Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A thought provoking collection...
One of the qualities that makes this collection of witty and thought-provoking essays so appealing is its range. In 'Farther Away', Jonathan Franzen explores the environment, the role of technology in our relationships, literary criticism, the writer's craft, depression and loss. It's a collection best 'dipped into' rather than taken on in one session. For me, the most...
Published 23 months ago by Mr. RW Abbotson

versus
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant writing, but slightly underwhelming content
I love Franzen's novels and have recently read all three of his volumes of essays. In some respects they can be approached like short stories, each a self-contained piece, the lengths varying, but this collection does see some recurring themes. As is often the case with Franzen's work, birds crop up again and again (he's a keen ornithologist) and although his enthusiasm...
Published 22 months ago by Peter Lee


Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A thought provoking collection..., 4 July 2013
By 
Mr. RW Abbotson "rwabbotson" (Liverpool, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Farther Away (Hardcover)
One of the qualities that makes this collection of witty and thought-provoking essays so appealing is its range. In 'Farther Away', Jonathan Franzen explores the environment, the role of technology in our relationships, literary criticism, the writer's craft, depression and loss. It's a collection best 'dipped into' rather than taken on in one session. For me, the most moving essay was Franzen's piece on the loss of his close friend, David Foster Wallace. I studied this chapter with my students and it led to a fascinating discussion on mental fragility, happiness, the contentions of social situations and our own split personalities. The same students will tell you that I might be just slightly infatuated with Franzen, but for me this book is further evidence of a writer of moral credibility and fascinating intellect - his honesty in exploring the deepest flaws and qualities of human beings is compelling. Start with 'Freedom' and 'The Corrections', then explore this fascinating collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Typical Franzen, 24 Dec. 2012
By 
P. T. Hartill - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Farther Away (Kindle Edition)
A mixed bag of short articles some brilliant, some ho hum but generally amusing and intellectually challenging. Some of the subjects a little esoteric. I enjoyed it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant writing, but slightly underwhelming content, 8 July 2013
By 
Peter Lee (Manchester ,United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Farther Away (Kindle Edition)
I love Franzen's novels and have recently read all three of his volumes of essays. In some respects they can be approached like short stories, each a self-contained piece, the lengths varying, but this collection does see some recurring themes. As is often the case with Franzen's work, birds crop up again and again (he's a keen ornithologist) and although his enthusiasm comes across it isn't always shared by the reader, but this time the loss of his friend, the writer David Foster Wallace, is a regular subject. Franzen was clearly devastated by Wallace's suicide, and the sections where he talks of his friend are extremely moving.

From time to time however the essays do lose their steam a little, and there are a few reviews included, plus some of the content does feel a little rant-like, where he voices his opinions on technology and the like. For me his "How To Be Alone" collection was better than this, and his novels are light years ahead.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars although generally I love Franzen. Freedom and The Corrections are much better, 2 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Farther Away (Paperback)
Patchy, although generally I love Franzen. Freedom and The Corrections are much better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 15 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Farther Away (Paperback)
quick service great book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Farther Away by Jonathan Franzen, 31 Jan. 2013
This review is from: Farther Away (Hardcover)
Jonathan Franzen

Just a frantastic writer both fiction and as here, non-fiction. I can't get enough of him, and have some 15 books by him at home!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Farther Away
Farther Away by Jonathan Franzen (Paperback - 25 April 2013)
£7.19
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews