Customer Reviews


23 Reviews
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A page turner to the end. And we get to meet God. What more do you need?
*Possible spoiler alert*
Aloha From Hell is the third Sandman Slim Novel and once again Kadrey doesn't disappoint his fans. The book picks up after Stark embraces his nephalim heritage and discovers that Archangel Uriel is his father. His assistance is sought in a botched exorcism and during the investigation he learns that Mason is amassing troops to invade heaven...
Published on 3 July 2013 by BookBunny

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars getting a bit samey
Great idea and I liked all the initial books but Im getting a bored with the one dimensional character. The violence is beginning to pall a bit because its just repetitive and the main characters are becoming superhero untouchables while everyone else is just a dweeb.
Published on 21 May 2013 by Malcolm Roy Ash


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A page turner to the end. And we get to meet God. What more do you need?, 3 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
*Possible spoiler alert*
Aloha From Hell is the third Sandman Slim Novel and once again Kadrey doesn't disappoint his fans. The book picks up after Stark embraces his nephalim heritage and discovers that Archangel Uriel is his father. His assistance is sought in a botched exorcism and during the investigation he learns that Mason is amassing troops to invade heaven which would mean the end of the world. In the meantime Lucifer is back in heaven and having abdicated his role, Mason has stepped in to lead the troops. Aelita tries to draw Stark into the war by plucking Alice from heaven and hiding her in an asylum in hell. The only thing Stark can do is save Alice and stop the war by using one of the Hellion Generals that's been killed and is stuck in Tartarus (a sub-hell where murdered hellions and double damned souls are sent). No one has ever escaped Tartarus and Stark's plans seem hopeless. Along the way he meets God (or rather part of God) and he gets to save the girl, the General and the universe. There's a final showdown between Stark and Mason and Stark's human form dies. His angel half separates from him and decides to go back to earth as Stark. Stark's other half is left in hell and is now the new Lucifer.
I love the Sandman Slim series purely because of its great story line, the humorous dialogue and über gory scenes. If like me you have a great imagination, it's very easy to immerse yourself neck deep in the Hellion life. The pace is quite reasonable but really picks up towards the last 20 % of the book. I was starting to worry that the author may have lost his edge and that I needed to shelf the series, but the ending really got its talons hooked into me. I'm off to read the next book in the series, Devil Said Bang.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Purchased on a chance, 10 Feb. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Purchased this on a chance, and I was not disappointed. Interesting concept, very gritty and real. Great book, great series. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars a major departure from the earlier books, 5 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
In this one, almost all the action is in Hell. And it is Kadrey's vision of Hell, so it has a few twists.

Does it work? Yes.
Did it progress the story arc? Definitely!
Did I enjoy it as much as previous books? Strangely no.

I think one of the things I have most enjoyed in earlier books in the series, is Kadrey's ability to combine Theology, LA culture and cynicism. This book dumps a lot of those, and takes us on a tour of Hell and Purgatory. Of course, they are surreal, but without LA, it feels like something is missing.

I wonder what is coming next?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars dark humour, none stop action and spell binding, 8 Mar. 2013
Sandman Slim is back for a third outing. However if you haven't already read the first two books in the series do so before you read this one. You will get confused if you don't

Stark is as ever the extremely violent, darkly humorous hero of epic proportions. The book starts with a lull in his violent life after the events in book two that's making him feel "stabby", and looking for violence. Which all too soon he finds in spades. A botched exorcism by an excommunicated priest leads him to the revelation that his arch nemesis Mason, who he finally killed condemning him to hell, is now leading hell in a preparation for war against heaven. Lucifer's apparently gone off back to heaven leaving a power vacuum Mason's been quick to fill. But Mason wants Stark and more importantly his key to the room in the centre of the universe so he's kidnapped Alice, Starks old true love and is holding her for ransom in Hell and if Stark wants her back he'll have to go to hell to fetch her.

So Stark has to sneak into Hell, a Human amongst demons, trigger an obvious trap, and save the girl. To start off with. Then all he's got to try and stop a war between heaven and hell that would mean the end of the world. To do that he has to rescue the only Hell's general who stood against Mason, however he was Killed in Hell and therefore sent to Tartarus, which is kind of a Hell below Hell where those already dead, who are then killed again go. Oh and of course no one has ever escaped from Tartarus, so its just another day in the life of Sandman Slim.

Along the way he meets God, well parts of him, apparently he had a mental break down and splintered into many parts, and some deites from the older religions as well. Throw in Adelita the homicidal Angel who wants to kill Stark "the abomination", and you have a spell binding read. Hell looks just like Los Angeles, only on fire, with piles of trash burning and hellions running around chasing the damned. It's a graphically detailed master piece I love the description of Hell, and Hell's armies.

But the real action starts after Stark gets to Tartarus. Then the book is none stop action, gratuitous violence and dark humour. Including a scene where Jack the Ripper, who of course was sent to Hell after he died, is hung upside down from a hook and skinned alive, er well dead-alive whatever the accurate description is for a soul condemned to hell

Well written, action packed, darkly humorous, spell binding. A literature master piece, that I highly recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Overall A Great Read, 20 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book continues the amazing Sandman Slim series and Richard Kadrey doesn't disappoint. I love Stark as a character, it's like he tries so hard to be an anti-hero but comes out as a hero everytime. The first half of the book was great! Good character building going on, an interesting mystery with Hunter, however I felt that the 3rd quarter of the book dragged a bit for me, I won't go into too much detail, but the book becomes dare I say it, a bit boring through this brief period of the book. It does come back strong though in the last quarter of the book, and wraps up what I'm going to call the first trilogy very well. One little thing that bugs is me is that Mason didn't appear more, for someone who is meant to be the main villain, he's strangely absent throughout most of the book. I'm looking forward to the next book and where Richard Kadrey takes the story next.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 6 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The series is now picking up speed
Great stuff going on in Hell and the plot is tightening up - playful stuff with the denizens of all domains with anarchic and snotty behaviour from the Sandman.
Thoroughly engaging read and just got the latest book, so will be motoring through the next two in the hope that Aelita gets eviscerated and shredded twice on the way down to her abominable end.
Got to like where this series is going : )
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Hooked, 7 Oct. 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Started with the first book in the series and now I'm hooked on the Sandman Slim stories. This is not at all my usual kind of thing, but these books are really well written. They fly along. There isn't an ounce of spare fat in the dialogue. It's sharp,cool and witty. The plot is imaginative. All in all, I'd recommend that anyone give it a go, but make sure you start with the first in the series to get the best out of it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars getting a bit samey, 21 May 2013
By 
Malcolm Roy Ash (Aston-by-Stone, Staffs United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great idea and I liked all the initial books but Im getting a bored with the one dimensional character. The violence is beginning to pall a bit because its just repetitive and the main characters are becoming superhero untouchables while everyone else is just a dweeb.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Aloha from hell, 7 April 2013
Great book. Almost comic book in its way, and I mean no slight by that, it rolls on like a juggernaut on a promise. I hope Richard Kadrey is writing quickly, I'm catching up and don't want to hit the buffer.

Bravo
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Sandman slim 3, 13 May 2013
I normally read serious books.

This is not a serious book. It is, however, the most enjoyable literary palate cleanser I have come across all year. The first two are worth the money too - go buy them!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Aloha From Hell (Sandman Slim 3)
Aloha From Hell (Sandman Slim 3) by Richard Kadrey (Hardcover - 5 July 2012)
£9.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews