Customer Reviews


24 Reviews
5 star:
 (19)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hi-ho, hi-ho, it's off to Smaug we go!
There aren't many films that come with a behind-the-scenes story rich enough to justify their own biography, but The Hobbit: An Unexpected Journey is emphatically one of them. Whether or not Peter Jackson's fourth Tolkien adaptation becomes as successful as his Oscar-laden third, the tale of its long, complex, challenging, hugely ambitious production makes for an...
Published 21 months ago by Nat Whilk

versus
1 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Hardback v paperback
Why oh why is this only produced in paperback - for me and my collection of film books I want HARDBACKS that will last, not paperbacks that perish over time.Official Movie Guide (The Hobbit: An Unexpected Journey)
Published 20 months ago by Michael Carey


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hi-ho, hi-ho, it's off to Smaug we go!, 18 Nov 2012
By 
Nat Whilk (Lincolnshire, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Official Movie Guide (The Hobbit: An Unexpected Journey) (Paperback)
There aren't many films that come with a behind-the-scenes story rich enough to justify their own biography, but The Hobbit: An Unexpected Journey is emphatically one of them. Whether or not Peter Jackson's fourth Tolkien adaptation becomes as successful as his Oscar-laden third, the tale of its long, complex, challenging, hugely ambitious production makes for an engrossing read.

The 168 handsome pages of this large format, glossy, full colour, double columned and luxuriously embossed-covered paperback (Bernard Levin would have deducted a star to punish the unavailability of a hardback alternative) are divided into fifty-five bite sized chunks, perfect for a reader with a busy life who has to read in snatches. The illustrations are large, beautifully printed and numerous - I counted only seven pages without one - and would be worth the price of the book by themselves.

Brian Sibley proves an assiduous interviewer, as eager to celebrate the contributions of artists, weapon makers, clothes designers and other backroom craftspeople as to speak to Martin Freeman, Sir Ian McKellen or Barry Humphries. (If you've read Brian's earlier The Lord of the Rings: The Making of the Movie Trilogy, you'll find the treatment here very similar.) Topics covered include the aborted directorship of Guillermo del Toro, Peter's abandonment of 24 frames per second celluloid for 48 frames per second Ultra High Definition video, the techniques and benefits of stereoscopic cinematography and how thirteen dwarves were put through old time military boot camp! Some interviewees and subjects that one might have expected to find turn out to be conspicuous by their absence; but of course, this book is presented as a companion to the first film of three, and next year will bring a second volume as an aperitif for The Desolation of Smaug.

Brian is, I think, an ideal guide to Peter's and his colleagues' work. The hobbitty world is very much home territory for him - indeed, he wrote The Hobbit's equivalent of an A to Z (There and Back Again: The Map of Tolkien's Hobbit) - and he also wrote Peter's authorised life story (Peter Jackson: A Film-maker's Journey). And like other authors with a background in broadcasting, he writes with an inviting, conversational grace that's always genially accessible. But perhaps most important of all, it's obvious that he wrote this book with enthusiasm. Some entertainment tie-ins are ground out by publicists with all the zest of Frodo and Sam trudging up the slopes of Mount Doom. Not this one. Like Peter, J. J. Abrams, Joss Whedon and indeed Tolkien himself, Brian is patently the kind of genre devotee who would still be immersed in fantasy even if it had never put a penny in his pocket. In short, what we're offered here is a treat for all of us who delight in the marvellous written by one of our own.

Now, let's just hope that the movie is as good as we'd like it to be!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars GOOD SOUVENIR, 24 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Official Movie Guide (The Hobbit: An Unexpected Journey) (Paperback)
I HAVE LOVED THE HOBBIT SINCE I WAS 12 AND AS PETER JACKSON HAS MADE SUCH AN EXCELLENT JOB OF THE TRILOGY I WANTED TO LOOK AT WHAT HE HAD DONE WITH THE HOBBIT BEFORE I SAW THE FILM.THIS BOOK IS FULL OF GREAT PHOTOS OF THE SETS , INTERVIEWS WITH THE STARS , FACTS ABOUT THE MAKING OF THE SETS AND THE ELABORATE COSTUMES.IT'S WELL PUT TOGETHER AND LOVELY JUST TO BROWSE.I SEE THERE ARE SEVERAL OTHER BOOKS AVAILABLE I NOW SEE HOWEVER THIS IS A VERY GOOD ONE TO HAVE AND I RECOMMEND IT.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great, 25 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Official Movie Guide (The Hobbit: An Unexpected Journey) (Paperback)
This book is really great, if you like the Hobbit you have it get it. My daughter is really happy with it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I love it, 27 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Official Movie Guide (The Hobbit: An Unexpected Journey) (Paperback)
I am a hard core Tolkein fan and this was a good addition to my Hobbit collection, along with the Visual Companion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A nice gift, 7 Jun 2013
By 
Martan (Czech Republic) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Official Movie Guide (The Hobbit: An Unexpected Journey) (Paperback)
It's a nice Hobbit movie guide, full of character descriptions and photos on and off set, movie trivia and things about the actors.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Review, 30 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A very nice companion to go with the stunning new film depicting a classic tale from the realm of middle earth
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars <3 THIS, 18 April 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Official Movie Guide (The Hobbit: An Unexpected Journey) (Paperback)
THE HOBBIT HAS ALWAYS BEEN A FAVOURITE BOOK OF MINE GROWING AND WHEN I SAW THE MOVIE I WAS NOT DISSAPOINTED - THE MOVIE GUIDE IS FANTASTIC
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Quick Post and daughter love it, 26 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Official Movie Guide (The Hobbit: An Unexpected Journey) (Paperback)
Many thanks for this book, really well made book and the pictures were outstanding. My daughter really enjoy reading the book and got lots of information from it. Thanks
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great value book, 25 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Official Movie Guide (The Hobbit: An Unexpected Journey) (Paperback)
A wonderful companion to the film and representing great value for money. This is already a much loved reference book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great guide, 4 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Official Movie Guide (The Hobbit: An Unexpected Journey) (Paperback)
my son and I are both big Hobbit fans and Lord of the Rings fans, can't wait for the other two. Great fotos and information.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Official Movie Guide (The Hobbit: An Unexpected Journey)
Official Movie Guide (The Hobbit: An Unexpected Journey) by Brian Sibley (Paperback - 8 Nov 2012)
7.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews