Customer Reviews


37 Reviews
5 star:
 (28)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars lovely book
I have been following Katie's blog for a few years now, and was thrilled when she brought out her book. The photography is lovely but there are a few mistakes in the book. I made the Red Cabbage and Fennel salad, which was delicious, but there were no instructions on how to prepare the fennel (this is why I have given it 4 stars rather than 5). I tried to ascertain how to...
Published 16 months ago by Amazon Customer

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars
I have made a couple of recipes they were not mind blowing.
Published 2 months ago by snoozy


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 24 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: What Katie Ate: Recipes and Other Bits and Bobs (Hardcover)
Lovely book, well presented and nicely written with some good meal ideas. Would please those who enjoyed the accompanying blog.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lovely..., 19 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: What Katie Ate: Recipes and Other Bits and Bobs (Hardcover)
I bought this as a gift for a friend... Problem is I want to keep it! I'll have to part with this and order another one sharpish!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A stunning book, 3 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: What Katie Ate: Recipes and Other Bits and Bobs (Hardcover)
Really beautiful tempting photos and so far all the recipies I've cooked have been delicious and well appreciated by guests.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Yummy, 7 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: What Katie Ate: Recipes and Other Bits and Bobs (Hardcover)
Takes 3 days to read this book and its great. Super pictures, nice hardcover and good recipes different from the norm.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 26 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars A new concept in graphic design!, 29 May 2013
This review is from: What Katie Ate: Recipes and Other Bits and Bobs (Hardcover)
Can I review this book without buying it? You see, I had a good look at it in a bookshop and decided that the innovations in graphic design that it uses were just too much for an old fuddy duddy like me. The likes of Microsoft, Apple, Amazon, and dozens of book publishers over the years, have foolishly spent tens of millions of dollars on researching things like non-glaring but highly contrasting surfaces to maximise the legibility of text without straining the eyes of the reader. Similar amounts have been wasted on the science of complementary colour schemes and developing the best typefaces appropriate for different styles of published text. Whole volumes have been published on the fundamentals of graphic design as applied to the written word - simple ground rules that optimise the ease with which a text can be read and its information assimilated with pleasure and without error.

All this effort could have been diverted to something more useful if those involved had simply consulted the designer of this book. For here we have several different typefaces on a page, and many different colours of page background - several of which offer little contrast with the text. There is not one design scheme for the whole book, but several - often involving colour combinations distracting to this reader. The overall impression is that this is not one book but many, and it is not clear where one ends and the next begins - or why. The random use of typefaces gives the impression of naive experimentation - or pretension. I want a cookbook to present complex information in a simple way, that is clearly legible in the often awkward confines of a kitchen, and is not likely to be misread. This book fails dismally on those counts, and that is why I will not buy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I LOVE LOVE LOVE IT!!!!, 4 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: What Katie Ate: Recipes and Other Bits and Bobs (Hardcover)
Great lil tips, fab spin on old recipes, trendy photos. LOVE IT!!!! Hope there is a second to follow Katie!?:)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful book, 9 Mar 2013
This review is from: What Katie Ate: Recipes and Other Bits and Bobs (Hardcover)
Katie has done an amazing job with the photography and recipes in this fabulous cookbook. I love the personal stories that accompany the recipes. It's such a treat and a real collector's book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

What Katie Ate: Recipes and Other Bits and Bobs
What Katie Ate: Recipes and Other Bits and Bobs by Katie Quinn Davies (Hardcover - 28 Feb 2013)
£12.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews