Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars22
4.5 out of 5 stars
Format: Hardcover|Change
Price:£25.00+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 14 July 2013
Jonathan Agnew has chosen a selection of writings on cricket, old and new, that all watchers and students of cricket will appreciate - a wonderful compendium compiled with great care, and obvious affection, by one of the current day's most authoritative commentators.

A book to be savoured, and kept after reading, to be dipped into time and time again.
0Comment|12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 October 2013
Aggers has worked hard to trawl for an unusual but well researched look at some of the most controversial and popular cricket flare ups. Well worth keeping on the coffee table.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 May 2014
Well researched, well written,a wealth of interesting information for the cricket-mad follower and the browser alike. A pick-up put-down pick-up book.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 February 2014
Bought for my father who is a big cricket fan. I am sure he will enjoy reading it through the next few months before the start of the new season
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 October 2013
Very informative and well written. A bit hard going at times. A good read nonethless. A 'bedtime' book I think.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 December 2014
My review is of the "Audible" download. It is a well-selected anthology. I have thoroughly enjoyed it. My only complaint is directed at the narrator. He clearly has little or no knowledge of cricket. This is clearly evidenced by some appalling errors in pronunciation of the names of extremely well-known cricketers.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 March 2015
An eclectic mix of cricket writing, covering all aspects of the game. The authors introduces each article to set the scene, so even if you have read some of the passages in previous books there is enough fresh material to keep you interested. I thoroughly enjoyed the whole book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 April 2016
Having already read several chapters of this book, lent to me by a friend, I wanted to have it in my collection of cricket books. A must read for any follower of this great game.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 September 2013
Utterly fascinating collection of great cricket writing, offering intriguing insights into events and players of the game I knew about far less than I should.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 December 2013
Bought for cricket-loving son as a little extra gift for his birthday and it was very well received.
Delivery very prompt.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)