Customer Reviews


41 Reviews
5 star:
 (21)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (9)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A great read about a great actor - numerous factual errors aside
Sir Derek Jacobi is one of Britain's greatest actors and therefore it was with immense pleasure that I heard a few months ago that he was publishing his autobiography in view of the rich and impressive career he has had so far (and hopefully this will continue for many years to come!). And Sir Derek the man emerges from this book very much like his acting portrayals:...
Published 19 months ago by almaviva90

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Ariel spiriting gently
Derek Jacobi has always been a favourite of mine and I loved his Hamlet (at the Old Vic) and fell off my seat laughing at his rendition of Benedict and his witty exchanges with Sinead Cusack as Beatrice in "Much Ado About Nothing". I adored his Claudius with the whole nation and lately enjoyed his portrayal of Alan in "Last Tango in Halifax". His gentle...
Published 8 months ago by J. Scott-mandeville


Most Helpful First | Newest First

3.0 out of 5 stars Engaging and considered - but a touch rambling!, 17 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Engaging and considered; this autobiography gives a lovely insight into the character of one our greatest actors. Excellent vignettes on life in the East End, in Cambridge and during the early days of the national Theatre. It is a bit rambling, however, particularly towards the second half; so many engagements, so many events. Like life, it doesn't quite hang together coherently.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Interesting but a little dry at times., 25 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: As Luck Would Have It (Hardcover)
I wanted to read this as I am a huge fan of Derek Jacobi. I found the book interesting bit not as entertaining a read as I had hoped. It is very detailed in the descriptions of the productions he has acted in, but it is well written and the photographs are superb.
.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars This is not particularly well written, but Derek Jacobi ..., 2 Mar. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is not particularly well written, but Derek Jacobi is an actor, not a writer. It really didn't matter though because it's such an interesting and amusing read I can forgive him anything. Thanks Sir! :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars The man is an actor God. However the book ..., 26 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: As Luck Would Have It (Hardcover)
The man is an actor God. However the book was a bit lack lustre and pedestrian. I still wouldn't want to miss a single one of his acting performances though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars As luck would have it - Derek Jacobi, 25 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I love this actor and his story is pleasantly free from parental aggression and soul twisting angst. His niceness comes through, his loyalty to his friends and family and his love of the theatre and acting. Only at the end do we get a small intimation that Mr Jacobi has become slightly more cynical but, hey! that life, as they say. He comes through as a bit of a lovey, but I hardly think anyone would be surprised. He is what you see.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Thought it might be of interest, 30 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The first third and last third of the book were quite interesting but i found the rest very boring and repetitive. However, Derek Jacobi is still a fine actor!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Really good read., 25 Sept. 2013
By 
chocoholic (united kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: As Luck Would Have It (Hardcover)
I read this over the weekend couldn't put it down, have always been a big fan of Derek Jacobi wonderful actor, thought the book was written with great sincerity , if you like Derek Jacobi buy the book, you won't be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A good actor and book., 23 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
If you love theatre lots of little insights which I liked. Very amusing and a very good read,,would recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a delightful read, 27 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is such a delightful book, you feel as though you're in the same room, listening to his stories, hearing the anecdotes - lovely.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 23 Aug. 2014
This review is from: As Luck Would Have It (Hardcover)
One of my favourite actor's
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

As Luck Would Have It
As Luck Would Have It by Derek Jacobi (Hardcover - 12 Sept. 2013)
£18.95
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews