Customer Reviews


43 Reviews
5 star:
 (23)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


55 of 57 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Surprised by Joy - a thoroughly enjoyable autobiography.
I have already read most of C.S.Lewis' works, but I'd intentionally put-off reading 'Surprised by Joy'. I'd felt it more interesting to learn Christian Wisdom from what he wrote after his conversion, than to concern myself with how he became converted. However, I finally gave in; and it is a thoroughly good read, unusually humorous in some places: his memories of his...
Published on 21 July 2001 by MJDR

versus
11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good autobiography, but little about conversion
I was informed, by reviews of the book, that this would chart his conversion from atheism to Christianity. I was, instead, surprised to read a good autobiography about him, with a great deal of reference to what Lewis calls 'stabs of Joy'. The the last few pages chronicled in lightning speed how he went from atheism, to theism, and then to believing that Christ was the...
Published on 9 Feb. 2008 by R.J.W89


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Surprised By Joy, 9 Dec. 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Surprised by Joy (Kindle Edition)
A good read but with some archaeic language in some parts.
He left a lot out of this book according to a TV programme but
I enjoyed it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Probably not everyones taste in books but as a Christian ..., 22 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Surprised by Joy (Kindle Edition)
Probably not everyones taste in books but as a Christian I was interested to learn how the celebrated C. S. Lewis came to his belief.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great book, 17 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Surprised by Joy (C. Lewis Signature Classic) (Paperback)
Great book as I expected it to be. I am half way through it and a couple of friends are already queuing up to read it after I finish!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars My books, 22 Mar. 2010
By 
Peter (Chippenham, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Surprised by Joy (Paperback)
This is a book that I have had for years but it was falling apart. I was glad to be able to replace it so reasonably through Amazon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Very enjoyable, 13 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Surprised by Joy (Kindle Edition)
CS Lewis has a way with words. An easy read if a little eccentric. A transparent account of turmoil in a young lad.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars bought for the wife who thoroughly enjoyed reading it, 31 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Surprised by Joy (C. Lewis Signature Classic) (Paperback)
bought for the wife who thoroughly enjoyed reading it. Fast delivery and excellent value, now my turn to read it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 28 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Surprised by Joy (Kindle Edition)
Another favourite book - love this author and his clear insight into the human mind/fath - highly recommend!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Surprised by Joy, 9 Nov. 2009
By 
This review is from: Surprised by Joy (Paperback)
An interesting read but covers most of his early life, school and university years
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 31 Mar. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Surprised by Joy (C. Lewis Signature Classic) (Paperback)
Excellent autobiography b C.S. Lewis very pleased with this new copy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The write up dsounds good, 15 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Surprised by Joy (C. Lewis Signature Classic) (Paperback)
Bought as a gift for a friend. The write up dsounds good though
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Surprised by Joy (C. Lewis Signature Classic)
Surprised by Joy (C. Lewis Signature Classic) by C. S. Lewis (Paperback - 12 April 2012)
£7.19
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews