper than buying each book individually.
As well as that, the books come with a nicely illustrated map of the Seven Kingdoms and Westeros, which was a lovely surprise.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


35 of 41 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantasy at it's finest. Epic landscapes and fantastic characters - this is a stunning body of work., 27 Aug. 2012
By 
L. Hubbard (Cardiff) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Song of Ice and Fire, 7 Volumes (Paperback)
I should start by saying that I purchased these books after seeing the superb show Game of Thrones (named from book one) on TV. This is not normally something I would recommend, because personally think it's better to read the source material first. That said, I was exceptionally glad I took the plunge to buy the books, because it is one of the most thematically rich, rewarding, exhilarating and impossible to put down series in the "fantasy" genre.

I should say that for those of you who are coming to A Song of Ice and Fire having seen the TV show, it makes the show look even more impressive, and yet there is a lot of additional material present in the book that makes it hugely rewarding. The writing style is wonderful. Descriptive but fluid, it has a rawness to it that makes you love and loath characters in equal measure. The style of writing has an adult feel to it, both in the graphic nature of violence and the sexual relationships of the characters. The scale of the book is huge, with most locations set within the vast continent of Westeros, which feels as big if not bigger than Tolkien's Middle Earth.

Criticisms, there aren't many. I found at the outset there are a lot of names and this can make it seem a little bewildering at first. It doesn't take long for that to pass though. The main "criticism", comes in the form of the more sexual side to the books. Within the first 100 pages of the first book Game of Thrones you encounter incest, and the marriage/sexual act of one of the main characters, Daenerys Targaryen, who is 13, with her husband. In the TV show, they have made the characters older to overcome the obvious issues, however this may make some readers uncomfortable. I should note that rarely is this stuff described very graphically or for prolonged periods of prose, and thus only makes up a tiny proportion of the overall story. That said, I, like any sane person am not condoning this, I am just trying to present it as portrayed within the books. A final note, although not strictly a criticism, Martin has not finished the whole body of work yet, so by the end of the seven volumes you will need to wait longer for the conclusion to the story.

Overall, I cannot recommend this highly enough. The quality of the writing is superb, the story is as complex as it is engrossing and George Martin cannot be praised enough for this stunning (but unfinished) body of work. As discussed, there are recurring aspects that some readers may find distasteful. Getting all seven volumes at once is certainly the best value for money, and when you get to the end of one book, you will be glad the next one is there waiting for you. For fans of the TV show, reading the source material from which it is derived will give you added appreciation for what they achieved for the show (albeit some details are different), and an appreciation for the vast and complex web of characters and stunning locations George Martin has constructed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Epic, 27 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I bought the books after seeing and enjoying the TV series (1 - 3) and I think that's probably the best way to do it, because if you like the TV series you'll love the books. They flesh out the story and particularly the background history, while having seen the series I find I see the actors and hear their voices as I read.
If you like Stephen Donaldson, Tolkien, Anne McCaffrey and Frank Herbert, I think you can be fairly guaranteed to enjoy George R.R.Martin.. though he is not nearly as masterful in his words and style as Tolkien, he makes up for it in fantastic storylines and vivid characters, and is much, much, more adult in both plot and personalities. It's actually 7 books in all, and I only got them recently so I'm only on to book 3 just now. Maybe I'll update this when I've read them all...
Even just this far in I'm delighted with them, and feel they're well worth it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding books with an out standing book, 19 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The series starts off excellently, with the first 3 books each getting better! A Feast For Crows and a Dance With Dragons part 1 are geographically separated, focussing on Westeros and Everywhere Else respectively. These two books are average, solid story but sluggish reads ... ADwD part 2 is incredible, the best of the series so far and leaves you gagging for more!! It's a cruel jape that the next book is already delayed, and is likely to be split into 2 volumes again!

The cruelest of all japes, however, is the swelling of the books after reading them. I didn't read the first three from this box set (I borrowed them second hand), so they remain unread and therefore un-swelled! Having read only 4 of them, there's only enough room for only 6 of the books in the cardboard box where once 7 dwelled. ADwD:2 now lives on its own Dragonstone ...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 27 Aug. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Song of Ice and Fire, 7 Volumes (Paperback)
A Song of Ice and Fire, seven volumes of war, murder, intrigue and magic. A time of Kings and heroes, villains and treachery, I can't put it down!

Superbly written, the author transports us to a land which we find easy to inhabit and just when we think we are safe with our heroes, he shows us that no-one is safe here and we must hold our breath with the heroes left to us as they engage the twists and turns of fate.

The characters are beautifully observed and who could fail to admire Tyrion, the dwarf who by misfortune of blood is on the side of the 'baddies'. This conflict of rooting for him, whilst also rooting for those who oppose him is a wonderful turn of events!

This story is superb....the box set is a steal at the price and I have no hesitation in recommending it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Purchase, 26 Aug. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Song of Ice and Fire, 7 Volumes (Paperback)
I watched the TV seasons one and two and got too impatient for season three so i decided to buy and read all the books and i have to say that i prefer the books over the TV series.
The details in the book are great when i read the story i can easily visualize everything.
Im currently reading A Feast For Crow and ive started slowing down the amount of reading i do because i dont want to be done with the books yet.

Also the map that comes along with the books is a nifty little extra and most of all the price is excellent, i live in the Netherlands and i would imagine that if i bought it like this in a store id have to pay 100 to 150 euros for it all.

A must buy for all the Game Of Thrones / A Song of fire and Ice fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2145 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

A Song of Ice and Fire, 7 Volumes
A Song of Ice and Fire, 7 Volumes by George R. R. Martin (Paperback - 12 July 2012)
£32.50
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews