Customer Reviews


111 Reviews
5 star:
 (64)
4 star:
 (32)
3 star:
 (10)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good read, but different from previous novels
I have read previous novels of the author. The Lost Boy is very well written, but somewhat different from previous novels. The tone of the novel can be described as being sombre from the opening pages. Erica's sister Anna is suffering from a huge loss. The bonding between the sister is lovely to admire. The bonding between Patrick and Erica is much stronger due to the the...
Published 11 months ago by Mr. P. Datta

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Review of The Lost Boy
Having read all the others in the series I was disappointed in this one. It was slow to get going and a bit predictable. I wasn't gripped by it as I was with the others.
Published 14 months ago by Debra A Jones


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good read, but different from previous novels, 25 Sep 2013
By 
Mr. P. Datta "Pritthijit" (Stockton on Tees, Teesside) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I have read previous novels of the author. The Lost Boy is very well written, but somewhat different from previous novels. The tone of the novel can be described as being sombre from the opening pages. Erica's sister Anna is suffering from a huge loss. The bonding between the sister is lovely to admire. The bonding between Patrick and Erica is much stronger due to the the tragic events. I would recommend to read previous novels of the author. It would help to familiarise with the characters. The novels are linked. Mixing domestic and chilling events is what makes the author unique. I rarely see this feature in crime fiction novels I have read of various authors. This adds depth to the novel. Duty calls for Patrik, as a financial director Mats has been found murdered. How does he cope in the workplace? Mats was a mysterious character. I do not want to provide details about the background of the character, as it would act as a major spoiler. The author know how to keep readers enthralled for long periods. She is a talented writer. I thoroughly enjoyed the novel despite differences from previous novels.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Review of The Lost Boy, 2 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Having read all the others in the series I was disappointed in this one. It was slow to get going and a bit predictable. I wasn't gripped by it as I was with the others.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars WAITED SO LONG FOR THIS BOOK, 17 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I pre-ordered this book in September as I absolutely love this series (which for full enjoyment must be read from the beginning as Patrik and Erica's life builds) and was very worried that Camilla Lackberg had decided to end it. The book came on 14 March and I couldn't wait to devour it. However, it's a strange one. For the lovers of supernatural you will love it. The Ghost Isle comes into the book frequently with a tale of the past and then coming back to the present. I found this book quite hauntingly sad. However, saying that the usual characters are present and the way in which Camilla Lackberg writes you can easily imagine what these people would be like e.g. some bumbling fools and others brilliantly strong characters. I love the constant references to Ernst the dog. Do read the book but as I mentioned earlier read in order to fully enjoy. Camilla Lackberg is a brilliant writer and brilliant storyteller and I would thoroughly recommend all of her books. You won't be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not as good as her previous books, 14 April 2014
By 
TSOCHATZIS EMMANOUIL (MITILINI, LESVOS Greece) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book started very promisingly but did not deliver in the end. Not as good as her previous books. The final solution was unsatisfying.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not one of the author's better efforts, 28 Feb 2014
By 
Dr R (Norwich, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
On the positive side, Camilla Lackberg’s latest Patrik Hedström/Erica Falck novel, the 7th to be translated into English, here by Tiina Nunnally, begins with ‘It was only when she placed her hands on the steering wheel that she saw they were bloody’. 500 Pages later we find out why.

The police investigation is set in and around the Swedish resort of Fjällbacka, but the author includes the harrowing family story of Erica, her sister, Anna, and their families that picks up from the end of the last novel, ‘The Drowning’. For this reason, whilst these detective stories can be read as ‘stand-alones’, to benefit fully from the series it would be better to read them in order. Despite my less-than-enthusiastic comments on this book, the author has a prodigious talent for writing engrossing reads.

In ‘The Lost Boy’ we also have stories about the public and private funding of the soon-to-be-reopened local Badhotel spa, and the relationships between those behind the scheme, a number of crime stories involving motorcycle gangs, drug-dealing and violence against women, and – least successful in my opinion– a historical narrative about late 19th-century life on the island of Gråskär, Ghost Isle, and its lighthouse.

Whilst Lackberg is usually very good at integrating such diverse stories, here she appears to have rather lost her touch – in part because of the number of characters that are involved but also because the stories are given roughly equal weight. By setting the historical story on an island, Lackberg limits its numbers but at the expense of a great deal of repetition of ghostly noises and interpersonal unpleasantness, and tip-toeing around the central ‘mystery’. It does not help that the relationship between the lighthouse keepers, Karl and Julian, and the former’s young wife, Emelie, is two-dimensional, leading to a final revelation that is hardly revelatory.

When an author becomes as successful as Lackberg, ’10 million books sold’, it presumably becomes more difficult for editors to suggest excisions and propose changes. I have read that Lackberg is also much involved with other business ventures and this may have contributed to a lack of attention to literary detail that is so evident here.

The police team, ‘led’ by Bertil Mellberg but with Patrik very much the prime mover seemed to be sleepwalking through a procedural routine that was much less interesting than the family relationships of its team members. Even though the family story around Patrik and Erica, Anna and her husband, Dan, is gut-wrenching, it is confused by the family members that we have to deal with – Dan’s daughters, Belinda and Malin, Patrik’s mother, Kristina, babysitting for Lisen, Adrian, Emma and Maja, and Erica’s new twins, Anton and Noel. Too much, too much!

On the other hand, there was thought-provoking information about a Woman’s Refuge, its relationship with the police and social authorities, and the arguments for and against its use of male employees or volunteers.

I would certainly suggest that new readers read the author’s earlier books and can only hope that the next book in the series will reveal Lackberg fully focused on her writing and back to her best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Story not quite to my liking., 27 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Lost Boy (Patrick Hedstrom and Erica Falck, Book 7) (Hardcover)
As I am a literature graduate and a postgraduate linguist I suppose I am rather critical when it comes to rating novels. This story describes too many personalities who do not necessarily play important parts in the book in my opinion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Felt a little tired, 6 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have read all the Camilla Lackberg Patrick Hedstrom novels and found this one a little tedious; after all her sister possibly the unluckiest person in the world and they really bang on about kids. Its almost as if the mystery element is incidental. Derivative plot too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Love the recurring cast and the mix of crime and ..., 24 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I discovered Camilla Lackberg books through our local Crime book club. I read her 1st book The Ice Princess and was hooked. Love the recurring cast and the mix of crime and domesticity. No difficult Scandanavian names to get to grips with. Great storylines, wonderful characters. After the first book I just had to read the series and The Lost Boy is last so far, wonderful. Can't wait for the next one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing....., 18 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A disappointment compared to the captivating works by Ms. Läckberg earlier in the series.

I felt that the writing was getting a bit lazy, certain things were not explained properly and the twist of the plot was not as surprising and exciting as in her earlier works.
Why was the one and only friend of Mats Sverin never contacted by Hedström and his team? In fact, it was not even mentioned that it occurred to the characters' minds. Considering that they were trying to investigate the intensely private victim, you would think they would grab the chance at establishing contact with this friend, especially since he was known through another contact which featured during the investigation.

Another point was, there was no explanation about the ending of the historical sub-story, especially in relation to the elderly lady.
The storyline, and thus the conclusion of the ''family'', during this historical thread was also pretty obvious.

I thought it was a pointless thread to bring in the two investors of the Project Badis. They did nothing whatsoever and didn't even serve to act as a twist in the plot - they were just pointless.

All-in-all, a disappointing publication after waiting almost a year for this next installment....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not as amazing as previous titles by this author, 17 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a great book, but perhaps not quite as amazing as the last few titles in the series. The story is good and Lackberg's style is beautiful as ever and if you've read the previous books, you will want to read this one too. It's not as intense as some of her other books but still very good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Lost Boy (Patrick Hedstrom and Erica Falck, Book 7)
The Lost Boy (Patrick Hedstrom and Erica Falck, Book 7) by Camilla Lackberg (Hardcover - 14 Mar 2013)
£8.71
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews