Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A veritable treasure trove!
Jonathan Agnew has chosen a selection of writings on cricket, old and new, that all watchers and students of cricket will appreciate - a wonderful compendium compiled with great care, and obvious affection, by one of the current day's most authoritative commentators.

A book to be savoured, and kept after reading, to be dipped into time and time again.
Published 12 months ago by Mrs Pamela Nash

versus
0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Excellent collection, but not very modern - for a 'modern anthology'
I find Jonathan Agnew's journalism to be interesting and well written, and really enjoy listening to his commentary and interviews on Test Match Special. He is a brilliant broadcaster.
Whilst this is a fantastic collection of sports writing, which evokes the tensions and issues of the times - it is all very 'long ago' to be entitled 'a modern anthology'.
Published 11 months ago by CindyJane


Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A veritable treasure trove!, 14 July 2013
By 
Mrs Pamela Nash (Lancashire, UK United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cricket: A Modern Anthology (Hardcover)
Jonathan Agnew has chosen a selection of writings on cricket, old and new, that all watchers and students of cricket will appreciate - a wonderful compendium compiled with great care, and obvious affection, by one of the current day's most authoritative commentators.

A book to be savoured, and kept after reading, to be dipped into time and time again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Eyeopener, 25 Oct 2013
Aggers has worked hard to trawl for an unusual but well researched look at some of the most controversial and popular cricket flare ups. Well worth keeping on the coffee table.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very Good Purchase, 18 May 2014
By 
Mike Mancott (Gloucestershire UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cricket: A Modern Anthology (Hardcover)
Well researched, well written,a wealth of interesting information for the cricket-mad follower and the browser alike. A pick-up put-down pick-up book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good value, well packaged, 4 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cricket: A Modern Anthology (Hardcover)
Bought for my father who is a big cricket fan. I am sure he will enjoy reading it through the next few months before the start of the new season
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars For Cricket Afficionados only!!, 13 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cricket: A Modern Anthology (Hardcover)
Very informative and well written. A bit hard going at times. A good read nonethless. A 'bedtime' book I think.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyed by cricket lover, 5 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cricket: A Modern Anthology (Hardcover)
Bought for cricket-loving son as a little extra gift for his birthday and it was very well received.
Delivery very prompt.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good job, Aggers, 3 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Utterly fascinating collection of great cricket writing, offering intriguing insights into events and players of the game I knew about far less than I should.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Johnathan Agnew, writer, commentator extraordinaire., 21 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cricket: A Modern Anthology (Hardcover)
Terrific source of cricket tidbits and quaint facts. My only complaint/regret is that the 'dust jacket' arrived ripped at the top, diminishing the aesthetics of the book itself. I previously reported this disappointment on my part, when asked by Amazon UK to provide 'feedback' on the packaging, but I am yet to receive some acknowledgent of my complaint let alone any effort on your part to provide some measure of redress. Will this submission give rise to some level of respons to me, condidering how patient and loyal I've remained to your business organization?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 19 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cricket: A Modern Anthology (Hardcover)
ecellent
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Excellent collection, but not very modern - for a 'modern anthology', 2 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cricket: A Modern Anthology (Hardcover)
I find Jonathan Agnew's journalism to be interesting and well written, and really enjoy listening to his commentary and interviews on Test Match Special. He is a brilliant broadcaster.
Whilst this is a fantastic collection of sports writing, which evokes the tensions and issues of the times - it is all very 'long ago' to be entitled 'a modern anthology'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Cricket: A Modern Anthology
Cricket: A Modern Anthology by Jonathan Agnew (Hardcover - 4 July 2013)
17.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews