Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Go. Granny go
This is a great story with great characters and a lovely text. The characters ar funny and loveable and the children iWork with love their exploits. The children were cheering on the grannies and booing at the baddies. It is a feel good story with a message that crime does not pay.
Published 15 months ago by Owl

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Grannies empowered but young people s*** upon
From the 'look inside' I was excited and delighted by this empowering story and was looking forward to sharing with my 2yo. Sadly after demonstrating that older women are active and enjoy a range of dynamic activities the story meanders into the worst kind of class & youth discrimination, with 'hoodies' being used synonymously for criminals, foiled by the frankly frumpily...
Published 4 months ago by Not the droids you're looking for


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Go. Granny go, 31 Mar. 2014
By 
Owl "Ollie" (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Great Granny Gang (Paperback)
This is a great story with great characters and a lovely text. The characters ar funny and loveable and the children iWork with love their exploits. The children were cheering on the grannies and booing at the baddies. It is a feel good story with a message that crime does not pay.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Grannies empowered but young people s*** upon, 13 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Great Granny Gang (Paperback)
From the 'look inside' I was excited and delighted by this empowering story and was looking forward to sharing with my 2yo. Sadly after demonstrating that older women are active and enjoy a range of dynamic activities the story meanders into the worst kind of class & youth discrimination, with 'hoodies' being used synonymously for criminals, foiled by the frankly frumpily illustrated Granny Gang (neither Gran in this family is a silver-haired, over weight, tweed wearing Mrs Pepperpot). As a 30+ hoody wearing doctor partnered to a hoody wearing software engineer I can only assume that this volte face from the prejudice confronting opening was a misplaced attempt at a deep level of irony (maybe draw in some Next or M&S labels on the hoodies?). Not for my child thanks. We will be sticking with my childhood copy of Jerry Smath's 'But No Elephants' featuring the awesome independent Grandma Tildy: But No Elephants (Once Upon a Time)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The Great Granny Gang, 8 Mar. 2015
By 
S Riaz "S Riaz" (England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Judith Kerr has always been well loved in our house and, although this not our favourite story, it is still a lot of fun. This is the story of the fearless granny gang – the youngest of which is eighty-two. They can carry out repairs, fix cars, tame lions and baby-sit crocodiles! One day there is a robbery and the grannies spring into action!

Although I like the idea of grannies being brave and capable; somehow this story didn’t hold the attention of my listener’s in the same way as other books by her. My niece liked the pastel illustrations and the way the grannies fought the baddies, but it has not been one of her most requested stories.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great story !, 3 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Great Granny Gang (Hardcover)
All Grans should have this to read to their Grandchildren !
Not perha[ps as good as Judith Kerr's other books, ie Mog.
But a good read with lots of pictures to look at.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Grannies rule, 18 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Great Granny Gang (Paperback)
My 4 and 6 year old grand-kids enjoy this story and I liked the way the Grannies beat the bad guys. Makes a change form super-heroes! Good pictures and plenty of humour.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Every Granny should have it!, 15 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Great Granny Gang (Hardcover)
A must for all granny's and their grandchildren! Clever text, amusing situations - you'll never see your own grannie in quite the same way again!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fun, 22 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Great Granny Gang (Hardcover)
Lovely book full of wonderful hard working grannies who won't take any nonsense? A fun delight to read just before bedtime
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Great Granny Gang, 13 Feb. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Great Granny Gang (Hardcover)
My grandson had this in his Christmas sack and loved it thought the Granny was really funny - he 5 years old
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars unpleasant reading for children, 26 April 2014
This review is from: The Great Granny Gang (Hardcover)
While there is much humour and playfulness in Judith Kerr's new book, the dreadful classism on display should dissuade any parent from wanting to read such prejudiced drivel to their child over and over again. A quick flick through should suffice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Book, 11 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Great Granny Gang (Paperback)
A really good read which I ordered for a Christmas gift for my grandson. I love Judith Kerr and all her books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Great Granny Gang
The Great Granny Gang by Judith Kerr (Paperback - 25 April 2013)
£6.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews