Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Our access-all-areas back-stage pass to Peter Jackson's Middle-earth
Peter Jackson's Hobbit films come with so many tie-ins that it can be difficult knowing which to go for. First, there are the Annuals, essentially children's activity books. The Movie Storybooks are magazine-like plot synopses jam-packed with gorgeous screen-grabs. Jude Fisher's Visual Companions are heavily illustrated slimline encyclopaedias for people who find...
Published 10 months ago by Nat Whilk

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The Hobbit Movie Guide
I enjoyed it but would have liked more pictures and interviews from the stars and people concerned in the production.
Published 8 months ago by MRS L COLLINGS


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Our access-all-areas back-stage pass to Peter Jackson's Middle-earth, 15 Nov 2013
By 
Nat Whilk (Lincolnshire, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Official Movie Guide (The Hobbit: The Desolation of Smaug) (Paperback)
Peter Jackson's Hobbit films come with so many tie-ins that it can be difficult knowing which to go for. First, there are the Annuals, essentially children's activity books. The Movie Storybooks are magazine-like plot synopses jam-packed with gorgeous screen-grabs. Jude Fisher's Visual Companions are heavily illustrated slimline encyclopaedias for people who find Middle-earth confusing and need a bit of help as to who's who and what's what. The Chronicles are lavish design albums celebrating the work of the films' art team. Lastly, the Movie Guides are traditional making-of books, comprehensive access-all-areas accounts for anyone, young or old, with a general interest in how the films were created.

The present volume - a sequel to last year's Official Movie Guide (The Hobbit: An Unexpected Journey) - is the second of what will obviously be a trio. Available in hardcover or as a large, sumptuous paperback, it provides a nice mixture of text and copious behind-the-scenes colour photographs. Interviewees include actors returning from the first film of Mr Jackson's trilogy as well as newbies debuting in his second; and there are also many fascinating conversations with the sometimes unappreciated craftspeople whose off-camera labour created the universe in which stars like Miss Lilly, Mr Bloom, Mr Cumberbatch and Mr Fry could do their diamantine sparkling.

The quality of the writing is much above the norm for an entertainment tie-in. Sometimes, sadly, film books are cobbled together by overtasked studio publicists; this one is a substantial piece of work by the award-winning author who dramatized The Lord of the Rings for BBC Radio 4 and wrote Mr Jackson's biography. Expect great expertise lightly worn and a kindly sense of humour. As for the illustrations, they're as fascinating (and often amusing) as they're numerous.

It's becoming plain that the three Movie Guides as a set will together give us a life-story of Mr Jackson's Hobbit that will surpass even Harper's magnificent The Lord of the Rings: The Making of the Movie Trilogy. Nobody curious about how the Hobbit's magic was made can really afford to miss them. And both this one and its predecessor certainly have the Wow!-factor that you want if you're looking for something to give to a Hobbit enthusiast for Christmas.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The Hobbit Movie Guide, 21 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Official Movie Guide (The Hobbit: The Desolation of Smaug) (Paperback)
I enjoyed it but would have liked more pictures and interviews from the stars and people concerned in the production.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Dragon music, 15 July 2014
By 
Mrs. L. M. Hobbs (Birmingham. UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Official Movie Guide (The Hobbit: The Desolation of Smaug) (Paperback)
What can one say about these films and their wonderfully crafted music. It just adds another level to the film itself.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great book, 28 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Official Movie Guide (The Hobbit: The Desolation of Smaug) (Paperback)
Bought this to add to my collection of hobbit/lord of the rings books and it doesn't disappoint. Pictures stunning, text informative. Only downside is how long it took to arrive, over a week
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great insight into what happened behind the scenes, 3 Jan 2014
By 
A. Sunara "lutharwen" (Wien) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Official Movie Guide (The Hobbit: The Desolation of Smaug) (Paperback)
I was not sure what to expect from this book, but I was satisfied very quickly with my purchase.
This book gives excellent insight into the work happening behind the scenes we see in the movie. The author knows the crew since the time of the Lord of the Rings and delivers a string of interesting interviews with cast and crew, as well as great photos documenting the making-of process. I very much appreciate to learn which daily miracles were made to happen by costume designers, set decorators, make-up artists, WETA-props and prosthetics makers and countless many more people, so to manufacture an incredible end performance. These movies are not just about the right plot and good acting, hundreds of people were involved to create them and I am very keen to understand how they contributed. From the hair-punchers to the knitters, all of them were important and I very much like the thought that these easily overlooked crew members get their deserved acknowledgement as well.

The style of wirting is entertaining and informative at the same time. The persons interviewed are strategically well chosen, so the reader can get a comprehension of the dedication and commitment of ALL cast and crew which was administrated.
If you love the LotR and Hobbit-movies, I can only recommend to read this book, particularly if you are interested how your favourite characters or scenes were made to come "real".
I absolutely enjoy reading this book, I also bought the Official Movie Guide of the Unexpected Journey, but haven't read it yet - I trust it is of the same quality.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great companion for the film, 1 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Official Movie Guide (The Hobbit: The Desolation of Smaug) (Paperback)
This book gives you some gat insights to not only the storyline but also the making of the film. Fab
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good value, 28 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Official Movie Guide (The Hobbit: The Desolation of Smaug) (Paperback)
Excellent price and very quick delivery. My aunt was very pleased with book and as she loves all things Hobbit she will enjoy browsing the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bought for a friend!, 27 Nov 2013
By 
Mr. Ian Abbott (Southern England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Official Movie Guide (The Hobbit: The Desolation of Smaug) (Paperback)
Who loves it! A lot bigger than it at first appears in the picture, full of interesting info. and pictures.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars MY EVIEW, 28 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Official Movie Guide (The Hobbit: The Desolation of Smaug) (Paperback)
A VERY INTERESTING AND INFORATIVE BOOK ON THE MAKING OF THE FILM..GIVES ONE AN INISGHT THAT WE JUST TAKE FIR GRATNTED WATCHING THE FOILM HERBERT
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great book, 25 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Official Movie Guide (The Hobbit: The Desolation of Smaug) (Paperback)
My daughter loves this book. She is very happy with it, it is very nice. Thank you very much, very happy with this product.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Official Movie Guide (The Hobbit: The Desolation of Smaug)
Official Movie Guide (The Hobbit: The Desolation of Smaug) by Brian Sibley (Paperback - 7 Nov 2013)
£6.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews