Customer Reviews


30 Reviews
5 star:
 (22)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Well worth getting (and keeping)
Let's be clear - this is a visual companion volume for the film of "The Hobbit" (or at least for part 1 of the new Jackson trilogy). This is worth emphasising, lest there be complaints that it's somehow not being true to the book. Yes, there's material in it that owes more to the Jackson/Walsh/Boyens team than to Tolkien but it's valid in terms of the film. I consider...
Published 19 months ago by Iain S. Palin

versus
0 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Over priced book
The Hobbit: An Unexpected Journey was over priced for a forty eight page book - a complete waste of my pocket Money
Published 18 months ago by By Taylor Cowe


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Well worth getting (and keeping), 10 Dec 2012
By 
Iain S. Palin (Northern Ireland) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Visual Companion (The Hobbit: An Unexpected Journey) (Hardcover)
Let's be clear - this is a visual companion volume for the film of "The Hobbit" (or at least for part 1 of the new Jackson trilogy). This is worth emphasising, lest there be complaints that it's somehow not being true to the book. Yes, there's material in it that owes more to the Jackson/Walsh/Boyens team than to Tolkien but it's valid in terms of the film. I consider myself a pretty strong Tolkien fan but I also recognise that books and films are different media and what's right for the former doesn't always translate well to the latter without some change.

OK that's out of the way. Is the book worth getting? Yes, and especially at the discounted price. The photographs are excellent, the writing good, the information helpful and appropriate. With the companion volumes that will doubtless come out for the other films in the sequence it will make a set that's well worth keeping. And if it encourages people to read the book as well as see the film, so much the better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Hobbit visual guide., 7 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Visual Companion (The Hobbit: An Unexpected Journey) (Hardcover)
Granted I haven't yet watched this movie, but as a big fan of tLotR (book and movies) and the Hobbit book, I know that I will enjoy it. And thanks to this companion book I love Peter Jackson's movie already. The images in the book are clear and large. The writing is easy to follow and there is enough of it that you don't feel you've just bought a picture book (though it is a visual companion).
The book is great quality and the pages are strong.
It completes my tLotR collection of visual companions perfectly.
I recommend it to all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars For hobbits, dwarves, elves and men of the west..., 24 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Visual Companion (The Hobbit: An Unexpected Journey) (Hardcover)
The pictures and photos are simply amazing! There's so much detail in this book! This is perfect for any fan of The Hobbit or LOTR or just Tolkien in general.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars fantastic, 28 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Visual Companion (The Hobbit: An Unexpected Journey) (Hardcover)
Starts with a brilliant forward by Martin Freeman, pictures are brilliant and text very informative, a great addition to my hobbit/lord of the rings book collection
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I like the product. The requirement was right!I I would recommend everyone who want to buy this. It will not disappoint, excelle, 9 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Visual Companion (The Hobbit: An Unexpected Journey) (Hardcover)
I like the product. The requirement was right!I I would recommend everyone who want to buy this. It will not disappoint, excellent!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great companion to the film, 1 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Visual Companion (The Hobbit: An Unexpected Journey) (Hardcover)
This book gives you a good insight to the story and the making of the film. Great quality printed book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Expected, 28 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Visual Companion (The Hobbit: An Unexpected Journey) (Hardcover)
Just what I expected. I have the Lord of the Rings ones and this is more of the same, nothing wrong with it, don't get me wrong!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Love this book, 15 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Visual Companion (The Hobbit: An Unexpected Journey) (Hardcover)
I absolutely love this book! It describes the relations between the dwarfs I wasn't aware of after reading The Hobbit. It gives you a lot new information about the characters in the movie, also about the creatutres which appear in it. Highly recommended for every Hobbit fan!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars love the film and this book., 9 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Visual Companion (The Hobbit: An Unexpected Journey) (Hardcover)
the quality is second to none and the value for money is fantastic!.......super book of great quality photos of the film in the making..I would recommend this to anyone!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I love it, 27 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Visual Companion (The Hobbit: An Unexpected Journey) (Hardcover)
I am a hard core Tolkein fan and this was a good addition to my Hobbit collection, along with the Official Movie Guide.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Visual Companion (The Hobbit: An Unexpected Journey)
Visual Companion (The Hobbit: An Unexpected Journey) by Jude Fisher (Hardcover - 8 Nov 2012)
6.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews