Customer Reviews


56 Reviews
5 star:
 (29)
4 star:
 (16)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars How many words?
I know that the English language is a wide and diversified thing, but I could not possibly have imagined that our twenty-six letter alphabet could be combined in quite so many different and, apparently, meaningful ways. This book is crammed with words that probably no-one other than a Scrabble buff would ever have heard of, let alone used in everyday conversation...
Published on 2 July 2011 by Mr. R. Boutcher

versus
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars New Edition disappointing
For those of us who play Scrabble with free use of a dictionary, it is sad to say this new Collins edition of Scrabble Words is not as useful as the old Chambers edition. The type is smaller and not as bold, making it definitely more difficult to read. The 2- and 3-letter word dictionaries at the back have been eliminated. Instead of the old, handy, under-500 page book,...
Published on 14 Jun 2012 by Inkster255


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars How many words?, 2 July 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I know that the English language is a wide and diversified thing, but I could not possibly have imagined that our twenty-six letter alphabet could be combined in quite so many different and, apparently, meaningful ways. This book is crammed with words that probably no-one other than a Scrabble buff would ever have heard of, let alone used in everyday conversation.

It is an absolute must if you play the game and don't have a photographic memory of the full OED in your head. Mix your tiles up and then look at the book to see if the jumble you have is actually a word - chances are pretty high that it will be!

Two slight negatives for me - I wish it had even just a brief explanation of what the words mean, although I guess that takes the twenty-odd volumes of the full dictionary to achieve, and a quick summary page showing all the valid two-letter words would be a real bonus. Otherwise, it does what it says on the tin - more so than you could believe without seeing it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Official Scrabble Word, 3rd edition 2011, hardback, 2 Nov 2011
As the most recent authoritative arbiter of fair play many keen Scrabble players will not be able to enjoy playing without it. So for that limited market it is an immediate non-negotiable essential. For everyone else it is of no use at all. In terms of practical details it is larger and heavier than previous OSWs while seeming to waste quite a lot of space on each page. Sadly unlike some earlier editions it does not list 2-letter words and 3-letter words separately. For the right person a great Christmas present.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars New Edition disappointing, 14 Jun 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Collins Official Scrabble Words (Paperback)
For those of us who play Scrabble with free use of a dictionary, it is sad to say this new Collins edition of Scrabble Words is not as useful as the old Chambers edition. The type is smaller and not as bold, making it definitely more difficult to read. The 2- and 3-letter word dictionaries at the back have been eliminated. Instead of the old, handy, under-500 page book, it has now become a hefty 1184 page tome which is downright heavy and difficult to handle. The reason for the more than doubling is size is that a separate almost-500 page compendium of ten to fifteen letter words has been added to the back of the book. (How often does anyone play a ten-or-more letter word in Scrabble?) The two- to nine-letter list has ballooned by over 200 pages to just under 700. Would that they had just added or deleted words, but left the format the same. However if you want a list of acceptable Scrabble words, there is no choice. Unless, of course, you buy a used copy of the old Chambers edition and forget being up-to-date.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A weighty tome!, 18 Jun 2011
A great book for looking up new words but the 10 to 15 letter word lists at the end of the book are really superfluous to requirements and make the book physically very heavy to pick up. The paper is also very thin to accommodate this and may, in time, tear easily. The only things that have spoiled what would otherwise have been an excellent book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars From aa to za, 24 Mar 2013
By 
Antenna (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Collins Official Scrabble Words (Paperback)
This compilation of words approved by WESPA (The World English-Language Scrabble Players' Association) has a tantalisingly brief one-page introduction. It seems that "addios" and "ciaos" are no longer accepted, as was formerly the case, but "blingy" and "mwah" are now "playable". In the search for high scoring words, qin, coxib, boxty, juvie, soz and figh are all allowed, but what do they all mean? The main shortcoming of this book is that we are not told, but I suppose that it would be too thick to open if we were. Then, of course, there are the "7's" to note: neetroot, noilier and snotrag!

Perhaps of more use for the amateurish player like myself, is the revelation of all the two letter words permissible, from "aa" to "za". The book consists in fact of two lists in alphabetical order, five columns a page: firstly two to nine letters, then ten to fifteen for those in a higher league.

Using this book has enhanced my scores, although to learn from it one has to bend the rules and let everyone consult it, which can slow down the pace of the game!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Ollins 2012 edition Scrabble Words, 21 Jun 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Collins Official Scrabble Words (Paperback)
I quite agree with the remarks of 'Inkster'. We were very disappointed with the Collins 2012 Scrabble Disctionary. The old second edition Chambers is far far easier to read and we found ourselves consulting that rather than this Collins very unwealdy tome.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Takes the fun out the game, 14 Jun 2011
A fantastic book and you won't believe some of the words that are actually allowed as official scrabble words but it does take the fun out of it. You have to be very strict not to go hunting for words that you can make using your letters. I have to say for the leisure scrabble players - get a dictionary instead!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Essential, 8 Jan 2012
By 
Mr. Roy Fisher (France) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
A must have for any Scrabble player this OSW stops any arguements over words. Very informative and educational. I did not know so many two letter words existed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wow, that many words!, 6 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Collins Official Scrabble Words (Paperback)
I didn't realise there were so many useable words, this is a big thick book containing over 270,000 of them! It arrived promptly and in good condition.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 30 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Collins Official Scrabble Words (Paperback)
Very useful with large content
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Collins Official Scrabble Words
Collins Official Scrabble Words by aa vv (Paperback - 5 April 2012)
Used & New from: £7.97
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews