Customer Reviews


299 Reviews
5 star:
 (164)
4 star:
 (79)
3 star:
 (34)
2 star:
 (11)
1 star:
 (11)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great read - I'm there in their holiday home
Excellent book, Fern has a way of putting you in the story - would recommend it to anyone who wants a good holiday read
Published 14 months ago by Rachel Ashby

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars good holiday read
Good book easy to read and I was surprised how I enjoyed it. A beginning a middle and an end will read more of her as it lighthearted
Published 11 months ago by Lynne B


‹ Previous | 1 230 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great read - I'm there in their holiday home, 6 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Holiday Home (Hardcover)
Excellent book, Fern has a way of putting you in the story - would recommend it to anyone who wants a good holiday read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


31 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A brilliant book - The PERFECT read for the summer xxx, 9 May 2013
By 
Megan ReadingInTheSunshine (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Holiday Home (Hardcover)
I had read Fern Britton's previous novels before and very much liked them, and so I was looking forward to the release of her latest book, The Holiday Home.

The Carew sisters, Pru and Constance are very different from each other. Prudence is a businesswoman who is used to always getting what she wants, and is married to the mild kind-hearted Francis, who is used to being walked over and attending to Prudence's needs. Constance however, is a loving wife to her husband Greg, unaware of his philandering ways. Every year they all holiday at Atlantic house, and as tensions and resentments reach boiling point, this is going to be a summer holiday that will change things...

I really enjoyed this! One thing that I love most about Fern Britton's novels is how easy they are to get into. From the first page I was instantly drawn in and I spent a wonderful afternoon reading...I was so lost in the story that before I knew it a whole afternoon had gone by and I had nearly finished!

I don't want to say too much about it because I don't want to spoil it but this really is a book that will have you turning the pages wanting to find out the next part. I had no trouble getting into the story, and I had absolutely no idea what would happen next. There were a few surprises along the way so I was keenly turning every page wanting to find out where the story would take me. The ending in particular was brilliant and I am so pleased I read this book, I really hope everyone else gives it a try, because I'm sure any readers will thoroughly enjoy it as I have.

The characters were very real, and lifelike which helped the story spring to life and jump from the pages. The characters themselves were very straightforward in the sense that it easy to understand their identities and personalities, and so for me, I knew instantly who I liked, and who I didn't warm to as much. Even though I didn't like some characters, their actions and personalities had me engrossed throughout.

I really enjoyed the setting of Cornwall, it was one of my favourite elements of the book. The setting was captured perfectly, and was the perfect setting for such a realistic story. The Holiday Home is a very well-written and enjoyable book, full of bold characters and a brilliant plot line. The Holiday Home would be a wonderful accompaniment to a summer holiday, for a beach read or even just for relaxing with at home. I would highly recommend this, and I truly hope Fern Britton writes more novels.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyed this book, 15 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Holiday Home (Hardcover)
I have just recently started reading Fern Britton's books and i throughly enjoy them, this one brought all of the familys' skeletons out of there closets.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Sibling Rivalry on holiday, 21 Sep 2013
By 
Jo D'Arcy (Portsmouth, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Holiday Home (Kindle Edition)
Two sisters are together for their holiday in a house that they have grown up in and been used to, their parents bought it years previously despite its history. They have many memories from the place. there. But the memories are different for both of them.

Pru the more dynamic and driven one as is reflected in her choice of career and rather brow beaten husband. Constance is much more easy going and laid back, loving her life and her husband and daughter. But sibling rivalry was strong when they were young has it changed now that they are adults?

With their husbands and children in tow, you would think that perhaps time has mellowed them. But the childish and petty niggles are still an undercurrent in their relationship. Into that mix are added, teenage friendships and loves which seem to be affecting all members of the family. Then there is the past. It has a terrible habit of washing up on your doorstep when you are least expecting it. And this holiday home set so near the sea in Cornwall it is going to have a dramatic affect. It is not just the changing scenery and weather that makes this a stormy book, the characters are right in the mix of everything.

Jealousy, lost loves, breaking away from your parents, hiding secrets, parties, death and births. This book has it all. I was hooked and whilst I expected some of the outcomes, many were a surprise. I was drawn into disliking Pru and wanting to give her a good slap along with her husband. In contrast the sister's mother and father seemed to be complete opposites and fuelled the warring relationship between the sisters and did nothing to sort it out. That did not seem right to me. Tragedy brought them all together, but I still think that no matter what happened once I had finished the last page of the book they would continue to goad each other and never be truly happy. It made me a bit sad.

When a 'celeb' writes novels, normally after they have written their 'story' it is with some scepticism that readers and reviewers alike embrace them. I have read Fern's first novel and was suitable impressed although she had clearly drawn on her own experiences in the media for it. This book was completely different, you can see she has had to work hard at it, to get it to be a page turner. It would make a great holiday read but it should not be criticised for that, we all need a bit of down time even when reading and this book would be ideal.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fun read, characters I could relate to., 8 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Holiday Home (Kindle Edition)
Fern's novels have a lightness of touch, yet a feel for interesting characterisation, which I enjoy immensely. In this book, the relationship between the sisters felt true and the observations about the interrelationships between the generations heartfelt.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fern's best book yet xXx, 9 May 2013
By 
realovesbooks (South east London) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Holiday Home (Hardcover)
I have been hot and miss with Fern Britton's books I didn't really like her first one and in fact I didn't manage to finish it. I read her second book Hidden Treasures last year and I thoroughly enjoyed it so I was looking forward to trying her third release The Holiday Home to see if it was going to win me over again.

It's holiday time and time for sisters Connie and Pru and their families to head to Atlantic House, their family home in Cornwall. The two sisters are like chalk and cheese and have always been at heads with one and other and this seems to be something they can't grow out of! Can the ladies put the past aside and enjoy the family holiday or will it be a battle all over again?

This book is all about family relationships, rivalry, infidelity and History repeating itself. The rivalry between the two sisters was quite typical for young siblings and when it continued into their adult lives it was pure entertainment. Some things that the girls argue about I can remember having the same argument growing up with my sister so it was great to be able to relate to the characters and the situations.

The setting that Fern Britton creates was fantastic it was easy to visualise the surroundings and Atlantic House, it is quite clear from the authors writing that she has spent a lot of time in Cornwall and is obviously a place close to her heart.

There is a wonderful collection of characters in this book most of whom I warmed to, it was great to have the three generations Abi and Jem brought a young and exciting fresh feel, the parents brought a witty and yet troubled part to the book and of course Grandparents Dorothy and Henry brought a traditional and warm feel but even they had something to hide!

I absolutely loved the character Francis he had such an innocent and delicate nature and I looked forward to his appearance in each chapter. Even the characters who were the villains I still loved as their parts were written well.

There were some unexpected twists and turns in this book which made it a compelling read. My only slight criticism ( and I really am having to hunt for one!) was how the part towards the end involving Greg was only briefly touched upon when it was quite an extreme part, I cant say more than that otherwise I will ruin things for you!

Fern Britton has well and truly won me around. I have never been a fan of celebrity authors but Fern Has changed my opinion and she definitely deserves credit for this wonderfully written and entertaining read. I will be in line awaiting her next release.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Holiday home, 3 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Holiday Home (Kindle Edition)
I enjoyed the holiday home and read it within a couple of days enjoyable light weight story set in cornwall, I have to say its not the most intellectual book I've ever read and the writing did leave a little to be desired, but hey, it was a quick read, ideal "round the pool"fodder.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars holiday read, 14 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Holiday Home (Kindle Edition)
A twisting turning family tale and we all know families love em or not! Easy to pick up and put down a perfect summer read. The question is . . is there a real Atlantic House - I am going to enjoy searching the Cornish coast to find out!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars review, 12 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Holiday Home (Kindle Edition)
great easy reading. great story about family life in cornwall. read book in two days while sunbathing on my holidays
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brill holiday read, 12 July 2013
By 
Patricia Farrow (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Holiday Home (Kindle Edition)
Well done Fern really enjoyed reading my first Fern Britton book and it certainly wont be my last Holiday must
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 230 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Holiday Home
The Holiday Home by Fern Britton (Paperback - 13 Mar 2014)
3.50
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews