Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great for kids!!
Wallowing in nostalgia, listened to all 3 CD's with my 11 yr old daughter, I think I liked it more than she did!!!
Published 9 months ago by martini104

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Paddington in Real Time
Having recently started reading the first Paddington tales to my daughter we moved on to this title not realising that it was such a recent release with Paddington living in the present day environment, (referencing computers and travel cards!?!?). The first chapter was almost impossible to read aloud and she quickly lost track of the meaning behind the story, closely...
Published 8 months ago by Miss O Murphy


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Paddington in Real Time, 5 Nov 2013
Having recently started reading the first Paddington tales to my daughter we moved on to this title not realising that it was such a recent release with Paddington living in the present day environment, (referencing computers and travel cards!?!?). The first chapter was almost impossible to read aloud and she quickly lost track of the meaning behind the story, closely followed by myself. I have perused the second chapter alone and found it to be more readable, the story makes more sense and a small part of the 'Paddington' returns.... But I think we will be returning to the older titles and leaving the new fangled Paddington for another time. There is a distinct lack of charm in the newer version and certainly the stories, whilst being contextually correct, are much less appealing than those of the early years. The age old clueless Paddington with his withering stares, blundering ways and accidentally insightful remarks is best. We can live without being 'up to date' as long as we get a good old bedtime story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great for kids!!, 28 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Wallowing in nostalgia, listened to all 3 CD's with my 11 yr old daughter, I think I liked it more than she did!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Unforgettable Paddington, 8 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Paddington Races Ahead (Paddington) (Paperback)
Paddington bear is a really adorable bear with his funny stories. I am a foreigner like him living in the UK and I sympathise with him a lot. However the Browns family generosity towards him sounds a bit odd for an English family, even for a wealthy investment banker like Mr Brown.

In this book the stories were in Paddington's favour as usual, trying to catch up with the modern life, mentioning Oyster card and computers,.... However not so appealing as previous books and a bit cheesy sometimes.
Nevertheless we love Paddington and pamper him anyway.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good but distinctly different from previous Paddington books, 15 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Another excellent paddington book that my kids love. ... A little odd that it's very 21st century unlike the others which are decidedly "last millennium", having a quaint but elegant turn of phrase. This book is strangely more direct. Good though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Quality Throughout!, 21 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
No wonder he has been voted the best children's character of all time! These little novels are ideal for children like my ten year old, she enjoys reading, and the quality of the writing with the joy of the stories has kept her attention constantly. Would highly recommend!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The anditote to modern life, 10 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Paddington Races Ahead (Paddington) (Paperback)
My children love Paddington and so do I. In a world of worries and lost innocence Michael Bond and his creation help restore the balance. As with all the Paddington publications, perfect, peaceful bedtime reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars PADDINGTON RACES AHEAD., 12 Feb 2013
Ah good old Paddington, the quintessential British bear from deepest, darkest Peru, his (mis)adventures much loved by those both young and not so young alike.

Guaranteed to have you smiling if not quietly chuckling, Paddington Races Ahead, with its mention of the London Olympic Games and, my favourite, Paddington having a 'fishy pedicure' finds, finds the bear in some very unusual situations, many of them very much of the minute.

A great role model, Paddington is always so polite, so well mannered, something that I respect greatly in Bond's writing. It is not however simply the wonderful writing that draws me to the books but the sublime ink drawings that though no longer drawn by Peggy Fortnum but by R.W. Alley are still captivating.

Copyright: Petty Witter @ Pen and Paper

Paddington Races Ahead (Paddington)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant!, 22 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The Paddington books were the first stories I can remember. Reading them again the memories came flooding back, they are just SO GOOD.
I particularly wanted the books with the original (and best), Peggy Fortnum illustrations, which are as good as I remember.

My only criticism, inflation has taken over and Paddington's sixpence is now ten pence!

I can't recommend these books highly enough to everyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lovely little book., 9 Jun 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Purchased for grandaughter, she is extremely happy with this fabulous little book. Paddington Bear has become a BIG hit. Thank you, Amazon!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Paddington Races Ahead (Paddington)
Paddington Races Ahead (Paddington) by Michael Bond (Paperback - 31 July 2014)
4.79
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews